We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun walking tour and a gret into to Budapest”

Free Budapest Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.29*
and up
Budapest Local Pubs Tour
Ranked #1 of 306 Tours in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Insightful and entertaining city walks about history, society, architecture and what Hungarians are actually like. 7 days a week, 10 tours a day. Tours range from General, to Communism, to Jewish themed walking tours with critical and honest local guides. Tours have no fixed prices, based on name-your-own-price system only. Free Spirits. Free Guides. Free Stylers.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Thanks Anita for the great tour - you're a natural. Can't really add to what has been written already - it's fun, informative, plenty of tips on what to do and where to go. All excellent for anyone between 15 and 80 with a bit of interest about their surroundings. I'd advise to do the general tour on the first day of your visit to get your bearings and meet plenty of others doing the same thing.

After the tour, a few of us joined Anita for lunch in what seemed to be an office canteen - and you can't get a more authentic non-tourist lunch than that.

If we had the time, we would have also done the communist tour and the pub tour - shame we missed those.

1  Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Graham C,

We are grateful for your review of Anita’s General Walk – it was a great help. All the best to you!

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,193)
There are newer reviews for Free Budapest Walking Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,708 - 2,712 of 5,194 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

These tours come free with a Budapest card (highly recommend). Did both the Buda and the Pest tour. Both very interesting and informative. Learnt a lot, and the tour guides were very enthusiastic. We had Bernadette, and ?Alex (Sorry, I have forgotten your name, but a very pleasant young man). They were able to answer all questions. Would highly recommend.

Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Thank you very for super good, informative, deep and very interesting tour around Jewish district. Good combination between Hungarian history, Jewish history and traditions, history of the district plus good tips about places around and within the district. Thank you very much Anna for guiding us with stories, legends and smile! In my opinion, in winter season it would be better to start this tour earlier (2-2.30 pm) in order to be able to see more during the day light time. Thanks a lot!

Thank bojkotik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Bojkotik,

It was to our pleasure to read your great review of Anna’s Jewish District tour. Greetings to you from her and the whole company. See you on our other tours the next time you visit Budapest!

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Very informative and fun tour. First time in budapest and learnt so much about the history, architecture and the culture as well as many many tips of where to go and what to do around town. Perfect orientation!

Thank joyness1111
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Joyjoy1601,

Thank you for your brief but valuable review of our General Walk! We hope to see you again in Budapest.

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A real highlight - we were in Budapest for three days and went to all three tours (General, Communist, Jewish). The guides are relatively knowledgeable and have good English skills, and the place the tours meet is very central and easy to reach.

The general tour is a good orientation to town - gave us a sense of what places we wanted to come back to, and the guide also had some tips about getting around Budapest, avoiding scams, etc.

The Communism tour does not go a whole lot of places - it's mostly the guides stopping in different squares to tell you different things - but the guides we had were both old enough to have grown up in the Communist era, which meant they had a lot of personal anecdotes of life at that time. I do wish they had explained more details of the 1956 uprising, though.

The Jewish district tour was probably the best - our guide did a great job of explaining the complicated history of both the district itself and of the Jews in Hungary.

The tours aren't perfect - they often aren't extremely detailed, which for a history buff like me can be a minus, but for general audiences I think they are probably perfect. All the tours take about 2.5 hours. We usually tipped about 10 euros per guide (the Communism tour had two guides).

Thank MossadeghalSaltaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear MossadeghalSaltaneh,

It was my pleasure to read your in-depth and sometimes thought-provoking reviews of the three tours you took with us. Also, thank you for your generous contribution. As I was one of the guides on the Communism Walk you took, allow me to respond to your constructive criticism in a few words.

This thematic walk has two guides on most days, in order to make sure that we are able to answer any and all questions, asked in publicly or in private. Additionally, since the tour ends in a closed, warm place, our guests are offered the opportunity to stay as long as they like to ask more details about topics, such as the 1956 Revolution – and they do: our guides stay an average 40 minutes extra after each Communism Walk until everyone is satisfied.

Again, we are grateful for your visit. Have a nice day!

Sincerely,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Budapest Walking Tours also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Free Budapest Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing