We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Location and Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #11 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location and Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Located near the Opera House, the Opera Garden Hotel and Apartments was a terrific choice for our recent stay in Budapest. The rooms are very nicely appointed and clean. The hotel staff was friendly and attentive to making our stay as comfortable as possible...dinner reservations, transportation services to/from the airport, arrange for tickets to tourist sites. Breakfast was good and offered a plentiful variety. Each afternoon, homemade sangria and snacks were provided...delicious! We highly recommend the Opera Garden Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear „Rita H”,
Let me thank you very much for your great review about your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and services. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed the style and the cleanliness of your room and the hearty breakfast selection as well. I was also glad to read that you really liked the Sangria and the snacks provided free of charge during the afternoons, we are happy when our little touches are noted and enjoyed in the first place. Your recommendation is much appreciated. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    341
    46
    7
    4
See reviews for
309
715
102
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed in Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments in late May 2014 and I would thoroughly recommend it. Situated in central Pest near the Opera House (naturally) and only a 10 minute walk to the imposing Hungarian parliament building, it holds a top place to explore Hungary's capital city with Opera (yellow M1 line) and Arary Janos Utca (blue M3 line, which you may ride in from the airport) being the closest Metro stations to the hotel.

The hotel itself is quite compact, but feels very spacious once you are inside. The rooms are decorated tastefully and simply. Our room came with a couple of hobs for home cooking simple dishes if you so wished, but with restaurants cheap and plentiful in Pest, we didn't bother. The cleaning team did a sterling job of keeping the place tidy and the staff at the reception were very helpful in telling us how to get around the city. Note that they can also book you tickets for the key sites so it is worth enquiring with them about anywhere you want to go.

The breakfasts were plentiful and of a very high standard. Aside from the usual cooked food, you could have yogurts, pastries, ham, cheese, a variety of breads and jams, fruit and juices. You could also order omlettes and fresh fruit juices from the waiting staff too. All essential sustenance for getting around Budapest!

Overall, I'll recommend Opera Garden in a heartbeat. The hotel is lovely, the staff are excellent and the location could not be better. A first class place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 4 don't have elevator access so it's worth bearing this in mind when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unification1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear „James H”,
First and foremost I would like to thank you very much for the superb review you have left for fellow Tripadvisor users. I am sure that your detailed comment will help others to make an easy decision when considering staying at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. Please allow me to thank you for your recognition of our staff, highlighting the work of the Waiters, Housekeeping and the Front Desk staff made me personally proud. I was thrilled to read your kind words about our central location. I would also like to thank you for mentioning the rich breakfast selection we offer in the mornings. I would like to add one thing though, now that summer has come we provide the possibility to have the breakfast under the bright blue sky, tables are set for breakfast in our little courtyard as well. Let me thank you again for your appraisal, I cannot be grateful enough for your commending words. Should you like to visit Budapest again, do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Service, Rooms, breakfast, Location and even the attitude of the staff and cleaners were absolutely perfect - together with the attractive price its a place to go back to again and again - look no further - not my last time there for sure.

Room Tip: Dont go for the rooms on the ground floor - we stayed on the first floor but couldn't help but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barakosson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear”barakosson”,
Thank you for your praising review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. It is my greatest pleasure to see that you truly enjoyed your recent stay. I was proud to learn that you enjoyed every little detail of your stay and we were able to provide a hotel experience that met your expectations and it would bring you back to us. I appreciate that you mentioned the services of our staff. We are enthusiastic to welcome you back for the next time, before making your next reservation please make sure to contact me first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great hotel .Very clean, breakfast was excellent .Staff very friendly and helpful
Would stay there again.TV set had lots of stations for a change
My wife enjoyed the Sangria. Decor of hotel very artisticly done

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlescotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear „littlescotch”,
Let me tell you that I was fascinated reading your great review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. I would like to thank you for highlighting the decor and style of the building along with the cleanliness of our hotel and our rich breakfast selection. I am very pleased that you mentioned the level of service and the friendliness of our staff. I would especially like to thank you for your comment regarding the wide selection of TV channels. Your kind comment is much appreciated, we would be happy if we could welcome you back to Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Immaculately clean, with modern, no-fuss décor. Lovely rooms with all amenities, including microwave, kettle, minibar, complimentary snacks, hairdryer, l'Occitane toiletries etc. Good buffet breakfast with a huge choice, including champagne. Roof terrace. Sauna and Jacuzzi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear „Helen C”,
I would like to thank you very much for you kind review about your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. It was my pleasure to read that you enjoyed the style and the overall cleanliness of our hotel. I was glad to see that you were happy with the amenities we provide in our rooms and with the small details and the little touches available for all of our guests. It was also great to note that you could make a good use of our roof-top terrace and enjoyed the little fitness area with the sauna and Jacuzzi. We would be honoured to welcome you back to Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
361 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an apartment that sleeps 4. The value was amazing £343 for two nights. The room was modern, clean, excellent bathroom, very comfy bed, fantastic shower, amenities were excellent in the room. It is in a great location. The thing that was above and beyond were the small details! This hotel really know how to make you feel valued, they go the extra mile (Sangera m, cookies, quote of the day, fruit, water). Staff are brilliant, cannot do enough for you. Fantastic place!! Good breakfast, modern and trendy! Loved it a definite recommendation!! Hope this is a useful review? Please let me know if you found it helpful?

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SakeSake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear „SakeSake”,
First and foremost let me thank you for the fabulous review you left on Tripadvisor about Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. It was my greatest pleasure to learn that you enjoyed every detail of your stay and we were able to provide an experience that exceeded your expectations and even more. It made me really proud to read that you felt valued and also noted the hard and efficient work of our staff. Our aim is to seek maximum guest satisfaction and getting such review makes us very happy. When planning your next visit to Budapest do not hesitate to contact me directly, we would be honoured to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
363 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a walking distance from Szent Istvan Church, Danube River, Szechenyi Bridge and many upscale stores of known brands. As it is in a pedestrian area, the second floor rooms are very silent. There is a solarium on the forth floor but the elevator doesn't reach this level and its rooms. We had a few problems like the shampoo dispenser that did not work properly and the exhaustion system of the bathroom that was very noisy and didn't turn off all night long and started to work by itself in the middle of the night. There was also an electric socket near the working table that did not work and they seemed not to be able to fix it even after I warned them about the problems after the first night. Breakfast is very complete and we could order many items in the menu besides what was already in display. As the space is small, they could also serve in the outside tables. The overall impression was good and probably I would recommend to a friend as all issues are easily solved.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear „Mixtraveling”,
I would like to thank you very much for your kind review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. I was happy to read that you were satisfied with the central location of the Hotel, and the calm neighbourhood granted you peaceful stay. As 100% guest satisfaction is our main goal we are very keen on fixing every issues reported by the guests. We have investigated the bathroom ventilation and we honestly do not know what the problem was. We found that there is no way for the ventilation to start by itself. Such issue was not reported ever since. We changed the dispenser immediately after we read this comment and we checked in every room every day since then not to happen again. Let me highlight that we really would like to sort things out. It was my pleasure to read that you also liked the rich buffet breakfast selection along with the items from the menu, and enjoyed sitting outside whilst having breakfast. I would like to thank you again for the honest review, your comment is appreciated. We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,548 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Property: Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Address: Hajos utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Budapest
#8 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#10 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy onsite parking for EUR 16/car/day. In the City Center in the heart of Budapest. Business facilities: free breakfast, free wifi internet access, providing computer or tablet to check your emails, free meeting room up to 6 persons, copy, fax, laptop, adapter, telephone charger, room service. Child friendly facilities like baby cot and chair, toys, baby buggy, baby sitting service. Free wellness area with fitness room, sauna and jacuzzi. Fully equipped kitchen, LCD television, air conditioning and free coffee and tea making facilities in every room and apartment. Pets are allowed. Wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Garden Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing