We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you would expect and more.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
2 reviews
“Everything you would expect and more.......”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We returned today from a 5 day stay at Zara Hotel Budapest. We could not find a single fault.Three members of staff, Kinga, Attila and Nando deserve particular mention. Nothing was too much trouble, they were helpful and attentive without being intrusive.Our room was an ideal size. Clean bed linen was available daily if required. Our bath linen was changed twice daily (morning and afternoon) without our asking. We sampled cakes, sandwiches and drinks in the Gallery and could not have had better anywhere else. The restaurant is fantastic, excellent quality with service that is second to none. Unfortunately we did not have time to use the fitness facilities.
As a result of our experience two friends have just booked to stay in a few weeks' time.
Our grateful thanks must also be given to Mr Zoltan Geher for his thoughtfulness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Pauline P,

It is a great plesure for me and my staff to read such satisfied review. We are here to make happy all our guest. It is always very motivating if we reveive compliments highlighting our staff members. I am very greatful for your kind praises and will definitely put your heartful review on the staff board. I am especially delighted to to read the small details you have noticed in the service.

Nothing is better than mouth propaganda, so we are looking forward to your friend's arrival.


Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,432
    1,527
    290
    50
    30
See reviews for
471
2,260
154
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location in a side street doesn't prepare you for the excellence of the hotel. Prompt efficient service from the moment you arrive at the front door. Rooms are on the small side but very clean and with good style. Slightly noisy air conditioning but effective nonetheless. 10 minute walk to the city centre but just around the corner are many 'local' restaurants and bars. Good and varied breakfast - first class value. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the inner courtyard are quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lutece51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

yes, you are right, nobody can imagine such a grandeaur and nice decor inside the walls of the hotel walking on the street. The neighbourhood is quite bohem but it has its adventage too, as plenty of bars and restaurants are in the close vicinity. Many thanks for your remarks on the attentive service and good variety of breakfast.

We take your words serously and looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daglan, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

From the front door on helped by a porter !!. That you do not see much these days.

The service is friendly and tip top in order as was the catering.

The room was good and all that was neaded, you are there to see the city and sights and not stay in a hotel room all the time !.
Local is all to find from good coffee, food and wine. Good coffee for just over a euro ! and food plus wine for two under 15 euros. Try and find that in the west !!.

All in all a very good 6 day holiday in Budapest and the Zara hotel.

A reminder of the past pre euro era of service,afordable prices and quality at its best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hnH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

your remarks on the pre-Euro era is really flattering for us. I hope when the euro will be introduced sometime in Hungary the service level and the customer care will not change.What the rates and prices are concerned zthis I cannot promise.....

Many thanks for all your compliments and kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My partner and I visited the hotel for a long weekend on our anniversary in November 2012.

We arrived and were upgraded to a deluxe suite - the suite was lovely and modern, clean and spacious. There was even a fruit basket left for us with compliments on our Anniversary - what a great little touch.

Everything was perfect; the bed was huge and comfortable, the bathroom had a bath and a separate shower and was huge in itself. The rest of the room had a comfortable sofa, writing desk and chair, tv and the bedroom was separated off by 2 closing doors. The rooms were cleaned daily and beds made. We also had free wifi.

The staff were all very well dressed and friendly, it seemed as though the hotel couldn't do enough to help but without being in your face and over the top.

We used the spa facilities during our stay - the jacuzzi was good and the pool was small but very nice as there was the window above looking onto the sky. It would have been great to visit in the summer for the outdoor pool!

We had breakfast included in our booking which was really great, the choice was huge... fruit, pastries, cooked breakfast, cereals, continental breakfast, breads, meats, hot drinks, cold drinks and served until 10.30. My only gripe with this is that it gets VERY busy and we had to wait to be seated, as did others.

The interior of the hotel is beautiful - really stunning. It's tucked away in a quiet street but only 10 min walk from everything you need in the city.

Cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaffySaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your detailed review from November. I am happy to hear that we could contribute to the memorable stay with some little touches. You were lucky since we cannot always upgrade guests when on anniversary trip, but it was working in your case luckily. The breakfast room is really busy especially on weekends and around 9:30, thanks to the big choice and varienty and certainly of the quality. In April we could finally open our terrace which is a great help serving lot of guests with breakfast.

Many thanks for your high scores and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel was really something! Amazing staff! we forgot one of our souveniers in our room, and AFTER week from leaving the hotel I contacted the staff. They informed us that the forgotten souvenier was found and they can send it to us if we cover the shipping. The souvenier was boys Nike t-shirt which was in the plastic bag (they could just say that it has been thrown in the garbage)... It's hard to imagine another hotel where staff is this helpful and honest! When we last stayed at Frankfurt in hotel Savoy and compleined the noise (hammer beat one floor up) before 9 am, the staff just ended the conversation with the words: well the renevation has to be done at some time...

Only appeal was that the rooms indoor air quality was a bit poor.

Hotel was placed perfectly if you consider greate place to eat. All the best restaurants was found from this little streets near this hotel ( example right next to it this Italian place, just turn right from the hotels entrance and it's on the other side of the street.).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AinoA_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read how much you appreciated that we returned your lost T-shirt after we have found it. For me it is strange to hear that such a normal case is so welcomed and appreciated. I think it must be part of the normal operation.It was good to hear that you liked the neighborhood as well.

Many thanks for your valuable review and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was on one of these budget deals. It was the best hotel ever and the best hotel that we have had on a budget deal. The staff were ultra friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and modern. Had everything we wanted. The spa was great but quite small. Had tea in the tea room. Cakes were exceptional. Although we didn't eat in the restaurant the menu looked interesting. It was perfectly placed to get to the centre of town. We walked everywhere but the metro was near. We didn't have breakfast there as that was not included in the deal and we thought it too expensive - 15 Euros per person.

Room Tip: As our trip was part of a deal our room was opposite another building so there ws no view. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your kind words on the staff, on your room and the place. Our hotel belongs to the city hotel category, so our wellness area is the most suitable after a long sightseeing tour. The price of our breakfast means guaranteed quality of food and well worth for the money.

Many thanks for your great review and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's a new hotel in the center of the city, 15 minutes walk from famous chains bridge, 5 minutes walk from underground station. My room was very nice, it was spacious enough, very well equipped and kept perfectly clean. No problems with room temperature. The pool and wellness area are new and very nice as well. Desk personnel was kind and always ready to give informations. The free umbrellas are really a nice touch. Breakfast is rich and very good quality, even if a lot on the "salty" side, while for those who love croissants, bisquits and pastries there's not that much to choose from. The automatic machines for coffee and cappuccino do very well their job, but please consider that in a 4 stars superior hotel like this an automatic machine for coffee/tea at breakfast is not the top choice for european standards. Overall quality-price evaluation: wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloth_Goonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your valuable feedbacks. I am delighted to hear your satisfaction about the room and the wellness area. Moreover, I am pleased to announce that our outside swimming pool was opened too by now - it would be a great reason to return. I feel deeply sorry that coffee machine did not appeal to you, however, the Dordoni 100% Arabica coffee freshly grounded, we offer for breakfast, was rated prime quality at the independent tasters' evaluation.
Thank you for your constructive remarks - we are trying for continually widen the variety of breakfast.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,788 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#12 of 334 in Budapest
2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
7,158 reviews
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#97 of 334 in Budapest
6,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing