We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful RiverRide”
Review of RiverRide

RiverRide
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.55*
and up
Budapest Sightseeing Tour by Land and Water
Ranked #58 of 302 Tours in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: First in Europe!Budapest – as you can only see it with us Until now you could choose between touring our beautiful capital on four wheels or marvelling at the city from the deck of a pleasure boat. Now you don’t need to choose: RiverRide is a special sightseeing tour on which you can see the sights of Budapest from a comfortable seat, first along its busy streets, and then, from one second to the next – to the gasps of some of your fellow travellers – you splash into the lapping water of the river.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Vantaa, Finland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful RiverRide”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

As we arrived to Budapest we saw a bus sailing on Donau and could not believe our eyes, it really looked fun and unbelievable! The next day our friends had arranged us a city sightseeing and we did not that they had planned it on the RiverRide Floating Bus.

This trip was 1 hrs 45 minutes long and we enjoyed every second of it. First we took a bus ride in the city and saw the most important sights in the city centre. As we arrived to the river bank by bus, it started approaching a ramp by the river. Our bus drove into the river and turned into a Floating Bus. Music by Strauss was played at the same time when there was a big splash when the bus hit the water, it was hilarious. As our bus was sailing on the river we saw all the main attractions from the riverview, which was a wonderful exprience.

We have participated in many guide tours and can really say that our tourguide was excellent, she spoke fluent English and German and had a nice sense of humour when she was telling her stories about Budapest and Hungary.

We definitely recommend this tour to everybody, it is an experience which we will always remember!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Erja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    96
    33
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silsoe
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Is it a bus, is it a boat??”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Our friend had organised this trip and we thought we were going on an ordinary city tour and, as the day was really warm, were a bit disappointed he hadn't gone for an open top bus. This proved to be far more interesting and novel! The guide was excellent and clearly fluent and articulate in a number of languages as the commentary is adapted to suit the tourists on each trip. The journey on land took in the key sites of Budapest but the river part of the journey probably gives you a better feel for the city with its two distinct and very different parts. This is not the cheapest way to see Budapest but perfect if you want a good overview at the start of a holiday or city break, plus the novelty of a bus that suddenly goes off road and into the river! I agree with another review that suggests that this might not hold the interest of younger children (the boy in front of us was about 9 and was clearly very bored apart from when we splashed into the Danube and when we emerged back onto land again). Would certainly recommend, if only for the fun of seeing the expressions on people's faces when you go in and out of the water!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“different feel”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

nice ride. trip by land does not cover all the sights . trip by river very nice.
a bit expensiive.
better to take apart tour bus and cruise

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bimba771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“RiverRide - must do in Budapest - good value”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

RiverRide was recommended by a local friend. The video on their site had me intrigued but the cost (~ 34 USD, Euro 30) made me wonder if we should opt for the Hop on/off type. I am extremely glad we chose RiverRide. This was the second best experience in Budapest, following the Castle District experience – (which you will find to be unimaginable. )
We have not experienced anything so unique. It is fun, educational, informative and a good value. Don’t let the price make you hesitate – while it may feel pricey it’s an excellent value for the experience.
They were very responsive to my email enquiries. Adrienn, the tour guide, is a lovely individual and made the tour very enjoyable. I loved the information she shared. The bus driver was very polite – I appreciated that he was so courteous to the pedestrians. It’s these little things that make me proud to have engaged their service. The “captain” (he drives the bus in the water) was a fun individual as well. Our little toddler loved the “splash” in the water and was thrilled to be in the water. The staff were very friendly and attentive towards him, which made it more memorable for us as new parents.
You can purchase tickets online or right next to the Four Seasons Hotel, near the Danube River.
I highly recommend this tour. Quazi and Habib family – Bay Area, California

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoxySteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“A good way to see the city and Danube”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Some of you may be familiar with the 'Duck' tours that take place in many cities and this is not so different but is more informative than fun. The Boat/ Coach which I have named the Boach is a fun way to see your surroundings and learn some history into the bargain. You start off on dry land and then enter the Danube after about 45 mins. The guide knows her stuff and the tour is conducted in both English and German which is you have both nationalities on board can make it a little hard to follow but no drama. We did not book in advance but it was February, I would expect you may need to in the busier months. This is a unique experience that is well worth it, certainly makes a change from an open top bus,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank alyson.johnson-smith_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RiverRide also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to RiverRide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing