We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #10 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Second year in a row staying here, both times in early December. Staff are great to deal with, and the rooms / accoms are clean and extremely functional. They provided excellent directions to a laundromat, and extra towels when asked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear”MattJ”, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us again and promote Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments on Tripadvisor. It is always a great pleasure to welcome our previous guests back. I was delighted to read that your last visit became also a great experience and you were also satisfied with our services and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    351
    47
    7
    4
See reviews for
319
737
102
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We found the staff friendly and helpful and they all spoke English very well. The location was good, being only 2 blocks from the Opera metro stop. Breakfast offerings were adequate and tasted fine; however, the food and beverage buffet area could get crowded as this area was not very large.

As far as the room, the bathroom was very small; only one person at a time could be in it. The shower was also small. While the size of the bathroom and shower really weren't a problem for us, people who are very overweight, elderly or with disabilities might have difficulty. Storage was also a problem as there was no dresser and the closet configuration was not conducive to storing flat items; we hung up what we could on the 6 hangars provided, but basically lived out of the suitcases for the 4 days we stayed. We also noted that the hard rubber door stop was located in the floor in an area where it would be quite easy to stub or break a toe. We ended up putting a chair over it so we wouldn't run into it. The room did face a courtyard and so was very quiet, even with the window open.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before accepting it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear”JimmyH70”, I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments on Tripadvisor. We value all our guest comments. I was delighted to read that you found hotel staff to be both helpful and hospitable and concerned our location good. It was also a pleasure to be heard that our breakfast products have met your expectations. Regarding your evaluation about the room you stayed in I was disappointed to read that we could not succeed your expectations. I do apologize for any inconveniences that this and the lack of storage space caused you. I also would like to thank you for your remark in relation to the door stop what we will certainly immediately improve. Once again I do appreciate for all your effort and time letting us know our shortcomings and trust that we will have another opportunity to accommodate you in a room that rather suits your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in December 12 for a business trip to the city. The room was good although a slight smell initially but didn't detract from my stay. Breakfast was good with coffee from a machine. So far the best hotel coffee i have had in budapest. Staff helpful and friendly. The room was fitted with a mini kitchen with 2 heating rings. Microwave oven and a sink. Fridge. Hot mulled wine provided in the hotel lobby each evening - a nice touch! I would return to this hotel on my next trip to Bp.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristMM1X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear”TouristMM1X”, I would like to thank you for sharing your positive evaluation on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you found Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments a good place to stay on a business trip. It was also a pleasure to be heard that you were satisfied with our breakfast products, especially with the coffee and also with your room and its amenities. Please accept my apology for the smell you experienced in the room and for any inconvenience this may caused you. I informed the Housekeeping Manager to check all rooms avoiding similar situation in the future. I trust that we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments within the hotel. It was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The staff were all friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast was a buffet style and there was a good choice. There was even gluwein on tap for the guests in the evening which was a nice touch.
The hotel is situated in a pedestrianised street so wasn't noisy at all. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller67Chorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear”Traveller67Chorley”, I would like to thank you for recommending us to other travelers on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments and were satisfied with your room and the breakfast we provide. It was also a pleasure to be heard that you could take advantage of the complimentary mulled wine and concerned our location good. I trust that we will have the opportunity to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of December and were very impressed. We were in room 102 and found it fine- really clean and a comfortable bed. The view of the pesdetrianised street was nice too. Breakfast was really good and varied buffet. I would recommend a trip to the opera- we watched The Nutcracker .The only slight negative was what appeared to be complimentary water and chocolate on the side was actually part of the mini bar. It would have been a nice touch to have this as complimentary.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear”Iawa2000”, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. I was glad to read that you had a pleasant stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. It was also a pleasure to be heard that you were satisfied with your room and its cleanliness moreover concerned the breakfast products good. I am sorry for any misunderstanding regarding the chocolate and big bottle of water placed on the minibar. We try to advertise their prices as clear as possible. I trust that apart from this we have met your expectations and will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is very modern and ideally located to the Metro. There are plenty of Restaurants and Bars around and Andrássy Avenue is only a 2 minute walk away. The complimentary Champagne at Breakfast and Hot Mulled wine on an evening is a very nice touch. The hotel staff are very helpful and they even have an android app so you can message Reception with a message using the free WiFi - this saved me having to go to Reception at the risk of letting my Mulled Wine get cold! Would highly recommend this hotel. Budapest is a great place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear”JBTraveller2012”, I would like to thank you for posting your excellent review on Tripadvisor. I was glad to read that you concerned our location good and found hotel staff hospitable. It was also a pleasure to be heard that you could take advantage of the complimentary extra touches and the mobile application we provide. I would like to thank you again for recommending Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Good location just over two blocks from the National Opera. The hotel is in excellent condition with clean, comfortable rooms and an interesting layout for each of the floors where the connecting hallway runs on a newly constructed external balcony/walkway. We loved the free warm mulled spice wine by the elevator and the mixed full English/continental breakfast (eggs made to order, bacon, toast/breads, fruits, cheese). Greg on the front desk was particularly helpful. The US style hot tub and European sauna melted the day's stress away. Price and value for money was spot on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear”NathanHe”, I would like to thank you for posting your fantastic review on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments and concerned our location good. It was also a pleasure to be heard that our rooms have met your expectations and were satisfied with the services and the hospitality during your stay. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,388 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,698 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
2,167 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Property: Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Address: Hajos utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Budapest
#8 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#9 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy onsite parking for EUR 16/car/day. In the City Center in the heart of Budapest. Business facilities: free breakfast, free wifi internet access, providing computer or tablet to check your emails, free meeting room up to 6 persons, copy, fax, laptop, adapter, telephone charger, room service. Child friendly facilities like baby cot and chair, toys, baby buggy, baby sitting service. Free wellness area with fitness room, sauna and jacuzzi. Fully equipped kitchen, LCD television, air conditioning and free coffee and tea making facilities in every room and apartment. Pets are allowed. Wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Garden Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing