We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent knowledge and a twist of fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Free Budapest Walking Tours

Free Budapest Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.17*
and up
Budapest Local Pubs Tour
Ranked #1 of 281 Tours in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Insightful and entertaining city walks about history, society, architecture and what Hungarians are actually like. 7 days a week, 9 tours a day. Tours range from General, to Communism, to Jewish themed walking tours with critical and honest local guides. Tours have no fixed prices, based on name-your-own-price system only. Free Spirits. Free Guides. Free Stylers.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent knowledge and a twist of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

A really enjoyable afternoon spent in the company on Anita covering many of the significant sights in th city.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellerTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear WorldTravellerTony,

It was our pleasure to learn that Anita got herself yet another fan to join the existing thousands with her unique style and profound knowledge.

We invite you to meet more of us upon your return to Budapest.

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,845
    610
    128
    54
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“AVOID, was the worst part of our trip to Budapest”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

After excellent tripadvisor reviews, we decided to give this a go on our first day. As the website suggests, we met at the meeting place to disorganised chaos, rude staff and tours that were far too heavily subscribed (i.e. Over 120 people with only 3 tour guides).

The guides themselves there wholly uncharming and all they did at the beginning was talk about getting a tip. Our guide in particular was terribly bad who made it clear this was not a walking tour, but a badly taught GCSE lesson on Hungary's history - her stops were rubbish and were clearly plugging trashy tourist venues, there were far too many people on the tour, she was very condescending and annoying and she had a very muddled (and in places, simply wrong) take on her country's history.

We left after 45 minutes and had seen and learnt NOTHING other than the tour guide showing off how many languages she could speak and why she wasn't Asian looking.

Absolute rubbish tour, you get what you pay for.

We suggest doing a proper tour with proper guides (opposed to this tour) that you pay for.

In sum, AVOID.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Platelicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello!

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience during your stay in Budapest. As you are a Senior Contributor to the traveling community, we have no reason to doubt the authenticity of your extremely critical review.

However, we hereby reject your claims that we employ rude staff, or guides who pressure people for money, and deem these statements to be VERY UNFAIR.
.
The choice to participate on our tours, and the choice to remunerate the tour guide at its conclusion is always 100% voluntary. We are confident in the quality of our tours as 99,99% of our guests are happy to spread the word about us.

We are also very confident about the tour itinerary (all walking tour companies are using more or less the same stops of downtown Budapest) and the historical overview of Hungary.

Please note two important things.

One: You visited us during Easter Festival. Our meeting point area is still full of vendors and performers, so "disorganized chaos" should be addressed to them.

Two: Free group tours are NOT for everyone, and definitely not for you.

Rgds,
Free Budapest Walking Tours Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
210 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A Must Do for Explorers and Visitors Alike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The free walking tour is a fabulous introduction to this beautiful city. The guides are knowledgeable, professional and excellent ambassadors. We took the morning tour which was split into four groups with guides for each group based on the number of people. Three groups had English tours and one was in Spanish. Each group had about twenty people. The guides work for tips so please tip your guides appropriately. We learned about the history interwoven with stories, reflections and humor. The guides are passionate about their home and it shows through their pride in the tour. We explored both sides of the Danube River and ended the tour in the Castle District. Despite the rain their enthusiasm never ceased!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ana4sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Ana4sc,

Thank you for your detailed account and the kind words offered about our tour. It also felt very good to read about your opinion on the guides’ enthusiasm and the pride they showed.

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
716 reviews
266 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Just support them!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant introductory tour. Mainly backpackers and young people so at nearly 60 we are the oldies. The guides were great and for the main tour they spotted right away my wife's limited mobility. Almost before I asked about taking the funicular to Buda the second guide told my wife about the No 16 bus and went up with her.
Brilliant tour and as at April 2013 suggest 2000 - 2500 HF per head. We did a little more for great service! And in Buda finish near cheap restaurant and they give great tips,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Viewlander,

It is especially kind of you to emphasize that you had a good experience with us as a senior couple. Also, thank you for your generous contribution, and we hope to see you again in our beautiful city.

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great way to see the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

A friend and I were in Budapest over Easter weekend. On Easter Sunday we were concerned that there wouldn't be much to do, but luckily we found Free Walking Tours. We started off with the general tour of the city. Our tour guide, Emma, was smart and engaging. Both of us learned a lot about the city and we were able to see how gorgeous it was, despite all the rain. We enjoyed our tour so much that we went back for the afternoon tour about the history of the Jews in Budapest. This tour was also very good. We were able to see all of the different synagogues in the city and learned about the unique history of Hungarian Jews. I would highly recommend taking any of the free walking tours offered. It's also wonderful because we were able to pay what we thought was appropriate!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sara E,

In the name of our wonderful Emma (whom you called smart and engaging, thank you), it was an honour to welcome you on our General and Jewish District tours.

We are grateful for both your recommending us and your contribution to our project.

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Budapest Walking Tours also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Free Budapest Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing