We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best tour”

Free Budapest Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.08*
and up
Budapest Local Pubs Tour
Ranked #1 of 292 Tours in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Insightful and entertaining city walks about history, society, architecture and what Hungarians are actually like. 7 days a week, 9 tours a day. Tours range from General, to Communism, to Jewish themed walking tours with critical and honest local guides. Tours have no fixed prices, based on name-your-own-price system only. Free Spirits. Free Guides. Free Stylers.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best tour”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Very informative and fun tour. First time in budapest and learnt so much about the history, architecture and the culture as well as many many tips of where to go and what to do around town. Perfect orientation!

Helpful?
Thank joyness1111
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Joyjoy1601,

Thank you for your brief but valuable review of our General Walk! We hope to see you again in Budapest.

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

4,826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,981
    633
    136
    58
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not miss!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A real highlight - we were in Budapest for three days and went to all three tours (General, Communist, Jewish). The guides are relatively knowledgeable and have good English skills, and the place the tours meet is very central and easy to reach.

The general tour is a good orientation to town - gave us a sense of what places we wanted to come back to, and the guide also had some tips about getting around Budapest, avoiding scams, etc.

The Communism tour does not go a whole lot of places - it's mostly the guides stopping in different squares to tell you different things - but the guides we had were both old enough to have grown up in the Communist era, which meant they had a lot of personal anecdotes of life at that time. I do wish they had explained more details of the 1956 uprising, though.

The Jewish district tour was probably the best - our guide did a great job of explaining the complicated history of both the district itself and of the Jews in Hungary.

The tours aren't perfect - they often aren't extremely detailed, which for a history buff like me can be a minus, but for general audiences I think they are probably perfect. All the tours take about 2.5 hours. We usually tipped about 10 euros per guide (the Communism tour had two guides).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MossadeghalSaltaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear MossadeghalSaltaneh,

It was my pleasure to read your in-depth and sometimes thought-provoking reviews of the three tours you took with us. Also, thank you for your generous contribution. As I was one of the guides on the Communism Walk you took, allow me to respond to your constructive criticism in a few words.

This thematic walk has two guides on most days, in order to make sure that we are able to answer any and all questions, asked in publicly or in private. Additionally, since the tour ends in a closed, warm place, our guests are offered the opportunity to stay as long as they like to ask more details about topics, such as the 1956 Revolution – and they do: our guides stay an average 40 minutes extra after each Communism Walk until everyone is satisfied.

Again, we are grateful for your visit. Have a nice day!

Sincerely,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to get the lay of the land!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We chose to do the afternoon tour instead of the morning, which ended up being perfect. You end at Fisherman's Bastian just as the sun goes down for the best views of Pest all lit up!

Our guide was Peter and, as a local, he was very knowledgable and also very funny. I really enjoyed how the guides make sure to answer any questions or concerns you have and love to recommend things for you that you might enjoy that might not be so easy to google search such as where I find great folk music that evening.

I highly suggest this company as your walking tour choice.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 010_AJTravels_010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear AJTravels,

Thank you very much in the name of Peter and all of our colleagues for your great and in-depth recommendation of our company. We hope to see you again on our thematic tours!

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A highlight of our stay in Budapest”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We only wished we had done a tour sooner (we did the sightseeing and communism tours on our last day in Budapest)! These tours were really helpful in understanding Budapest and getting the most out of our stay. Do at least the sightseeing tour when you first arrive! It is fun and also handy to have the insider knowledge shared by the guides.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Emiliy P,

Thank you for your great review of our General and Communism Walks. It is true that it is best to take at least the General one upon arrival, to bring the maximum out of a visit to Budapest.

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Really great tour. Our female guide Ag i think, was awesome. Really funny and informative and took us to great locations. One of the best tours we have done. The tips and city info sheet at the end is the best idea

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Matt R,

It was to our pleasure to have you as a guest on Ági’s General Walk. Many thanks for recommending us, and we hope to see you again in Budapest!

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Budapest Walking Tours also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Free Budapest Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing