We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed then came back and stayed again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suite Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suite Hostel
Ranked #90 of 649 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed then came back and stayed again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Myself and two friends flew to Budapest from Dublin on our way to Exit Festival in Serbia, only two of us had bookings as the third friend came along sort of last minute. We were booked in a hostel a few floors down (it was in a large apartment building, apparently like alot of hostels in Budapest), and stayed there but they were full so my friend Grace stayed upstairs in Suite and had a great time. (Our hostel downstairs sucked). We went to the festival and partied for a few days and then rang them on the way back and they booked us room. We took a night train there so arrived way before check in but they were friendly and helpful and stored our stuff while we explored the city. We had an amazing time when we were there and the staff were really friendly which makes a huge difference in anywhere you stay. The staff started off a drinking game in the common area which is really chill and then took everyone who wanted on a bit of a pub crawl, which from what i can remember (i drank a bottle of vodka before going out) was alot of fun. When i go travelling and stay in hostels it's about the vibe and being able to meet new people and Suite hostel was one of the better place's i've stayed for this. Nice big dorm rooms, smoking areas on the terrace (I'm a chain smoker so this is a big plus for me) beer for sale, nice staff who are travellers themselves and can give you good advice. I'll definitely be back, a big cheers to Sylvia and Courtney and Gary!

Room Tip: Stayed in a dorm room, was really big and had its own lounge/kitchen area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinONeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    9
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liège, Belgique
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Here is the mail I received from them 4days before my arrival :

"Hello, we emailed earlier about checkin in time but unfortunately we have had some problems with the room you reserved and unfortunately the room is not available anymore because we have to renovate. We are very sorry about this inconvenience. Suite Hostel staff."

They didn't propose me any solutions nor other hostel nor compensation, I had to book another hostel in a hurry.

So ofcourse I didn't go to the Suite Hostel, but I can say that they are unprofessional about this kind of behaviour.

And the worse, today I received mail about my "non arrival" and that I have to pay the night ?!

LOL, kidding me

Such a pity... for this hostel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicocoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is not a normal hostel, it is in an apartment building. Only has two "dorm" rooms of 8 but they are basically bedrooms. The cupboards are filled with someone's belongings and the bathroom was pretty dirty. Has a really weird feeling about it. Didn't enjoy my stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloiseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

I am a very slow traveler and I enjoy staying in a location for weeks rather then plow through and glance at all the highlights and I am so happy I found Suite Hostel. The staff here is amazing! I had bad luck with my passport and laptop being stolen and the staff went out of their way to find the guy who had it and EVEN WENT WITH ME TO THE HOSTEL HE WAS AT TO HELP ME GET IT BACK . Their kindness didnt stop there. I lost my debit card and had to have one sent to my home in the US and then sent to me here which would take a 15days and the staff said it was ok if I stayed... I dont know what i would have done without them. It was so nice to have strangers be so trusting... They really made me feel like they WANTED me to be here and not that they were just providing a service. On several occasions various staff members asked if I had money for food and that I should let them know if there is anything they can do to help.
I stayed in the 8 bed dorms which are simple but are nice for sleeping... Thats all you use them for anyway. The common room has a huge number of DVDs and games you can play. There is a full kitchen and computers you can use, with free internet. They have a laundry service and will let you hang dry them if you dont like to use the dryer. There is a few board games and you can set the dining room table into a pingpong table... good times... Sometimes watching the guys play XBOX was more entertaining then movies were.
I think the only thing that was bad was the really really slow elevator but stairs are probably the healthier choice anyway.
This hostel is a 5 minute walk from a huge market place where you can buy cheap produce and hungarian nicknacks and a ten minute walk from a bikram yoga studio (very important to me) and there is a 24 hour pub around one corner and a vegan indian restaurant around the other... so basically everything you need.....
All in all... suite hostel is a very lovely place, with kind workers, and a nice atmosphere and a great location.
PLUS one of the staff is really nice to look at...
THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaeolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

This hostel is located well, and is two minutes away from a metro stop, and is also walking distance from the center. The staff here are all over the place, and never really seemed to know what was going on. For example, the first night we stayed there they over-booked, and if the staff were asked a question then half the time, they didn't know the answer to very basic questions. It was very hard to sleep because you could hear every word that came from the kitchen, and there were boys drinking and playing games until the early hours in the morning. The kitchen was filthy and the kitchenware was never cleaned. There was air-conditioning available, but you had to pay for it. I would recommend this if you were there for nightlife, but if your there for a quiet weekend, avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveSun901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Essential Hostel
Essential Hostel
#114 of 649 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Hello Budapest Hostel
#86 of 649 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Avenue Hostel
#25 of 649 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 1.0 Oktogon
Adagio Hostel 1.0 Oktogon
#37 of 649 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baroque Hostel
Baroque Hostel
#98 of 649 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hostel

Property: Suite Hostel
Address: Imre utca 4 | Imre Utca 4, Budapest 1093, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 649 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want a more intimate hostel to meet other fellow travelers? So Suite Hostel is just for you! Suite Hostel is in the perfect location and the perfect place to meet fellow like-minded travelers and share travel experiences with. We welcome all travelers to come join our community, to spend some time, hang out and party with the family. Suite hostel is a medium sized hostel, with a chilled vibe. There's no noise curfew or any of that nonsense, especially cos we like to have a good old singalong on our balcony every now and then. We just want to make sure every one gets a long, enjoys their stay, check out the city, chill if they want to or party their hearts out if they want to. The staff at Suite Hostel are all young local and international people who are outgoing, fun, ready to show you a good time in 'Pest, yet still have a professional manner. We are very knowledgeable about our city and all its hot spots and are more than willing to sit down and show them to you on a map. Often will take you around ourselves, because we love this city and want you to enjoy it just as much as we do! We want to make sure you are more than just another number and become part of our little family. We have an extensive social program and we are located in the heart of Budapest, near all the attractions such as the Castle district, St. Stephen's Basilica, Thermal bath houses and the Citadel. At the same time our area has the most bars and clubs to which the staff will gladly take you. For those who like to prepare their own meals, the central market hall is at the end of our street, two minutes walk away; but if you like eating out, ask the staff for the best places to go, there are plenty in the area. We have three fully equipped kitchens so there is never any waiting time to make your meals. Also, we encourage dinner nights so we can all enjoy each others company. Suite Hostel features: Free lockers (padlocks included) Free wifi in every room Free sheets Free tea and coffee all day Free access to guidebooks Free maps Free luggage storage Free Cable TV with all football matches, DVDs and xbox 360 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Suite Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing