We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious duck..”
Review of M. Restaurant

M. Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 3,234 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French, Hungarian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious duck..”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is where I have had the best duck confit I have ever eaten, so good I returned three times in six days. Simple decor with line drawing sketches on the walls, candles, basic elegant wooden furniture - simply charming. Decent wine by the glass too. I dined solo & was welcomed with good service & delicious food. The portions are on the fashionably small size but leave room for pudding too..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SiAlLl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    175
    34
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic food, especially vege. ”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited on recommendation of a tour guide.

Was not disappointed. Attentive and knowledgeable service, and patient with recommending wine and explaining dishes.

The food was excellent. I had two traditional hungarian dishes, my partner had a 'guacamole' for starters which turned out to be a fresh, zesty guacamole salad followed by a surprise 'veggie of the day' main. This turned out to be a selection of carefully spiced pulses (lentils and chickpeas) with capsicums and carrots. Sooo tasty!

The traditional hungarian dishes were fantastic. The duck leg with pear was excellent. Highly recommend.

The coffee was also very good.

Quaint, quirky, great value and strong character of the owners. Go if those things appeal.

We loved this place!

Helpful?
Thank Ozmanius
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
“Great food, fantastic atmosfere”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Absolutely fantastic place, nice and friendly owners. Food is excellent and the restaurant has a nice atmosfere. Went back here even the day after even though we first had dinner at another restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lars3530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“original and nice, but just a small diner in the end”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The food is not bad, but not special either. Let's say it is OK, given the price, which is not high. The plus is in the location, near the Music School/Listz building, and in the cozy atmosphere, just few tables and a frendly feeling. But nothing more than that. For young people, or alternatives and artists. One table outside, in the summer

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erniborto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food in Budapest”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have been to M restaurant several times and we always had a nice time and an amazing dinner. They have very delicious modern Hungarian cuisine. My boyfriend really liked the beef stew and they always have a good vegetarian option as well which is quite rare in Budapest (and even worse in the countryside). The service is very friendly and we love the slightly bohemian deco. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M. Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to M. Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing