We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attitudes, working all day in the cold!”

Free Budapest Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.98*
and up
4-hour Budapest Jewish Quarter pub crawl
Ranked #1 of 329 Tours in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Insightful and entertaining city walks about history, society, architecture and what Hungarians are actually like. 7 days a week, 11 tours a day. Tours range from General, to Communism, to Jewish and Street & Urban Art themed walking tours with critical and honest local guides. Tours have no fixed prices, based on name-your-own-price system only. Free Spirits. Free Guides. Free Stylers.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I really did not know much about the layout and history of the city other than from Wikipedia and my guidebook before the tour, and was so pleased with the enthusiasm from both of our tour guides to bring individual buildings and viewpoints to life with history and little cultural fun facts. It did not feel free at all. They even gave us a brochure of tips including things they talked about during the walk which was greatly appreciated. The cake shop our guide recommended to us was fantastic! And of course, as a student traveler, paying-what-you-feel is always appreciated!

Thank roooomebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Roooomebecca,

We’re grateful for your in-depth review of our tour, as well as the compassion you show for us working out there in the cold. Please have no worry: the last person to be cold on the tour is us, guides – we dress up well in the winter, and we ask you, dear travellers, to do the same.

Your guide was Ági (we have two Agneses in the company, but that’s why one is Agnes and the other is Ági), a pretty much recent addition to our team, but so far, she’s brilliant, and thank you for confirming that.

Sincerely,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,893 - 2,897 of 5,387 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Our guide was Anita and I liked the way she took us around the city. Her
English was very good and the pace of the tour was also perfect. I learned
so much about the history of the city and other useful things that I can
recommend this tour to everybody.

Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Pete S,

Anita and all of the guides with Free Budapest Walking Tours thank you immensely for taking the time to write your excellent recommendation of our tour! Please return to Budapest to do our thematic walks next time.

Have a nice day!

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Knowledgeable, licenced guides- they are all locals and enthousiastic! It was my second time on their tours and - even that I've read a lot about this city before I came here and I have hungarian origins, they still could tell me more and more information about the city and the country! Congratulations!

Thank Veronika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Veronica V,

Thank you very much for your detailed review of your Budapest tour with us; we’re glad you enjoyed it! We hope to see you and your friends again in the city!

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I'm very glad to choose this tour, because it was very funny, dynamic and active tour not too boring like ordinary tours when you want to sleep after the first 5 minutes. We were lucky that our guide was Timi, it is a young girl who likes her native city and ready to share her knowledge with all tour's members. Tour lasted 2,5 hours and we visited most of the famous Budapest's attractions in Buda and in Pest. We found out different stories and legends about city more than historical facts that can be read in travel guides. The tour was in english but it was very simple and understandable even for non native English speakers. There were not so many people there (maybe because of low season) so it was very good to hear Timi. Timi, thank you so much!!!

Thank x-ostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear X-Ostar,

Well, we’re glad you found the perfect tour guide for yourself in Budapest. So now, bear it in mind that Free Budapest Walking Tours starts its tours from Vörösmarty Square, the fountain with four lions, in front of the Gerbeaud Café, at the terminal of Metro line 1.

Sincerely,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our tour guide Anita is so knowlegeable and entusiastic about the tour. We learnt a lot more from her than our other paid escorted tour. She introduced us to the Opera House. Watching the opera is the highlight of our month long trip.

Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Eric H,

In the name of Anita and all of us, we’d like to thank you for recommending our tour. We hope you’ll be back one day for our thematic tours. Have a nice day!

Sincerely,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Budapest Walking Tours also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Free Budapest Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing