We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lisztro

Lisztro
Ranked #2,459 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $4 - $45
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Oslo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Overpriced, the steak was good but the rest was not very tasteful, the salad was swimming in vinagrette .When we got the bill the tip was included, this is not a way to charge tourists it should be optional if you want to give tip or not.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Conil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    55
    46
    41
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Really bad”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We were here with 4 friends. The waiter did speak English, but not too well, we had a hard time asking him for more information about the food. He was not too friendly, after he got us on his terrace with a big smile, I didn't see him smiling once anymore. Food would have been alright if it wasn't for the meat in the so called vegetarian soup. After pointing out that is was there, the soup was taken away, but in the new soup was still a piece of meat (probably missed a piece while scooping the meat out of the plate in the kitchen). The waiter told us the soup would be free because of the trouble, but still charged the soup afterwards.
The food is also pretty expensive for a restaurant in Budapest, in my opinion not worth the money. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Whittier, Alaska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped at passion on a whim. I just read the previous reviews and I must disagree with the negativity. I Tried two dishes: The Shrimp Tapa and the Goat Cheese Salad. They were both very well prepared and presented. I could have eaten 10 orders of those wonderful butter poached shrimp with garlic and lime. The goat cheese salad with dried fruits and basalmic reduction on rucola was a great balance to the acid of shrimp dish. The long island ice teas are standard if not a little on the pricey side. But it is nice to find a place in central Europe that is not afraid to use ice in their cocktails! The scene is touristic and lively. Nice parkway like setting. Staff was friendly and attentive. I don't think I would return here specifically, but if I found myself in the area, I certainly wouldn't avoid the place either.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobbTaylor777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible food for high price”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The food we had in Passion yesterday was terrible, and I felt that the place is definitely overpriced compared to the quality of the meals served. We opted for grilled pork medallions and gipsy style pork, and cottage cheese balls with ginger sauce for dessert, but all of them was terribly made. I felt like being in a restaurant where the owners think that it is enough to have their place in Liszt Ferenc square, but it does not matter what quality meals they serve to their clients. Definitely a really bad experience for me, and I do not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greatpeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, bit pricey”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Food was superb, top notch. The steak my Dad had was wonderful. I opted for a chicken burger which was very good and the other two in our group had the Hungarian burger.

Prices are on the high side and I felt overpriced for the area and Budapest generally. Service was mediocre and our table was apparently in a non smoking area however the table next to us 'lit up' and consequently I got a lung full of smoke. I was not happy with this.

Overall the food was what made Passion but remember there is plenty of other options in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Jonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisztro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Lisztro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing