We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, with great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, with great service.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Well located on the pest side of the river within easy walking distance of the city.
Managed to get a fantastic deal staying for 3 nights with breakfast included (breakfast is self service and has more than enough choice).
Hotel is beautiful and very well maintained.
Service and attention to detail is remarkable.
Highly recommended as a base for exploring the city.

Helpful?
1 Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Helene H,

It is so flattering to read such nice satisfied reviews! On the other hand also very dangerous for potential guests. What happens if we fail or cannot meet the high expectations? Reading some reviews with a score of 4, full with compliments and positive remarks, I have to think that we cannot exceed expectations, which are sometimes too high.

Many thanks for your recommendation!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

4,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,366
    1,471
    280
    48
    27
See reviews for
453
2,189
147
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Came in summer and stayed a couple of nights - the swimming pool & sauna was really good and the breakfasts incredible. Came back for my birthday in February. Not quite the same as we had booked through a different agent ( check carefully if you want to use the pool without extra charges ) - we had really wanted to use the pool/sauna every day this time...
Breakfast still amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_leader007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I hope by the different reservation arrangement you still enjoyed your stay. In certain rates the entry fee to the wellness are is really not included, but I am sure the 6 euros price is reasonable.

I was satisfied to read that you liked our lavish breakfast!

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from staying 5 days at the Zara Continental and thought it a really comfortable, well located and just generally nice hotel to stay in especially as I was alone. The staff are friendly and helpful, they have an excellent breakfast and good room service and there is a rather nice spa and a pool on the roof.I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francescagonshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your nice compliments and feedback. All in all you liked everything, we hope next time we will deserve the maximal scores.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caistor UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break at the Continental Hotel Zara and we had a great time. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. I found the bed too hard and, although they couldn't replace it(understandable) they arranged for extra duvets to be placed under the sheets to make it softer for me. The breakfasts were very good and well varied. All in all an excellent base to explore Budapest.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor(non-smoking) and found it very quiet and easy to access the bar and recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CASTORIANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you found the mattress too hard what is really unique. I am happy that my colleagues found a solution for it.

It makes me happy to that your room on the 2nd floor was quiet and you were satisfied with the selction and quality of the breakfast too.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I booked this through a groupon deal - very reasonable price and though looked really nice in pictures. It measured up equally when we arrived.

Service on the reception and restaurant was really friendly and helpful!

The breakfast was fanstastic- all quality ingredients and plenty of selection too. Often a buffet breakfast can be mass produced, poor quality food and lukewarm. Not the case at Zara - all fresh and left me full up till evening meal.

The hotel also boasts a luxury spa with gym too. Only complaint was there was no air conditioning in the gym.

Really recommend this hotel. Great price and luxury stay. Feels very boutique and great location to explore Budapest!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really thank for your excellent title and scores. I was more than pleased to learn how much you liked our breakfast. Yes, we especially emphasize the quality of the breakfast with fresh ingredients as a good breakfast is a very good start for the day.

Thanks a lot for your recommendation.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Disclaimer: I did NOT get an upgrade on my room as many of the previous reviewers did! That being said, the rooms are really nice (but small). The pool is great (would be even better in the summer if outdoor roof pool were also available). Definitely worth discounted rate I got on Expedia (which might explain the lack of upgrade!)

My only complaint would be the concierge: on several occasions we asked for a recommendation for a non-touristy restaurant. There is so much great, cheap, local food in Budapest, but they couldn't get out of that expensive-touristy mode, even when asked directly to do so.

All-in-all, definitely do recommend this hotel, though you could certainly find cheaper, larger, and more helpful accommodations. I wonder if the Boutique Hotel Zara with which they are connected might be better?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Bruce W,

I am sorry to hear that you expected an upgrade and you did not recieve it. It is not automatical and I am sure we did not promise it in advance, what we do very seldom anyway, bearing mind availability.
I was also sad to read that you wanted to visit non-touristic restaurants and Concierge could not fulfill your request properly. We recommend restaurants what we can rely on, reach international level, as otherwise the recommendation van be very subjective.

I can ensure you our sister hotel is much smaller and worth to visit too.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had my stag do in Budapest in February 2013. 13 of us stayed here and none of us could fault it. Fantastic hotel, very friendly helpful staff, decent size clean rooms. Very modern throughout. The price was very fair and even the bar prices were reasonable granted much more than the local bars but you expect that in a 4* hotel. I would definitely recommend the hotel zarah to anyone that is going to Budapest.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh1ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

although we are a little bit afraid of stag parties, we could not even notice it from your behavior, what I really appreciate. I am more than happy that all of you liked the service and enjoyed our hotel.

Many thanks for your compliments and for your excessive title of your review.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,636 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing