We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with ideal location for exploring Central Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the hotel with breakfast buffet included. The hotel itself is excellently located (around 10 minute walk to the Danube), the interior of the hotel is clean and very modern. The room had all the facilities required and were spotless. All the hotel staff were very friendly and polite at all times. We booked through ebookers.com and found the hotel price extremely value for money. Hotel has free wi-fi which was an added bonus. There are lots of restaurants and bars close by, the brasserie upstairs served delicious cocktails. Would definately recommend and stay again if visiting Budapest again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and as we were travelling with our ten year old requested an extra bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uniqua30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

it is good to read that you found value for the money you paid. What makes me especially proud is your compliments on the staff, since the location and the interior are just features.

I hope you will return one time and thank you for recommending our hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,289 - 2,295 of 4,469 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a great hotel with staff who are so helpful and polite. Kinga on the lobby desk was excellent with her helpful advise and suggestions. Tamas in the restaurant was also exceptional. The food was great too.
Things not to miss in Budapest are the open air spa at heroes square, the castle area in Buda. We were treated to a river cruise and four course meal by our sons and family for our anniversary present. What a most pleasant experience and one not to be missed. Try the bus tours (2 days plus a boat trip). All the trips/excursions etc can be booked at the hotel and this is where Kinga excelled.
We spent a week in Budapest and returned tired (cities are tiring) but having thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We can definitely recommend the hotel and all of the staff were polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Can't really give any advice on this. We had a basic room which was far from basic and very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notgnilrad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

it is good to hear that your anniversary trip was so memorable. I have personally passed your compliments to our Concierge, Kinga and our Maitre d'otel Tamas. I am sure your valueable advises what not to miss in Budapest are important information for the readers.

Many thanks for recommending our hotel and see you shortly!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights with my partner and the hotel was amazing.i was in contact with hotel prior to arrival as it was a suprise visit. We had a free upgrade to a lovely room with champagne, chocolates and fruit basket.the hotel staff were very professional and always eager to help. The hotel restaurant has amazing food i felt truly spoilt staying here. Its very close to all the attractions in budapest.i would most definatly recomend people to stay here i was very pleased to have a holiday staying at this gorgous hotel.

2  Thank jones015
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am sure it was a good idea to contact our hotel prior arrival and make all the necessary arrangements in advance. Such pre-arrangements make a stay hasslefree and more relaxed without any unexpected - sometimes even bad - surprises.

I was delighted to read your hyperboles, but I felt real honesty behind them.

I wish you to spend a similar holiday with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked this hotel through jet2 holidays. What a bargain price and great value for money. We booked a standard double which is compact. However it is all you need when you are staying in the city centre.
Hotel room was clean and comfortable we requested extra pillows and blankets this was not a problem for hotel staff. Hotel is ideally situated for exploring budapest on foot we visited all by foot. Hotel is situated with lots of good bars and restaurants nearby. We booked room only this allowed us to sample various local cuisines which we thouroughly enjoyed.
We had dinner in hotel restaurant which was lovely however the waiters are very serious and appear stressed.
Rooms are very clean with minibar, tv etc. Bathroom was very modern and very clean.
We had cocktails in the lounge/ balcony area waitresses are very attentive drinks reasonably priced.
We had a lovely city break and highly recommend this hotel to any one , staff are pleasant, service is very good across the whole of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smudge86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your valuable feedbacks. I agree the neighborhood with plenty of bars, pubs and restaurants is rather an advantage than a disadvantage due to its bohem style.
Since you spent some pleasant time in our Bar and Restaurant why did you not enjoy the services of our wellness area and why did you not take some massages?

The aboves are good reasons to return!

Many thanks and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Sited in the centre but away from the busy main road, ths hotel occupies a few blocks in the former Jewish quarter of Budapest. Very imposing ground floor, but the back and upstairs is a bit less so. Prices are excellent, personnel very helpful. Rooms a bit tight and the quality of the renovation work was variable. It also shows signs of wear and use of cheap material. the overall tone is a bit dark: furniture, carpets, etc. Breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Opt for reservaton that includes breakfast - otherwise the charge is €15 which is steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaborLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

many thanks for your review and your praising words on the breakfast, on the imposing lobby, on the prices and on the staff. What the rooms are concerned the standard rooms are really not too spacious but we are a city centre 4 star superior hotel and we do have three more room types as per size. The furniture is dark on purpose and since it is a question of taste and interior design I am sorry to hear that you did not like it. I would have appreciated some facts about the cheap and wear materials in order to have possibilities to repair.
If breakfast is extra for 15 euros, the price is in line with our competitors and are great value for the price.

Many thanks and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We booked this hotel through Groupon for a bargain price and were really impressed. We had a standard room, which was a little on the small side, but perfect in every way. If we went back we would treat ourselves to one of the deluxe rooms as they are a little more spacious. Staff were very professional and the hotel is exceptionally clean wherever you go. The hotel apparently had a 50 million dollar re-fit a few years back and you can tell there has been a lot of attention to detail. We dined in the restaurant and were really pleased that we did. The food is very reasonably priced and of exceptional quality. As a staying guest you also get 50% off your alcoholic drinks bill, which is especially good seeing as they recommend wines by the glass to accompany what you have ordered. Do try the restaurant if you staying as we thought it compared to some much more expensive restaurants we have eaten at! Breakfast in the same restraurant was also good (we had B&B) with a wide variety of choices. Restaurant is also excellent for vegetarians with a number of choices. We found the hotel ideally placed as it is central walking distance for almost all the attractions on the Pest side. We got one of the tourist buses, but would not do so again as they are few and far between in service. Get a Budapest card instead as this gives you money off attractions too and access to buses and the metro. All in all we would definitely recommend this hotel (and restaurant) without hesitation and intend to go back there ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monk5127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Lucky you with the Groupon deal in off-season! I think your detailed review is a great help for potential new guests but also good for future Budapest tourists. It was good to read that you benefited from our 50% discount on alcoholic beverages promotion in our ARAZ Restaurant for hotel guests. The selection of vegetarian dishes is constantly growing since the demand is high for it.

Many thanks for your kind review and scores.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Good location, very pleasant room and attentive service. Excellent breakfast. WI-fi connection could be a bit improved. It is true that we benefit from a corporate rate which is a great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirelaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your great review. The capacity of our broadband WiFi has been recenly enlarged and this is the very first review where I hear any complaint. I would have appreciated if you would inform us about any transmission problem here on the spot in order to investigate.

Many thanks and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 335 in Budapest
4,938 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 335 in Budapest
7,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
K+K Hotel Opera
#41 of 335 in Budapest
3,320 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $81 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing