We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic tour”

Free Budapest Tours & Multilingual Guides
Ranked #17 of 292 Tours in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Meet Orsi, Dora, Andi, Julia and other local tour guides! We offer free walking tours in English/Spanish, low-cost private tours in many languages and the only Ghost Tour of Budapest. Free tours = only for tips. You need no reservation, just show up! Every day, intimate and interactive, usually in small groups. - Orientation Tour (From Pest to Buda): 10.30 AM. Essential Pest Tour (Faith-Terror-Communism): 2.30 PM. - "Unique and highly professional" (Lonely Planet Budapest 2009).
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic tour”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

The guide I had on the day was Ursula. She was well spoken, knowledgable and very pleasant.

The tour was well structured, informative and covered many years of the history of Hungary and Budapest. The guide took us to some great sites and provided plenty of time for photos. The guide provided a map at the end of the tour with great information on things to do and see. She even took us to a cafe after the tour to try some Hungarian foods.

It is a tip based tour so you can leave and not pay if you feel it necessary, but I can tell you now, you will be very happy to tip a few thousand forint for the time, knowledge and experience you gain from this tour.

Helpful?
Thank jonoatlantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    835
    163
    25
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best things I did!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Ursula was our guide on these free walking tours and bought Budapest's culture and history to life for us. Having been on many walking tips based walking tours, this is definitely one of the better ones I've experienced. Definitely a great way get to know the city whether you are a solo traveller or group. These walking tours are tips based and you pay whatever you feel is appropriate at the end.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dsp841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Windy november afternoon”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had read about the free walking tours on Tripadvisor and on our last day in Budapest we decided to do a tour to meet a local and to hear what locals have to say about Budapest and Hungary.. A windy November afternoon so we were the only ones to turn up. Our guide took us on a very interesting and a very individual tour through the heart of Pest. athough we had already seen quite a lot of the city she showed us many interesting sights and listening to her made us realize what a complicated history and present Hungary has has and still has. The Liberty Square does get new meaning then! Do this tour by all means!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank miekebreuning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

When we arrived in Budapest we didn't really have a plan, we luckily stumbled across someone holding a 'Free Budapest Tours' sign on our first morning there. We decided this would be the best way to get our first glimpse of this city! This is the first free walking tour I have ever done, and I loved it! Budapest has such an interesting history and story, it would be a mistake not to do a tour with a local. Our tour guide was Orsi and she was fantastic - once the tour was over she gave us lots of suggestions on restaurants and other things to see in the city. We enjoyed her tour so much that we decided to do the Pest tour the following day - our tour guide for that was Adam (younger). We found this tour to be very interesting, and we went to areas we never would have found by ourselves. Overall, both of these guides had great English, were charming, and very knowledgeable. They both shared personal stories from their family's past that made the tour feel really unique. We were lucky that both of our tours only had 5 people, so it felt really personable and you could ask so many questions!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
““Very good tours but if I was to pick one to go on it would be the Pest to Buda tour.””
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Did the Communist tour and tour of the Pest to Buda tour. Both were very good but if I was to pick one to go on it would be the Pest to Buda tour, which was excellent. The Communist tour was good but I think there were too many times when we're walking for too long without any in depth explanations.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Budapest Tours & Multilingual Guides also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Free Budapest Tours & Multilingual Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing