We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #10 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

After a lot of research we chose to stay here while in Budapest for New Years and we were not disappointed! After finally negotiating the Hungarian Public Transport system we found this hidden gem. Away from the busy tourist traps and situated barely 5-10 minutes’ walk from St Stephen’s Basilica and 15 from the Chain Bridge (dependent on how fast you walked), you couldn’t feel better located.

Right from the beginning the staff were very friendly and helpful, taking us to our room and showing us the facilities rather than giving us basic directions and sending us on our way. From 4.30pm complimentary mulled wine was on offer near the lift, which was perfect to thaw out! The staff recommended a number of fantastic restaurants to eat and made arrangements for us to get to the airport on New Year’s morning. We were going to use public transport but after the staff mentioned it was going to be very busy, we decided to take their advice. Lucky we did as it saved so much time and hassle and worked out only a little more expensive than the trains.

The breakfast was perfect, offering the right amount of quality Continental and cooked breakfast options so not to have too much waste, sparkling wine was also on offer which was a nice touch. The staff were very attentive and would arrange for anything if you wanted something that was not laid out on the counters, from a smoothie to a freshly cooked omelette.

The room was lovely and clean with plenty of space and lounge about in after a day wandering the city. We received our request of a top floor room which had a great view of the roof tops, it just added something extra to the room. It was a nice touch to provide a ‘quote for the day’ by the domestic worker after the rooms had been cleaned.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay at this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again if we return to Budapest.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArianaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,634)
There are newer reviews for Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Arrived Sunday 13 Jan: The warm welcome received helped us adjust to the snow and -2C temperatures on our late night arrival! The rooms were generous and stylishly appointed, kitchen facilities would be a real plus if staying more than 2 days! Breakfast is included, it is generous and has something for all tastes, even fussy children! The central location is perfect for exploring the city centre, the Basillica, and the Opera. Turn right on leaving the hotel and a short stroll takes you to the Opera metro stop, the Hop on Hop Off bus route and the municipal bus routes too.The staff are without exception professional courteous and available to advise on trips, restaurants etc The hotel also has a jacuzzi , steam room and spa.
Our stay was short but the hotel plays a big part in our decision to return to Budapest in the near future! J Bonner

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent location for this very comfortable hotel. From additional pillows, specially cooked omelettes and travel information, nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. The room and bathroom were both spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts catered for all tastes. Great facillities including a sauna and hot tub and nice touches like mulled wine on tap.Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Fabulous hotel. Very helpful staff, nice and tidy rooms. Spent 2 nights here at the beginning of January and would recommend it to friends. Great breakfast included. Location meant it was easy to get to any of the Budapest attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear”Samantha C”, I would like to thank you for placing your excellent feedback on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that your 2 nights at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments was a real experience and you were satisfied with services and facilities we provide. We would be delighted to accommodate you once again on your next trip to Budapest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We've just spent another two days at the Opera Garden Hotel in Budapest after already three previous stays. Everything is excellent: the location right in the cnter of the city, two hundred yards from Andrassy Street, the comfort of the rooms, the availability and competence of the staff, the fabulous breakfast. We'll come back as soon as possible.
Marie and Michel Moulin Lyon France

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moulinmichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Marie and Michel Moulin, I cannot praise enough your honorific review left on Tripadvisor. I was absolutely delighted to read that we could make your stay a memorable one again. Please let me know if I can assist you with any future reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Would give this hotel 4 1/2 stars if possible. Location was great, staff was very helpful, and breakfast was just fine.Bed was comfy, pillows great and it was very clean. We have no complaints at all. We were also able to take advantage of the current offer of free pick up from the airport to the hotel which was a great perk since we had been enroute to Budapest for over 24 hours and it made the transfer so easy and uncomplicated. My husband left his cc at the desk at check out and they notified us by email that this had happened or we might not have noticed or not know exactly where he had lost it. We would stay here again if we are fortunate enough to return to this lovely city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tunasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 3 days in Budapest over Christmas 2012. We were delighted with the Opera Garden Hotel, super clean, very friendly and excellent staff, at every level. The hotel couldn't be in a better position. Prices were more than reasonable and there was a welcome bottle of wine waiting for us on the night we arrived. A1 hotel and stay. Would highly recommend.
Ros and Ian Baxter

Room Tip: We had a suite with 2 bedrooms, a lovely bathroom and neat well equipped kitchen.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear”Rosi B” I would like to thank you for your honorific comment left on Tripadvisor. It was a real pleasure to read that your stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments was a memorable experience. I was also glad to find out that you concerned our location perfect and found hotel staff to be both helpful and hospitable. I trust that we can welcome you back next Christmas again or even on an earlier occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 332 in Budapest
4,826 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 332 in Budapest
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 332 in Budapest
2,447 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 332 in Budapest
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Address: Hajos utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Budapest
#8 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $111 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy onsite parking for EUR 16/car/day. In the City Center in the heart of Budapest. Business facilities: free breakfast, free wifi internet access, providing computer or tablet to check your emails, free meeting room up to 6 persons, copy, fax, laptop, adapter, telephone charger, room service. Child friendly facilities like baby cot and chair, toys, baby buggy, baby sitting service. Free wellness area with fitness room, sauna and jacuzzi. Fully equipped kitchen, LCD television, air conditioning and free coffee and tea making facilities in every room and apartment. Pets are allowed. Wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Garden Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing