We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just agreeing with all other reviews, 100% right down the line. No negative points at all. Staff great, rooms well appointed and fantastic comfy beds, walking distance to main centre, pools icing on the cake, we will be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Lizodo,

How nice to read that we the did not fail after reading the - sometimes even for me exaggerated - reviews. Many thanks for sharing your experiences with the readers of Tripadvisor.

I hope you meant it seriously and you will return!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,366
    1,471
    280
    48
    27
See reviews for
453
2,189
147
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went to this hotel for three nights. It's a boutique hotel. It was organised as a surprise weekend away and if I was to have picked a hotel myself this would have been the one so obviously was very happy. Perfect location. Staff were all amazing and couldn't fault this hotel at all for anything. The decor was gorgeous and gave me ideas for the next time I decorate.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkDiamondsForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

as I read from your review that our hotel was a pleasant surprise for you. Our hotel is much bigger than a boutique hotel but with character and personal care. I think you capture our slogan: Enjoy the style and tradition.

Many thanks for your feed-backs and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marsa alam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my girlfriend we stayed 5 nights in class service , nice rooms, friendly staff, very nice city .
It was good time for the rest after hard work 6 weeks plus we see nice city with nice restaurants.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank haggag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Haggag,

It was a pleasant feeling for me to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Many thanks for sharing your experiences with the readers of Tripadvisor.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really nice modern hotel. Room was a bit small with no view but still really nice.
Breakfast is far too expensive at €15 so we went down the street to a small cafe instead.
Most of the sights are justa about within walking distance too.
Pool location is excellent, try the outside one at night, really spectacular view.
Free wifi too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for you post on Tripadvisor. I like to call your attention that our hotel is offering higher category rooms with more space and we have rates available with breakfast too when the value is worth for the price.
Free wifi even in the bedrooms and the outside rooftop pool is really a big bonus, atlhough we even even closed the poutside pool for winter as of 5th November.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was complete luxury. We were in Budapest for 3 nights and wanted an affordable hotel in the city centre. After a considerable amount of time looking we booked Hotel Continental Zara. The hotel was very easy to find, (we walked from Keleti train station). We had a standard double room located on the 3rd floor. The room looked out onto the inner courtyard and scaffolding (it later turned out this scaffolding was for a mural they were painting on the opposite wall), as our room overlooked the inner courtyard it was lovely and quiet. The room wasn’t very spacious but was perfect for a city centre hotel. It was very clean and tidy. We didn't choose to have breakfast in with our stay, so I’m not sure what the buffet was like, but we did order room service for breakfast one morning and that was very delicious and you got a lot for your money! The staff are very helpful and very approachable. There is a spa located on the 7th floor, with an amazing outdoor heated pool with views across Budapest and indoor pool and sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel is about a 20minute walk down to the Elizabeth Bridge/Danube River, or alternatively a very quick metro ride. The nearest stop is Blaha Lujza ter. I would recommend an amazing restaurant next door to the hotel called Il Terzo Cerchio. The food is absolutely delicious; we loved it so much we went back another night. A gorgeous luxury hotel at an affordable price, I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToriLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear ToriLang,

I was delighted to read your complimenting and overwhelming feed-back. We are planning the handover ceremony of the mural in the restaurant courtyard on 20th November. I am sure it will be a new highlight of the hotel beyond the art nuveau facade and lobby and the roof top open air swimming pool.
It was a pleasant feeling too to read how much you liked our services too

Many thanks for your review and look forward to your promised return.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed one night in early October. The front desk staff is very friendly and we were upgraded to a small suite.
PROS:
A very clean room with a nice bathroom and beautifully appointed. Couldn't ask for more.
A super friendly staff who were smart and efficient and made great recommendations.
CONS:
A great breakfast buffet, but very busy and chaotic. Not enough places to sit together the morning we were there. We finally got a table and our food was cold from looking for so long. In fairness, it was Sunday, so perhaps during the week is better.
Location is not very good--neighborhood looks negelected and a little off-putting at night.
We enjoyed our very short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank formerstew7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review especially for the PROs. It's a pity that you had not enough time to explore the neighboorhood as it can be described rather as bohem with plenty of bars, pubs, than neglegted. You hit the nail on head: Sundays are very often busy at the breakfast room, especially after 9 am, since the majority of the guests are having breakfast late. Occassionaly we open function rooms in very busy cases, but the weekend you stayed with us was probably not as critical.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLandudno
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in a top floor deluxe room. The room was spacious, well serviced and clean. A complimentary bottle of red wine was a particularly nice touch.
Our room was facing a courtyard, and whilst this meant we had no traffic noise, it did mean that we had to remember to pull the blinds, as we were facing an opposite internal corridor. Not a huge issue thought.
What was more of a problem was the fact that some hoovering and movement of furniture seems to happen after midnight, this did disturb my sleep significantly.
The hotel staff were lovely and all very helpful and friendly. The front desk staff were happy to provide tourist information, directions and restaurant tips.

Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice, the staff work hard to ensure that everything is kept well stocked, however finding a clean table can be a bit of a game.
The roof top spa is lovely & a nice way to spend a couple of hours.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of most locations & there is an underground station around the corner.
Try not to eat in the main tourist traps, as in any big city, step a couple of streets back to find smaller, more local eating places. They are much cheaper and the food is so much better.
Budapest is a beautiful city, with lots of things to see and do, people are friendly and we felt very safe.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay in Zara again.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room which had significant night time cleaning noise plus when it rained it sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happygirltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for you review and for your detailed post even on Budapest! I was happy to read that you found the room spacious and clean. I was however very much surprised to read that you were not able to sleep properly due a hoovering in the night. Wish we had known it at the time of the hoovering we could better identify this misterious hoovering as the night cleaners are working in the lobby but not on the top floor of the hotel. Nevertheless I apologise for any incenveniences caused.
I appreciate your remarks on the breakfast, even your critics. You were still fortunate with the rooftop swimming pool, as we have closed it for winter as of 5th November.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,636 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing