We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place. Must try: Goose livers.”
Review of Borbirosag

Borbirosag
Ranked #76 of 3,108 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place. Must try: Goose livers.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very, very nice place. A bit expensive, but except main dish - all is well worth of its price.
Delicious Hungarian Merlot (no sure the exact name), exceptional goose livers - never tasted anything like that, and for me it will be emblem of Hungarian cuisine from now on. Very tasty goulash soup.
Main dish, after such intro was bit disappointing, so we told to ourselves that next time we visit this place, we will order just soup and starters with wine.
If in Budapest again, definitely will revisit this place. (Sadly that they are closed on Sundays)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pifon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    284
    63
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very delicious food,good service and admissible price”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Its a one from those restaurant which I would visit again.I had excellent dinner with a nice atmosphere.Their s duck s steak and dessert cream brule was very-very delicious)I cant find any shortcomings of this nice restaurant but ....may be...we wanted to have a dinner there second time but they were closed at 8 p.m.on Sunday:(.....But no matter its a very deserving attention restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baziluik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the new menu!!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Guys, you should not miss again this fantastic restaurant! The new menu has arrived with exciting and brave selection of so delicious meals! If you are here, you hould visit it several times, as you should not miss anything from the menu! The service is still very kind and the interior is further developed with some new items. So, let's summarize: don't miss, enjoy rather!:-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babszi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A revelation”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

OK, so here's the news - Hungarian food is good. Excellent in fact. Have just returned from a first-time trip to Budapest. I wasn't that surprised to fall in love with the city but didn't expect to really love the food. This restaurant kicked it all off for us and was definitely the best meal I have had out in a long time.
Borbirosag is small, trendy and cosy with attentive and amicable staff and pretty cool decor. The wine list is extensive and this is the place where we also discovered Hungarian wine. Again - didn't expect it so be so delicious and is it also amazing value. After a small complimentary appetizer of baked bread, caper berries and sun dried tomatoes we started with the smoked salmon and caper salad with bruschetta bread. It sounds quite average but was far from it. The smoked salmon was near to the best I have ever tasted and the salad delicious and fresh. The waitress asked us a number of times how are meal was at various intervals but without being overbearing. The main course was even better. I tried red tuna steak and loved it, it came with a lentil risotto and was served beautifully. My husband had a duck dish which I guessed was tasty from the start due to the happy mumblings he was making.
Our original plan was to go onto some bars but we loved the atmosphere of this place so much that we stayed for the entire evening, soaking up more tasty wine and enjoying our first wonderful night in Budapest. If you get to spend some time in this fantastic city you must go there!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_Razza_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subotica, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommendation!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great place,easy to find (just walk down the main shopping street), nice atmosphere and excellent food. Very helpful staff. Wine selection is good and stuff is willing to recommend and help. Haven't had a chance to try desserts... Next time!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Etro8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borbirosag also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Borbirosag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing