We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Borbirosag

Borbirosag
Ranked #81 of 3,092 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, Central European, Hungarian, International, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bramming, Denmark
Level Contributor
152 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Must eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

A great restaurant located just behind the Great Marked Hall at a quiet little square. The menu is not that big, but the dishes we had where very good. I had the duck and it was delicious. They have only Hungarian wine, but many different kinds to choose from. – And you can buy them all to take home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Hvass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    282
    63
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stumbled upon this place and everything was delicious. Good options, including Hungarian specialties. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“good wine, avarage dishes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

we were there, we had fun,but we expected more from the point of,there was lot of people,the music was too laud and the atmosphere was not frendly and the waiter was not nice, the portion of dishes was too small and was not tasted. my frend wanted a cup of water, but she told me, is it notpossible if we order a buttle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julianna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good food. Worthy if a 'Bib Gourmand'.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Great finding on Kalvin Ter. Very good food with a tremendous selection of wine including very fine examples from Sauska.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High-quality all-round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went to Borbirosag on Friday for a late lunch. We were greeted by a friendly and very helpful waiter who let us select a great table outside. It was extremely hot so he was on-hand (and on the ball) with plenty of water and did a great job of recommending a delicious St Andrea rose when I explained I had zero experience of Hungarian wine.

My boyfriend chose the duck breast with vegetables and I opted for the gazpacho with a caprese salad. I can't rave about the food enough; it was beautifully presented and the flavours were thoughtfully put together. The gazpacho was perfect in both consistency and temperature and the caprese was simple, refreshing and very tasty. They nailed the duck breast, which was cooked beautifully (crispy fat, not crunchy)

Only downside was that the restaurant was a bit quiet - but we've only ourselves to blame because it was 15:00 on a Friday afternoon! I don't think they could have done anything more to give us a better experience; I'd definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borbirosag also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Borbirosag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing