We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Continental Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #37 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Short Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just back today from a wonderful stay at the Hotel Zara Continental and could not fault it one tiny bit!
Staff were wonderful, hotel was spotless! It was exactly what you expect from a Hotel and find hard to get these days!
Would definitely go back again!
Rooms were a bit small but perfectly adequate and shower was marvellous!
Breakfast was really good and the choice was excellent, the staff worked really hard at keeping everything replenished!
We ate one night in the Hotel and again it was wonderful and if you charge it to your room you get your drinks half price which was a perfect deal.
Area did appear to be not the best but was okay and we felt safe enough walking about.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your kind review and for oyur compliments on the staff. I did not know that our showers are so good so far, but several guests highlighted it recently.

It was also good to read that you benefited from the 50% discount on alcoholic beverages if dining in our ARAZ restaurant. I hope you were satisfied with the food and with the service as well.

The area around the hotel is quite bohem with pubs and bars but still safe despite the outlook.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,322
    1,443
    272
    47
    27
See reviews for
445
2,151
144
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Excellent hotel, very friendly staf, clean and modern rooms. Standard room is a bit small, but interior design is very nice and comfortable. Enough to choose from at the breakfast buffet, but the coffee was a bit off taste. Eventhough we had a double bed, with 2 single sheets, it wasn't quite as romantic ;-).
There is a gym and also a spa with rooftop swimmingpool, which cost an additional 6,00 euros each time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miquel020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your high scores despite your critisism. The enrance to the rooftop wellness area is not included in the group rates and in - not direct - travel agency's rates. It is recommended to check it in advance. Direct reservations - no intermediares - include the complimentary entrance to the wellness area.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to Budapest for a late Valentine's getaway. What a wonderful find this hotel was! Pre-trip arrangements made by email were all tended to by our arrival. The airport transfer service was awaiting our arrival at the airport. Check in was efficient and the staff very friendly and attentive to our questions as tourists in the city. The room was maintained to an excellent standard... And the bed and pillows... Best nights sleep I've had in ages. The Concierge desk was able to provide tourist information, tickets, maps, etc which was very useful. The restaurant provided a great range at breakfast and the evening dinner menu was a fabulous choice of Hungarian and other European dishes - great recommendations from our waiter. The spa was very clean and a great way to relax after walking the streets and sights of the city. Wold be lovely to come back in summer when the outdoor terrace is in use. Staff were all extremely friendly and attentive to the needs of each guest - their spoken English was faultless. I could not recommend this hotel enough for a wonderful stay in this beautiful city. Excellent service

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Skiver_Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

how complimenting it is to read such a good feedback! Many thanks for sharing your experiences with the readers of Tripadvisor. I am sure your honest feedback ahs more value for us than any advertisment. Good to hear you liked the bed and the pillows (recemtly re-filled), since this is one of the most important things in a hotel room.
We are planning to fill up our outside swimming pool early April so you are welcome again!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

A really nice hotel, the staff are polite and helpful, the rooms are clean and stylish...and the beds comfortable to sleep in. You can choose what type of pillow you would like. The showers lovely and hot. Everything is within walking distance from this hotel (10mins max). Great location without the city noise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

yes you are right, the comfort of the bed is important, therefore we do not accept any compromise in this field and even offer more than our competition.
I was happy to read that you found the room silent although our hotel is located in the downtown. I think you are are when when you find our hotel good located within easy access to most of the sights of the city.

Many thanks for your short but suggestive review.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here for one night while we were apartment hunting in Budapest. We are American expats and we have done a lot of traveling around Europe. This hotel was by far the best we have stayed in. The staff were very helpful in suggesting places to go, how to use the tram and just overall very nice. The breakfast was nice and had something for everyone. The Internet in the room was very fast and we never encountered an issue.

It is located close to the tram stop so getting around the city is easy when staying here.

The rooms were clean, spacious (we had an Executive Suite), modern and very comfortable. We had a huge balcony overlooking the street but never had an issue with noise.

We would definitely stay here again if needed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeanNomad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

it's a pity that you stayed just for one night with us. I was happy to read that you like your executive room with balcony, the fast wifi connection and with the lavish buffet breakfast. There are plenty more services we offer, like the quick business lunches, Sunday Brunches, the unique rooftop wellness area with stunnung view to the city. So, I hope you will use them during Budapest stay even if you are staying in an apartments.

Many thanks for your feedback and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We came to budapest for a weekend away treat and the hotel really lived up to that.

Before we arrived we asked the hotel to arrange our transfer from the airport. They do a shuttle or a taxi. We opted for a texi and it really was the smoothest transfer. The driver was waiting for us on perfect time, took our bags and as he drove even made polite converstation in English, pointing out dome sights and useful local amenities. ( Cost 9500huf from the hotel (~€35) and 6500 back (~€25) .) The driver even called ahead to the hotel so there was a member of staff waiting to greet us, take our bags, check us in and show us up to the room - all with impeccable polite english, friendly smiles and incredible efficiency.

The rooms were clean, neat and pretty. The beds were SO comfortable (with a choice of pillow type available), though my good nights sleep may have a lot to do with walking around everywhere.

The wifi was fast and free and there is also a Mac you can use in the hotel bar for 30mins at a time to get onto the internet, print any tickets or boarding passes etc.

The location is perfect - 5mins to the river, 2mins to the metro line which will take you up to Castle etc. You're also in easy reach of the synagogue, Basilica, the royal opera house etc.

We ate in the hotel restaurant one night too (a late one after the opera) - they made no fuss of serving us dinner at 10pm, despite many guests being well on there way by that point. Delicious food and great house wine (Hungarian of course)

Would really recommend - for the price, the location and service is a bargain!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

it is so good to hear that you were satisfied with your pre-arranged taxi transfer. I am sure this service is a comfortable way of geeting to the hotel from the airport and the value is worth for the value. Arriving to the hotel in a good mood is also a very good start to enjoy the stay. I hope you also used our pillow options not just noticed. I think apart from the free wifi in the entire hotel the possibility to print certain tickets, info etc. on the printer in the internet corner is useful for guests since no guests have printer.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

A lovely hotel, the staff were very friendly. We went half board; I have never eaten as much! At breakfast there was a wide variety of food to suit all tastes and lots of it. We took advantage of the taxi service to and from the airport, not the cheapest option but the taxi driver was really helpful in recommending places to visit. Would definately return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dellidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am dleighted to hear that you enjoyed the the quality and the choice of the halfboard in our ARAZ Restaurant regardless that the selection is obviously shorter than in the menu card. Yes, there are cheaper options to/from the airport but our Mercedes taxis are much more comfortable, safer and the service is also much higher than with an ordinary driver. I think the surcharge - in comparison with the value receiving - is very reasonable.

Many thanks for recommending our hotel. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing