We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were a group of 14 French people...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boom & Brass

Boom & Brass
Ranked #458 of 3,043 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Ile de Madère
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We were a group of 14 French people...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

... and we had one of the best diner in Budapest in lovely BOOM & BRASS ! The ambiance is smart casual, the decoration very colorful and of good taste and the service is perfect ! They have a very large menu and we all enjoy a diferente dish. All EXCELLENT and beautifuly served. My friends had lovely wines and we all enjoyed the life music of their DJ. I've personaly being there several time with my wife during the last years and we where ALWAYS very happy with this gorgeous restaurante.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Coralain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    227
    100
    53
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Give It A Miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Tourist trap. Uninterested staff, ordinary food and a BIG bill at end.
Go to McDonalds or Burger King nearby and get a decent feed at a fraction of cost!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Journeyboomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rip off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Food ok but when the bill was presented they had added 2800 forints and became abusive when they were asked what the addition was for. The answer was "the house" and this was accompanied by the advice that "you should tip the waiter as this extra is for the house". Would definitely give this one a miss!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice lunch experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

While visiting the Pest side of Budapest... We didn't know what we wanted to eat. So we looked at Boom and Brass' menu, which we were very pleased, with/enjoyed:
- Lunch menu choices and beverages
- Great bread (generally excellent in Europe)
- Presentation (i.e., for lunch items)
- Atmosphere (inside was like a Martini bar) with the Pest shopping square just outside the glass walled restaurant
- Outdoor seating option (but it was too cool for us that day!)
- Various credit cards accepted
- Smoke free (inside), which can be a problem in many European restaurants if you have an issue with this.
In general... We found it hard to get your bill immediately after a meal in Hungary. You may have to ask once or twice

About a block from the Hard Rock Cafe, Budapest...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daddio54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This place pass the leg on customers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Bad place to come on Budapeste,they abuse the customers, dont come here, not honest people, they are not politécnicos site customers

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Watchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boom & Brass also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Boom & Brass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing