We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Tour ”

Free Budapest Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.08*
and up
Budapest Local Pubs Tour
Ranked #1 of 292 Tours in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Insightful and entertaining city walks about history, society, architecture and what Hungarians are actually like. 7 days a week, 9 tours a day. Tours range from General, to Communism, to Jewish themed walking tours with critical and honest local guides. Tours have no fixed prices, based on name-your-own-price system only. Free Spirits. Free Guides. Free Stylers.
Stroud
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour ”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our Free Walking tour with Anna. It was wonderfully insightful and gave you enough facts to be able to remember without being boring or having to concentrate too hard. I would encourage anyone to do this on their first day as she gave us tips on where to go and how to get the most from our stay in Budapest. A fantastic tour for as much as you are willing to part with, I thought that it was worth 10 euro's. A great start, thanks Anna.

Helpful?
Thank Phileas_Frog82
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Phileas_Frog82,

It was wonderful to read your account of the trip you’ve taken with Anna in Budapest. Thanks for going into the details about the usefulness of the facts you’ve learned on your tour.

We also appreciate your generous contribution to our project – see you again one day.

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

4,826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,981
    633
    136
    58
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour with Adam”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

(a message to adam: you are the best guide we have ever had! You know so much, and really added something to our trip).
And a message to everyone who is concidering this tour: do it! Bring some warm clothes and enjoy the facinating stories, overwhelming sights and stunning views.
Love from norway

Helpful?
Thank Elise A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Elise A,

We’re happy that you took the time to visit our beautiful capital city and did one of the walking tours available.

The next time you visit Budapest, please look for the precise phrase “Free Budapest Walking Tours” to be able to meet us.

With kind regards,
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a MUST!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The decision to do this was last minute after being approached by the tour guide. 'Free walking tour' sounded too good to be true - what's the catch I hear you ask? None.

Im not typically somebody who embraces the long wounded, minute detail of every tour. For me the tour has to be snappy and interesting.

At 2 and half hours the tour flew by with an interesting guide Emma who was animated and upbeat at all times despite the freezing cold.

I left however feeling I'd learnt a lot about Budapest and the Hungarian culture.

Helpful?
1 Thank PhilHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear PhilHB,

Thank you very much for your in-depth and obviously positive account of Emma’s tour.
We’d like to invite you to our thematic tours upon your next visit.

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This should be the first thing you do when you get to Budapest!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We loved the original free walking tour, it was a great way to get an overview of the city as we only stayed a couple of days.

Our guide Emma was brilliant and kept everyone's spirits up even though it was pouring with rain. It was good that the tour was flexible, finding us shelter when we stopped and doing extra bits in the warm at the end. The tour takes about 2 1/2 hours but you finish in the Buda side of the city so will need to find your way back to the start point, the guides pointed out where to go and it only took us about 10mins to walk back.

Although the tour is free it is suggested that you leave a tip at the end, the guides have given up half their day so it makes sense to leave something! This is a really good way of charging as it allows it to be affordable to students/backpackers who might not be able to afford it otherwise.

The tour itself was a perfect balance of history, interesting facts and an overview of Hungarian culture with a booklet of useful info given to everyone at the end. I'm coming back to Budapest in summer and will be sure to do another Free Budapest Tour!

Helpful?
Thank Saywabish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Saywabish,

in the name of all our guides, thank you for making us be proud of our wonderful Emma – not for the first and definitely not for the last time, I might add.

We’re awaiting you back to our wonderful city – remember, you promised to come back...

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“General tour EXCELLENT, Jewish tour poor”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The general walking tour was superb. The guide was excellent and there didn't seem to be a question from the group that he couldn't respond to with a detailed and informing answer. Absolutely superb.

However, the Jewish tour was much less impressive. The guide was rather patronising and seemed to contradict himself. That said, it was hot and we'd had a big night hours before! I'd give the Jewish tour 3/5, but the general tour was so good that it averages to 5!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear MJPaton,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to offer honest and benevolent criticism of our Jewish Tour, and a stellar opinion on our General Tour.

Your opinion will help our Quality Assurance team to take the measures to have all the t-s crossed and i-s dotted in the very near future on the Jewish Tour.

We hope to see you again!

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Budapest Walking Tours also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Free Budapest Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing