We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Alibi - CLOSED

Cafe Alibi
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, European, International, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: A beautiful trendi and charming coffee shop. Fresh bakery, juices, healthy food, sandwiches, speciality coffee. And a terrace.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My friend and I visited Cafe Alibi twice on our recent trip to Budapest. The food was great and the atmosphere warm and inviting. The prices were pretty reasonable and the black cherry cake comes highly recommended. The service wasn't the quickest I have to say, that seems to be the case in Budapest but no matter, the waitresses were very pretty and smiley, but that's just an added bonus : ) I'll definitely eat there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank porkchopexpress1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    112
    33
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best way to start a day in Budapest eating An. Breaskfast in Alibi”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The best place to start a day in budapest, Great choice of breakfast menus very well located near the center very close of the metro station kelvin

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuisFSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheltenhamPaul
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to relax - fantastic red wine”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We went to Budapest for a long weekend. Ended up not only having dinner here one evening but going back for a lunch and another dinner. Service was excellent and friendly. Food very nice too. I asked for advise on the wine and it was nice to be recommended the cheapest on the menu as well as a more expensive one. We went for the more expensive one which turned out to be one of the nicest wines we have ever had. Ask the owner for his favourite wine....has a picture a bull on the label...he will know it. We will go back for another bottle as soon as we can.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My 'local' whilst on holiday in Pest.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a very charming, cosy and warm cafe. The food is good and well priced. The servers were friendly and the wine very nice. I recommend a visit if you are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrssmiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
303 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Alibi is fairly convenient and has a nice 'feel' to it. I was surprised how slack it was for breakfast. The food was good as was the service but there was just something missing which I could not place. I had planned to re-visit the next few days but not having been inspired I will look elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDinNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Alibi also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing