We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place close to Lado cafe with live jazz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Hellas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great place close to Lado cafe with live jazz”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel! We reserved a double room and upon arrival were upgrated to an executive one! We had a small sitting room and a seperate place for sleeping! Breakfast was great, except for pastry which was old! Service was excellent. Location perfect next to Lado cafe where you can have great food and live jazz(different bands) almost every night! Don't miss it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for describing our hotel as a great hotel. I was happy to hear that even the breakfast was great despite the old pastries. I can assure you that each morning we offer new and fresh pastries which might be tired by the end of the breakfast. Sorry for that. Apart from your remarks we are currently reviewing our bakery products and changed the supplier some days ago.

I read your comments on the neighborhood with great pleasure too.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,411
    1,504
    290
    48
    29
See reviews for
463
2,236
153
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

A lovely country a lovely hotel hotel that is only 10 minutes from the city centre. Very easy to travel to and from the hotel that is within walking distance; staff were very welcoming and accomodating. There are no shortages of local resturants and bars; there is a Tesco Express which is approx 5 minutes from the hotel should you need to buy snacks. Breakfast buffet is okay; the roof top spa is lovely. Room layout is nice. No complaints

Room Tip: Use euros instead of their currency as it is so easy to understand when shopping. DO NOT TAKE THE T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetmutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I appreciate your kind word on the vicinit, on the breakfast and on the wellness area just like on the room.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here in June... Reception were helpful and helped us organise taxi to the airport.
Room was clean and beautifully designed with plenty of choice in the mini bar. The roof top pool is a must - even just for the view! Breakfast was good with lots of options.

Only downside is it is quite a walk to the Danube in hot weather. Plus would like some more English channels on tv!

Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosey191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your kind review. Your compliments sound very motivating for the staff. I can imagine that walking on the hot streets cannot be very comfortable but Budapest has a lot of attractions beyond the Danube.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberg, Bayern, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The service was excellent here. The concierge service was able to help us out with just about everything (e.g. dinner reservations before we even arrived). The hotel staff let us check in early. The pool on the roof was a welcomed way to escape the heat of a summers day. The breakfast was plentiful and good, but a bit pricey. Also, the hotel staff had a number of activities that they would book for you on request. Overall, I would recommend the Zara to anyone visiting Budapest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the court yard. It will ensure that you get a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dingrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your feedback and for all of your praising word on the service, on the rooftop garden and swimming pool and also on the breakfast selection, even if you find it pricey when it is not included in the room rate.

I appreciate your kind recommendation.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend took me here for my 21st birthday.
The hotel was very up market for us and we where wowed by the interior and service from the hotel staff. They made us feel like royalty for a few days.

We stayed in the basic double room which was great for us. It was basic modern and very clean. The safe was free to use and the beds where so comfy! Also lovely toiletries re stocked everyday.

Breakfast was included in our stay and it was the best buffet breakfast we have had. Large variety and the fresh juices where amazing!
We only found the upatairs piano bar on the last night which was a disappointment becauase we loved it, so peaceful and a lovely atmosphere especially after a long day walking, great cocktails too.

On a whole as a young couple we loved budapest, it has great value for money, lots of lovely restaurants and funky bars to visit at night. We found some great bars and clubs very near buy serving food and cheap deals on alcohol.

We recommend this hotel to all our family and friends and would return without a doubt .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments. It is always great to read if a customer is satisfied. It's a pity you have explored our Gallery Cafe just on your last night. It is a good reason to return and enjoy it just like the rooftop wellness area what you have completely missed!
I am happy to read that you have explored however the vicinity with lots of bars, pubs etc.

Many thanks for recommending our hotel to your family and friends.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of my trip to Hungary last year and I had the most enjoyable stay. It was so relaxing that we didn't leave the hotel for our last day we just relaxed in the spa on the roof. The food was delicious, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and the rooms were very clean and comfy. I couldn't believe how luxurious it was considering how cheap it was to book and the location was fantastic. My only regret is that we didn't stay there for the entire week. I loved it so much that I sent my parents there for a weekend away and they enjoyed it as much as we had. Can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilchicamanpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your lovely review about your stay from last year. I was happy to read that you found a good value deal in the off-season. It is also a great pleasure for me to read how much you enjoyed your stay and you did not even leave the hotel during your last day.

Do not refrain to recommend our hotel, please!

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We typically stay at Hilton Hotels when traveling but since we splurged on Business Class airfare we wanted to reduce our hotel expense, so we booked Hotel Zara. EXCELLENT! Equal to Hilton, if not even better. The hotel was overbooked on our arrival, so they quickly found a corner suite in lieu of a standard room. Everything was brand spanking new and cutting edge modern. Bedding: heavenly. Bathroom: enormous separate tub and shower. Art: modern but tasteful. Two pools: one indoor - one outdoor! Spa, sauna and EXCELLENT fitness center. Roof top terrace by the pool. SUMPTUOUS breakfast buffet - a huge array and variety of choices in a well-designed restaurant - included in our rate. Staff were friendly and courteous, esprcially Ezther at the front desk. Do not hesitate to book - this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for taking your time and efforts to post this very complimenting review on Tripadvisor. Such a comparison with Hilton hotels sounds us very motivating and at the same time my colleagues at Hilton probably very jelaous. I could not have described more authenthically the services and the facilities as you did, so I am very greatful for it.
I praised already Eszter for the excellent job you highlighted.

Many thanks again a feel free to stay at Continental Hoetel Budapest again when you are in Budapest.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,735 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
7,083 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing