We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNEXPECTED QUALITY AT A REASONABLE PRICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Borbirosag

Borbirosag
Ranked #77 of 3,088 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, Central European, Hungarian, International, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“UNEXPECTED QUALITY AT A REASONABLE PRICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel our first night in Budapest and we were not disappointed. The menu features modern takes on Hungarian classics and the food is delicious. My partner was particularly taken with the chicken with pear tartin. The Hungarian wine list is good, the service is excellent and it delivers great value for money. We happily returned for our final meal of the holiday

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    282
    63
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We ate here at lunch time after visiting the Hungarian National Museum. Easy to find behind the central market. Small menu but with daily specials. Serves well cooked Hungarian dishes. Very interesting wine list with knowledgeable staff. I had goulash soup followed by veal steak with foie gras which was absolutely delicious. Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surreyjames2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good location, friendly service and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

location of Borbirosag Etterem behind the market hall is quite good and easy to locate. the menue is small and I like to have cuisine specializing on fresh and local incredients. the wine list is really good and they have a lot of exquisit local wine. good atmosphere - price level is compared to Hungary rather high, but for central Europe still quite affordable. Would certainly go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uli_in_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Recommended by Brody House our Hotel we were impressed with the food and service at this restaurant. Recommend the Duck Sausages !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulireson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place , great manager!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

They ran out of duck breast, but I got the roasted foie gras and it was just right. Tender, tasty. Great combination with the raisin bread. They offered us chestnut cream soup, and it was heavenly! Impeccable service, very attentive host. Couldn't be better!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borbirosag also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Borbirosag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing