We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #10 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is near the opera and the famous Andrassy street in a pedestrian aerea.It is very close to the centre.The room was very nice and had a modern decoration with a flat tv and a mini bar.The spa was great and the staff very helpfull and friendly.The breakfast was very tasty!Everything was in a walking distance(if you like to walk ofcourse).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear „vivi s”,
Thank you very much for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. It is my pleasure to see that your overall experience was far better than you have expected. I am glad to read that you have liked our central location, the layout and the setup of our rooms and our little Fittness area as well. I would also like to thank you for the positive evaluation on the manner and attitude of the staff. As opinions on our breakfast are quite converse, I am proud to see that you were satisfied with our breakfast selection. Should you decide to return to Budapest in the future we would be more than happy to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,199
    356
    47
    7
    4
See reviews for
335
742
103
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Communication was very good starting with our initial booking questions through our final check out. Staff was very helpful (especially Kata) and interactions were concise.

Rates were on the upper end of what we were seeing but the promotional code that was available when booking combined with the free airport transfer offer and very gracious room upgrade, we received excellent value for our money.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Shower stall was on the smaller size (by American standards) only suited for one person.

The location is excellent . The city is very walkable. While the public transportation system is extensive with fair ease of use, soaking in the character of the city through walking the side streets was quite enjoyable. When tired or by preference, the hotel is located in between main transportation lines that provide service to/from the majority of areas we found ourselves in/around during our stay.

One of my favorite things about the hotel was the complimentary afternoon tea. Simple and enjoyable. When I was unable to get to the grocery store to buy some the staff gave me a complimentary bag. Sometimes it's the simple touches that make and experience unforgettable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quentin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear „Quentin B”,
I would like to thank you sincerely for your comprehensive comment you have put on Tripadvisor. As the head of front desk I am delighted to read that our reception staff did a good job, and treated you well from the very first moment. Our aim is to take care of each and every guest of ours. I will personally pass your compliments to Kata and to the rest of my colleagues as well. I am happy to learn that you could make a good use of the promotional code and the free Airport transfer we provide in case of direct reservations.
I am also glad to see that you found our room clean and comfortable and also enjoyed the central location of our Hotel. We hope that we can welcome you again during your next visit to Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is simply fantastic. The place is so clise of everything. The instalation is perfect and there are a very good atmosphere. People who wirks there are very symphatic and polite. The breakfast is the best that I had in Europe. I ate a wobderful bread, the olive bread. I will never forget it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Elbia M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear „Elbia M”,
I would like to thank you for your fabulous comment on Tripadvisor. I am proud to see that you have enjoyed the style and the layout of the rooms as well as the service of our staff, and you have particularly emphasized our breakfast selection. The olive bread you enjoyed the most was introduced only three month ago and we are planning to keep it for long .
I am also delighted to learn that Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments was able to give you an all-in buzz. Should you decide to visit Budapest again do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The room, the breakfast, the cleaning, the bed, the location and the service with smile - it was all superb.
We do recommend sharpenning the recommendations at the reception regarding restaurants and thermal baths.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear „MisterD78”,
I would like to thank you sincerely for the superb review you have posted on Tripadvisor. It was my pleasure to read your short but comprehensive comment. I am glad to read that you have liked and enjoyed your stay in terms of all the important aspects a guest has. I can assure you that we keep on working hard to provide high quality service to all our guests. Let me thank you again for your kind comment, I trust that we will have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I was staying there with a friend and our stay was a pleasure.
Here is why:
1) The staff was very helpful and friendly. Here are a few examples: we've got to the hotel too early for check-in so we left our bags there and went for a walk. They've tried to reach us a couple to times to let us know that we can check-in now (way ahead of official check-in time). Staff also shared some great tips on Hungarian food.
2) The room was nice and cozy. Although it was facing the street it was quiet.
3) Location is great - very close to Opera house and Andrassy street. It was in walking distance from main points (but both of us are into walking)
4) Food. We loved the breakfast. They have fresh juices and omelets (there is a note about it on all of the tables, you just need to ask)
5) other: bath robes (you need to ask for it), L'occitane toiletries, etc.

The only not so good thing is: the breakfast room is quite small.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekaterina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear „Ekaterina S”,
Let me thank you for taking time to leave your superb and very informative review for fellow Tripadvisor users. We just cannot emphasize enough how Guest service is important to us, so calling someone before check in time is one of the friendly touches we try to give in every possible way. I was pleased to read that you liked the style and comfort of your room, together with the quality toiletries we provide. As you have just described, the central location of the Hotel is ideal for walkers, 90% of the important sites are within 15 minutes on foot. I would also like to thank you for pointing out the freshly made omelettes and juices which we consider to be a great complement of our buffet. Should you decide to visit Budapest again please contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Myself and my friends thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Opera Garden Hotel. Our room was well appointed and spotlessly clean. The thing that really made this hotel stand out are the extra little touches, such as complimentary mulled wine in the evenings, chocolate Santas on the pillows on arrival and being provided with leaflets and maps in the rooms about Budapest. The location of this hotel was perfect for us, only a couple of minutes from Andrassy Way, which looked beautiful decorated for Christmas. It was about a 10 minute walk to the Christmas Markets and the main shopping area. We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear „Amy G”,
Thank you very much for your kind words and praise. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciated the „extra little touches”. Our entire staff work hard to make our guests’ every moment a memorable and unforgettable experience. If you enjoyed the winter season’s special atmosphere so much, you should return to us at Eater and witness the first touches of spring or for the 20. August, our most important national holiday, that electrifies the whole city and features a unique and duly world-famous firework display. Do not hesitate to contact us, we look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
614 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Having a sink, microwave and hotplates came as a welcome bonus.

Very clean, no dirt whatsoever.

Greg gave us a very friendly and professional welcome. Attila acted as an excellent concierge.

'Hot' breakfast items were lukewarm but the freshly cooked omelettes solved that problem.

Good location with metro only 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear “exeman”,
Thank you very much for you appraisal and personalised feedback. It is our top priority to do our utmost to make our guests’ time spent in our hotel perfect. I will let Houskeeping know how satisfied you were with their work. Thank you also for letting us know that breakfast was not as hot as it should have been, we have corrected this minor flaw and assure you that the next time you stay with us everything will be absolutely perfect indeed. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,776 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
1,008 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#12 of 334 in Budapest
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 334 in Budapest
2,207 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,134 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 334 in Budapest
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Property: Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Address: Hajos utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Budapest
#8 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy onsite parking for EUR 16/car/day. In the City Center in the heart of Budapest. Business facilities: free breakfast, free wifi internet access, providing computer or tablet to check your emails, free meeting room up to 6 persons, copy, fax, laptop, adapter, telephone charger, room service. Child friendly facilities like baby cot and chair, toys, baby buggy, baby sitting service. Free wellness area with fitness room, sauna and jacuzzi. Fully equipped kitchen, LCD television, air conditioning and free coffee and tea making facilities in every room and apartment. Pets are allowed. Wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Garden Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing