We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location nice rooms all new”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #41 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2011

very friendly service
all new hotel with 5 star feeling
good breakfast although not varied it has a good choice of breads and toppings
good location close to the jewish quarter and city center can be reached by foot
i would definately recommend this place
also has a sauna and a small inside / outside poolfor relaxtion after along day of sightseeing

Room Tip: just make sure to ask for a room towards the inside of the hotel its a beatuiful sight and its quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metropolitan611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,812 - 2,818 of 4,470 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2011

It was my second stay at this hotel and I already had written review last year. In this review I mentioned about constant repair noise during all nights. This noise does normal night sleep impossible. Manager answered my review and said that this noise would not disturb customers any more... I believed it and returned to this hotel this year. Manager's words were just lie. Nights repairs continues and we did not have normal night sleep until changing our room. Moreover, stuff started reparing in days too, so you will listen perforator and it's not possible to have a rest in day too. All advantages of this hotel are brought to nothing by constant repair noise. You will listen it in day and night and you will never sleep. What is sense of pools and etc. if you can't have normal rest even in night?
This is huge disrespect to the customers!
One more thing. Personal took money for staying 7(!) days before our departure! It's absolutely wrong and I met this thing at first time.
I don't advice you to stay here. Bad choice!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steelrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

stayed for three nights as part of a group, the hotel is in a bit of a dark street, but when you go through the huge brass revolving door, the sheer opulence of the place just wows you. Breakfasts excellent, coffee and bar excellent, rooms very good, free wi fi everywhere, (which frankly should be standard in all hotels) the location is a little off the beaten track but only a 20 min walk to the danube, very pleased with the staff in all departments

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davidgoodchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We reserved this hotel for a weekend through Groupon. There was some miscommunication during the reservation process, but everything worked out fine in the end. We got the room on the 6th floor - it was small, but really nice. We used the parking facility of the hotel, which was really handy. There's a vallet service - you hand your keys over to the receptionist and get a receipt in exchange. What we really enjoyed were the two swimming pools and jaccuzi on the roof of the hotel building - having a swim in the morning and overlooking the rooftops of Budapest is a surreal experience. What we liked less were the crowded breakfasts. Although the staff dis its best, when both coffee machines broke down one morning, chaos ensued. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay in the Zara Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

What an amazing hotel. We were like fish out of water in this hotel. We arrived with dirty backpacks looking worse for wear having been back packing around europe for a few weeks. This was our last stop for 3 nights before going home and decided to treat ourselves to somewhere nice. We were not dissapointed. It is a beautiful hotel and the staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. The room was lovely with a large comfy bed, slippers and a bathrobe for extra comfort. Breakfast was excellent with a huge variety. We were greeted every time we passed reception, had doors held for us, bags carried and a friendly smile from all staff. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlestar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

Dear Littlestar123,

Not just the hotel is amazing but oyur review too! Especially I liked that you noticed "a friendly smile of all staff" This is the most important, although the rest (room, breakfast etc.) is not marginal neither.

I hope you will have spirit and time to return!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Visited Budapest for the 1st time with my husband and 90 years young father-in-law. Very good service received at check in and even got an upgrade which was excellent given there was an extra sitting room area for us to relax in and decide where we were going dueing the day and where to eat in the evening - also managed to get a late check out too. The only down side for me was the sharp corner on the bed stead which were catched very easily by my husband and I and we came away with a lovely bruise from our initial meetings, only happened the once but just be aware that you may have a similar problem! Room very clean and well maintained as well as toiletries provided, even thought the windows were double glazed I was woken daily by the dustbin men at 4 o'clock but I am a light sleeper and afgter the 1st night, my husband slept through this so didn't spoil our stay. Information provided by hotel for restaurants and trips to take very informative, but didn't like the fact that a surcharge was taken if you wanted to pay for these by card rather than cash. Dined at the hotel the first night and then at hotel recommended restaurants and all were excellent giving a good mixture of local cuisine too! We also had something to eat in the galleria bar and the quality of the food and cakes were of a high standard and helped feed us up for our journey home. We didn't walk to restaurants as my father-in-law was a little tired by the evening after our days out and about and booked our taxi via reception which whilst a little dearer than the local taxis gave excellent service and chats about the locale. We did not use the pool or spa so cannot comments about exra costs for using the facilities but given previous comments you may want to check this out if you're looking to use this during your visit in case similar services can be found freee of charge elsewhere. Although the hotel appeared bust with large groups checking in during nour star, we didn't have a problem finding a table for breakfast and good buffet choice of hot and cold breakfast options. The is also an eating area outside to accomodate smokers - we stayed inside as we don't smoke. We wouldn't hesitate to go back or recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front and may be why I heard the dustbin men's visit so may want to stay fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STB4JAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The location is good, a quiet street a walking distance to the Danube. The room was nice and comfortable and the breakfast was rich, but I was surprised they charge guests for the use of the pool. The only major problem was the inflexibility of the staff at check-in. I arrived before 11 am, but did not get the room a minute before 2 pm, although I requested that I get it earlier saying that certainly not all rooms are being cleaned at the last moment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dindan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 335 in Budapest
4,939 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 335 in Budapest
7,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
K+K Hotel Opera
#43 of 335 in Budapest
3,324 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $82 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing