We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just back from a wonderful trip to Budapest. Booked the hotel as part of a deal with easyjet. Great hotel, great service and lovely clean room. We had a standard room, that may have been small, by some peoples standards, but who stays in their room when visiting such a wonderful city. The bed was enormous and comfortable, and the bathroom was great with a perfect shower, we had no problem with the heat, as mentioned by others, as the air conditioning worked fine. Great location plenty of local restaurants. Breakfast was a buffet help yourself with plenty of choice for all. Everyone spoke perfect English which was embarrising when we spoke such little Hungarian. Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cardiffphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your complimenting feedbacks. It was good to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

I also appreciate your recommendation of our Hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,391
    1,483
    284
    48
    28
See reviews for
456
2,213
151
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Zara is a lovely hotel. Our room was a double superior and was very modern, spacious and spotless. The location is good as only a short walk to the city centre. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault this hotel.

I booked bed and breakfast and the price was very reasonable. Loads of choices at breakfast ate enough to see me through to dinner in the evening.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room as not much more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

it was good to read carefully selected your room type: pay a small premium for a bigger room if it is necessary. I appreciate very much your kind compliments on the staff and on the breakfast.

Many thnaks for your feedback and scores.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a three night stay at the Continental Zara which we booked for a good rate with flights through travelrepublic.com. The hotel is perfect for a city break and we were lucky enough to have breakfast and use of the fitness facilities included in our stay. Our room was a good size - not massive but space enough for us to be comfortable and it didn't feel cramped. We didn't have tea and coffee facilities in our room but these were provided immediately on request (despite our request being made relatively late at night!). There is a good spread of hot and cold choices provided in the main hotel restaurant for breakfast - from the typical cooked breakfast options to cold cuts, cheese, fruit, pastries etc. The pool and sauna facilities are also a nice touch and perfect for unwinding after a busy day sightseeing. In terms of location - it is pretty easy to get around the city from the hotel on foot or the hop-on hop-off tourist buses stop five minutes down the road (at the New York Cafe). The hotel concierge are very knowledgeable and will help you find your way about Budapest. Incidentally, if you are looking for any snacks/water etc for your stay, there is a Tesco just round the corner from the hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially happy to read that you did not refrain to ask! The tea/coffee making facilitites are not part of the amenities of the standard rooms since British guests request it most of the time only. Some guests are afraid to ask although we are happy to deliver it if it is needed.

Many thanks for sahring your opinion here and kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

In a very convenient location on the Pest side. Breakfast was lovely, rooms were modern, clean and luxurious. Outdoor and indoor heated pools were fantastic. Lobby was impressive and the staff were really helpful. A few doors down is a fantastic bar/restaurant where they serve amazing Hungarian cuisine... forgot the name of it though. Hope to go back there some day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danijela_Draskovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your overwhelming attributes like luxurious, fantastic etc. which are great compliments for a 4 star superior hotel. I do not know what restaurant you meat as we have several around among them our ARAZ Restaurant too.

Thanks again and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Iraq
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wonderful location.
Fantastic Staff.
Great rooms.
There is a fantastic restaurant in it (ARAZ), so delicious food. It's too close to some Arabic restaurant also. Best choice for business short trip !
This is my second coming to this hotel. It has very amazing Brass revolving old door.
The massage center contains a professional cadre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohannad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

it was very complimenting to read your short but suggestive review. The only thing what made me sad are the scores which are in great contrast with the titel of your review and with all your feedbacks.

Anyway, thanks for taking your time and share your experiences with the readers,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night break. The hotel was perfect, gorgeous to admire with some lovely touches. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and courteous. Umbrellas are available for rain and on Thursday evening we sat in the bar while listening to live piano music in the lobby. The rooms are absolutely fine, no smaller than other places we have stayed. No tea or coffee making facilities but you can ask for them. To be honest who wants a cup of watery coffee in your room when there are so many lovely coffee shops to visit! We used the swimming pool and sauna which was very relaxing. We didn't mind paying 6 Euros as we were expecting to pay anyway. The breakfast was yummy and had everything we wanted. Food was ultra fresh and the breakfast staff were very efficient. The rooms were very hot and we couldn't turn the heating down much, however we had no cause to winge about this we just opened the window!!This lovely hotel was central for all the sights and we managed to do a huge amount on foot with our trusty maps! We are happy to recommend this lovely hotel to others and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Purplevongie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

it is so complimenting to read such nice review and to notice how productively you knew your way around by asking for the tea and coffee making facilites or by opening the window in the suddenly hot wheather. As long as we heat it is really difficult to handle unexpected hot in March, as the normal heaitng season lasts until 15th April!
I am happy to read that even the 6 euros entrance fee did not turn you from using our wellness are, since the facilities and the service are worth for the price.
Many thanks for recommending our hotel and I hope you will really return to us one day.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Continental Zara is simply great. From the lobby to the rooms, everything looks really nice. Above all this, there is the staff. I have never received a better service like that before. I had forgot my computer case in my room and i didn't had enough time to take another cab without missing my flight. They rushed it to the airport for me and it was amazing. As you can see, my English is really not good, and they really took the time to try to understand everything I could ask them.

The location is quite nice. Well it isn't really near to the Danube but the old Jewish district is amazing. Restaurants and bars near of the hotel are incredible.

Room Tip: My deluxe room size was perfect. I wouldn't go for a smaller room than that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeTraveleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

reading the reviews we can proudly agree that the design and decor are unique and generally praised. What I am extremely proud of is to read how helpful the staff was and it was apprciated by you. Apart from the design the service level is our great asset and it is good to read such pleasant cases like yours.
I am sure that your room selection was a good decision as the small surcharge for the delux room is far worth for the value one can recieve.

Many thanks for your review and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,698 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,028 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
K+K Hotel Opera
#37 of 333 in Budapest
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing