We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must while in Budapest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Faust Wine Cellar

Faust Wine Cellar
Ranked #1 of 173 Shopping in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Be our guest in our authentic Faust Wine Cellar under the Dominican Cloister - the part of the UNESCO World Heritage! We are offering about 80 sorts of Hungarian wines and 30 sorts of "Pálinka". During the week we are organizing special wine and "Pálinka" tastings guided by our sommelier!
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must while in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We spent our last evening in Budapest with Gabor and Barbara, and we couldn't have enjoyed it more. The owners are friendly and knowledgeable, and the wines were all delicious. Sadly, the typical experience of Hungarian wine here in the US is syrupy-sweet Tokaji, but Hungary has so much more to offer. Though the Hilton overhead is a blight on Castle Hill, these wine cellars will make you forget all of that; a beautiful environment for a wine tasting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jmhermes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    782
    124
    15
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently went to Budapest for a weekend away for the first time. We used the trip advisor app to find things to do and this came in at number 3. We headed towards the Faust wine cellar, doing some sightseeing along the way and enquired if they had any availability. They managed to fit us in there and then and we had a great time! This was the first time we had done wine tasting and we would recommend it to anyone. It is especially great for couples as it is an intimate setting with only six tables lit by candlelight. Our hosts were extremely friendly and informative, serving us fantastic wines and yummy little scones with cheese on top.

Although it is in the cellars it wasn't too cold, and if you do there are blankets so it's not an issue.
We thought the whole experience wouldn't take long, but we were there for 3-4 hours and came out a bit wobbly! The experience can last as long as you want it to- depends how quickly you drink!

All in all, we had a great time and would love to do it again. Not to mention that the view of the city from the Hilton at night is amazing!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank beckynev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We visited the Faust Wine Cellar as a part of a recent weekend trip to Budapest and had a great experience. From my first email enquiry there was a very friendly and efficient service provided by the owners, our positive experience continued on arrival when we were made to feel very relaxed and welcome. The setting is really unique and beautiful. There were some nice touches such as the cheese scones served and blankets available in case you got chilly (although we didn't).

We had such a brilliant time that before we knew it we had been there for nearly 4 hours! We went for the longer wine tasting which we would recommend. The host was very knowledgable and we enjoyed learning more about Hungarian wine. We particularly enjoyed trying wines only produced in small quantities and which we wouldn't usually come across.

The passion of the owners really shines through, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would recommend without hesitation.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank starfish_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hungarian wine is great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I went for the 9 wines with food option on friday 7th March and had a great time.

The location being the cellars under the Hilton (near the Castle) is nice - be prepared to follow a bit of a trail through the hotel to get to it. The hosts are a great double act and we were given lots of attention. The wines were very good; we have only had one average wine in our stay in Budapest, all the wines on offer here were first class.

Tips: I would suggest the 9 wines option as you also get some traditional hungarian foods to add to your experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cabaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely evening in the faust wine cellar. The cellar is cosy and romantic while the hungarian wine would be some of the best we have had. We were not disapointed and would recomend the 9 drinks wine tasting. The only downfall was that the bathroom is quite a distance from the cellar itself and you have to make your way up the 54steps back to the hotel lobby in the hilton hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank lauraforde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faust Wine Cellar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Faust Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing