We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, light and warm; avoid during the summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senator Apartments Budapest
Ranked #52 of 667 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The apartments look nice enough and are centrally located so we decided to visit. Upon arrival we noticed that looks aren't everything. The first apartment we were assigned had a good looking Ikea bed but it turned out to have a broken spring mattress on it, which was literally so thin you could feel both the springs and the frame poking in your back. When we mentioned this to the staff they had never heard this complaint before but allowed us to move into a different apartment. This apartment had a just as thin mattress but at least did not have any springs in it to ruin your night.

As you can see on the attached photo, the curtains in this room were way too short to block out the morning sun; we literally woke up in the morning to the sun shining in our eyes while the living-room was a lot darker. During the night we also unpleasantly experienced that the apartments are facing a courtyard, which meant a lot of noise from drunk party goers throughout the night. Considering sleeping with your windows open is a must during the hot summer days (AC costs extra), this was not a pleasant experience.

When we mentioned this to the staff on the third day their cooperation stopped; they had not heard these complaints before either and there was nothing they would do to help. Even once we mentioned we would be leaving there was just no possibility of a discount on the fee for the remaining days, not quite the customer service one would hope to experience. At this point we decided to leave and we booked a different hotel where we were confident that we would be able to catch some sleep during the night.

Note as well that the description "Senator Apartments are housed in a brand-new building" is misleading. Yes the building appears to be fairly young, but then again it does look like it hasn't been maintained properly nor was constructed in a decent fashion, see the attached picture.
Another surprise was the payment process, where we were asked to write down our credit card number, its expiration date as well as the CVV security code so that they would make the payment for us. This just feels like a complete scam; this is sufficient information to max out a credit card while the bank will not refund any of these costs. Payment by cash was also possible however, which was a plus.
Finally, like a reviewer in 2012 already pointed out, a discount for your next stay is offered to guests who post a favorable review on TripAdvisor, which is warning enough in itself.

Room Tip: Avoid if it's warm (AC costs extra, sleeping with your window open means drunk people noise), if...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lb_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator A, Receptionist at Senator Apartments Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your contribution. Our guests' opinion, and comments are important for us and help us find the areas where we need to improve. However, please let us point out a few remarks in connection with your review:

1. When you indicated your discomfort in connection with the bed, we cooperated and offered you to move into another apartment without any extra cost for you. (cleaning fee 15 € )
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the new apartment either.

2. That you felt the apartment too warm, is understandable, and might be explained by the fact that the average Hungarian temperature in summer is 10 Celsius degree higher than in the Neatherlands.
We offer airconditioning in every apartment for a 7 €/night price which you can require at the Reception.

3. According to our cancelation policy, cancelation or modification of the booking is free of charge only if you do it at least 2 days before arrival (recently changed to 5 days).

4. To make sure that any potential damage in the apartment is paid for, we ask for the guest's credit card details which we destroy after the guest leaves the hotel. For those who do not want to give these data, we offer the possibility to pay a 50 € deposit for any incidental damage (which we give back at check-out in case no damage occured).

5. We provide a 15% discount for every returning guest, regardless of the fact wether they gave us a positive comment or not.

We would be pleased to accomodate you too, on a discouted price next summer. Please contact us on info@senatorbudapest.com.


Thank you and best regards,

Hajnal Budai
Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
There are newer reviews for Senator Apartments Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 597 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

They had some trouble with finding our reservation, so the first night we had to stay in a smaller room. They found it the next day, but we had to come by the office several times to get it sorted, so this ruined parts of our day.. Not very service minded staff.

Otherwise it was a great apartment; big and clean, with good standards and lots of equipment. The location is great! (5 min walk to the shopping streets, restaurants etc) It´s a small kiosk right across from the apartments to get water and things, and an even bigger groserystore just up the street. Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: Would recommend a two bedroom apartment, instead of one bedroom and a sofabed in the living room, if...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tone A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator A, Receptionist at Senator Apartments Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Tone A,

Thank you very much for your good words on the apartments, and the location. We are glad that you were satisfied with the size and furniture of the apartment and the shopping facilities nearby.

At the same time, we are sorry that we caused you inconvinience by not identifying your reservation in time. However we would like to mention that, we offered you a discount of the original price as a compensation for this bad experience.

We would be glad to accomodate you next time on a discounted price. Please contact us by e-mail.

Kind regadrs,

Hajnal Budai
Receptionist

Senator Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The apartment was very modern, quite and huge. Also very central. The only problem is that we did book a 2 bedroom and one bedroom is actually a sofa in the lounger pom. I know lots of apartment hotels do this lately, but I really think two bedrooms should actually be two bedrooms. But apart from that no complaints, really nice modern apartment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator A, Receptionist at Senator Apartments Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Bridget H,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other bookers. We appreciate your good words on the apartment's location and size.

We can provide appartments with one, two, or even three bedrooms, just please make sure to book the right one on the site. Two-bedroom apartments are available with two separate bedrooms, plus a livingroom with a sofa bed.

We would be happy to see you for next year too!

Best regards,

Hajnal Budai
Receptionist

Senator Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile


When we arrived at the Senator Apartments the people on the desk were helpful but didn't go the extra mile. We asked if we could leave our bags in their desk area on the day we checked out because you have to check out by 11.00 am and our flight wasn't until 9.30pm; however for some reason this was not allowed. Anyway we were taken to our two bedroom Apartment and wow what value for money. Everything was modern and new - the whole apartment looked like an Ikea show room. The kitchen had everything we needed and was very clean. My daughter aged 18 tested out the wifi which was better than the one we have at home! The beds are big and one bedroom has an en-suite, plus there is a second bathroom too. The beds were very comfortable (a little low) and if you want more cushions look under the sofa there are loads! The bathrooms are huge however somehow every time I had a shower in the second bathroom the floor would get very wet, but in my daughter's en suite bathroom this wasn't a problem - would suggest shower doors rather than curtains in the second bathroom to solve this.The location is great! Despite being in the heart of Budapest the apartment itself is very quiet. The Hard Rock cafe is a 5 min walk the main shopping street is a 2 min walk, the square where the metro,trams, and guide tours start from is on the doorstep. To get to the river it is a 10/15 min walk. McDonalds is round the corner however it shuts at 10.00 pm so don't think you can get a cheap and easy meal late at night like we did! Instead we got a "kebap" from the restaurant which was right outside the Senator Apartment and it was very tasty. You can also get dvds from the desk area for free we got Southpark and Sex in the City. Overall this is great value for money and we would stay here again 100%. We had no problems and overall a great trip.
The doors/ windows leading onto the balcony look like doors but double as windows too. If you aren't aware of this however at first you think the door is falling on you! The door does open normally - just be careful the first time.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcmitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator A, Receptionist at Senator Apartments Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the good words and we are glad that you had such a good time here. We appreciate your positive comment and we hope to see you next year!

Best regards,

Hajnal Budai
Receptionist

Senator Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The family loved it. Located near the center, was transported for 3 days almost never used. The nearest grocery store with a limited selection of products. Convenient transport location. They came late, had to search a little reception.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARV7119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator A, Receptionist at Senator Apartments Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear ARV7119,

Thank you for you contribution. Our guests' comments always help us further improve and grow.
We were glad to accomodate you and we hope to see you again soon at Senator Apartments.

Best regards,

Hajnal Budai
Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I read all of the reviews about the senator apartments before my stay, and I was really looking forward to how nice it was going to be. I don’t get where all these amazing reviews came from!

The hotel location was great next to shopping and all the sites you want to see. Half a block away from a hop on hop off bus tour station. It was convenient that a parking garage was directly next door, and for 24 hours it was 5000 HUF which is about 25 USD.
When I walked in I felt like I was walking into an abandoned shopping mall. The office is upstairs just so you know! The staff was friendly, and answered any questions that we had.

The bad:

The hotel room itself did not have black out shudders, which can become annoying the beginning of august and it’s sunny and hot all day in your room. That brings me to the second point. You had to pay for AC! It was 7 Euro a day, and there was only one AC unit in the entire apartment, but it’s not located in the bedroom! We were shocked that we paid 125 Euro, and the AC was not included!

Breakfast is included, but it’s in some café around the block, the selection was very limited, and the food was subpar.

Overall I would not stay there, or recommend it to my friends to stay at.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Msalv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator A, Receptionist at Senator Apartments Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Msalv1,


Thank you for your review, our guests' opinion is very important for us and we are glad that we could accomodate you at Senator Apartments.

Next time you visit us, please take into consideration the following information which are all included in our partner websites: Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelsclick.com, Expedia.com.

1. Air-conditioning is available in our facilities for 7 EUR/night. If needed, we can provide additional, mobile air-conditioning devices which can be placed anywhere in the apartment. Mobile air-conditioning also costs 7 EUR/night.

2.Breakfast is served in a nearby (5 minutes walk) á la catre restaurant where guests can choose from a number of breakfast options for 5 EUR.


Thank you for your contribution, and we hope to welcome you again in Senator Apartments soon.



Hajnal Budai

Receptionist



Senator Apartments, Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in this apartments just for one night. Staff was friendly and helpful. Apartment was clean and really big. but I didnt like that we were 3 and one of us had to sleep on the sofa even when we payed for triple room. Close to the city but little bit harder to find. hope we will come here soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dudko41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator A, Receptionist at Senator Apartments Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear dudko41,

Thank you for your contribution. Our guests' comments are always welcome by Senator Apartments.
Next time you visit us, please take into consideration the following information which are all included in our partner websites: Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelsclick.com, Expedia.com.

1. We can provide one-bedroom apartments for 4 person, which contain one separate bedroom (with a double bed), an extractable sofa-bed in the living (for two person), kitchen, bathroom, toilet and balcony.

We hope to see you again soon at Senator Apartments.

Best regards,

Hajnal Budai
Receptionist

Senator Apartments, Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#37 of 333 in Budapest
1,214 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
#45 of 333 in Budapest
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#22 of 333 in Budapest
193 reviews
Terézváros
Trendy Deluxe Apartments
Trendy Deluxe Apartments
#23 of 667 in Budapest
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Apartments Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Apartments Budapest

Address: Kiraly utca 8. | 1st Floor, Budapest 1061, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 667 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $49 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Apartments Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Senator Apartments are housed in a brand-new building next to the fashionable Vaci utca, a 5-minute walk from Budapest's Chain Bridge, and provided with free Wi-Fi. The rooms are fully equipped, with a modern, high-standard kitchen, a flat screen TV and design furniture. Air-conditioning is available in some units for a fee. Some apartments have a balcony. Breakfast is available upon request in a nearby restaurant. A gym, cardio, a hot tub and a pool are available in a sports center nearby. Sightseeing tours can be booked at the reception. From the Senator Apartments you have easy access to Deak Ferenc Ter, Budapest's main metro station. A wide range of restaurants, pubs, leisure and sports facilities are located nearby as well. You can park your car on site. Book a children's package with your accommodation for extra fee and we will provide all that your child(ren) might need during your holiday. For children between 0-4 year old. (children's furniture, toys, cartoon dvds etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Apartments Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Apartments Budapest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing