We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highlight of my weekend in budapest”
Review of Faust Wine Cellar

Faust Wine Cellar
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.73*
and up
Budapest Private Wine and Cheese Tasting Experience
Ranked #2 of 194 Nightlife in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Be our guest in our authentic Faust Wine Cellar under the Dominican Cloister - the part of the UNESCO World Heritage! We are offering about 80 sorts of Hungarian wines and 30 sorts of "Pálinka". During the week we are organizing special wine and "Pálinka" tastings guided by our sommelier!
Turku
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“highlight of my weekend in budapest”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

based on the reviews i booked the tasting. e-mail booking was prompt and friendly. the cellar is small but tastefully decorated. i was alone and there were 3-4 other tables where tastings were going on, still i got enough attention and services. wines are all from local hungarian producers and some tasted quite unique.
the couple was really charming. they let me go on with my own pace, asked how i like the wine, chatted amiably. you see that they like what they do. i enjoyed the experience very much. next time i want to come back with my husband and try new wines.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Megumi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    126
    15
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous wine tasting and dinner”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We did the dinner option so that we didn't have to go to two places that evening and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our Europe trip. Gabor and his wife really made us feel welcome in their small cellar. The wines were amazing and we bought several to drink over the next few days, because they were all priced very reasonably (compared to California wineries). Definitely make reservations so that you can have the best possible experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank greysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't be put off it's in a Hilton”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

So when we initially found this place we were a little disheartened - we hadn't come all the way to Budapest to drink overpriced wine in a big chain hotel......enter Faust wine cellar. The Hilton hotel is built over an old monastery and as you go down the stairs you enter a whole other world. Run by a husband and wife team, they provide some delicious hungarian wines from small vineyards around the country. They seem to know all the winemakers, were happy to answer questions and provided generous pours. Definitely worth a visit for any wine lover.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Las58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very fun afternoon”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is always nice to mix up all of the sightseeing with a different experience, and this was perfect. Climb down several flights of stairs into an underground cellar for a wonderful wine tasting experience. The host (who was also the owner) took great pride in his wines and the tasting and provided wonderful infomation about Hungarian wines.

We had actually expected it to be a large formal group tasting, but in fact they have multiple tables for individual groups, They come by to your table personally and provide the wine and the information for each wine to each table individually and at your own pace. No pressure to drink and get out there for the next round of visitors

Highly recommended!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Must Do In Budapest”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We decided to visit the wine cellar on a really hot afternoon and stopped to try the wines.

Situated underneath the Hilton Hotel, you actually go into the lobby and then down some dark and steep steps to the cellar (bounce carefully).

The owner is really good and offers good advice on the wines to taste - go for one of the tasting menus and try some really great wines that you will find in many places. It is is worth spending a couple of hours to savour them.

They are from mainly small vineyards which may only produce several hundred bottles. The owner describes the wine well and shows where it came from.

They also sell wine to take away and from about £6 a bottle worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TouringTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faust Wine Cellar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Faust Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing