We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”
Review of Restaurant Janos

Restaurant Janos
Ranked #184 of 3,677 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

We had a large group dinner at Janos, and the meal was excellent in every way. Goulash soup was tasty, as were the game tarragon and pumpkin soups. Main courses were all incredible including chicken paprikash, cottage cheese noodles with bacon, the massive pork schnitzel, beef cheeks, duck, and grilled steak. Every one was delicious! Service was attentive, and the value for fine dining was excellent. They also have an assortment of local wines. A hidden Hungarian gem!

1  Thank JayZee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeney A, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Restaurant Janos, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2018

Dear Guest,

It's a pleasure to read your nice comment on our restaurant. We are happy that you found our dishes outstanding, and you were satisfied with the service as well.

We truly hope that we can welcome oyu soon again.

Best regards,
The team of János Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 245 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is because of the salt. The dishes that served my was to salty for my taste... Otherwise, the atmosphere is calm and easy - very nice. The service is high class. Suggestions from the waiter just works. Recommend.

1  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeney A, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Restaurant Janos, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking time to give us a feedback. We really appreciate this. It’s a pleasure to read your positive comment on our staff and our service.
We hope that you soon again.

Best regards,
The team of János Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2018

Really nice place, perfect and delicious food (we tasted Hungarian tranditional food), kind and helpful staff, good prices. We will certainly visit this restaurant, when we will visit Budapest again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lulinka1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeney A, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Restaurant Janos, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking time give us a feedback. It's a pleasure to read your comment on our restaurant. We are happy that you were satisfied with the staff and also with the meal you had here.

We hope that we can welcome you soon again as our guest.

Best wishes,
Anna Jeney
Hotel Charles***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2018

Unique menu of trully local favorites...fantastic and fun-filled individual service with attention to detail....good value...big portions, excellent selection of Hungarian spirits and wine/beer.. :-) - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barnakahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeney A, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Restaurant Janos, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2018

Dear Barnakahuna,

thank you for taking time to share your experience about our restaurant.

We are really happy that you were pleased by our service and also by the meal and drinks you had here.

We hope that we can welcome you soon again.

Best wishes,
Anna Jeney
János Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2017

I stayed at the hotel which owns the restaurant itself but went on a dinner to taste the local Hungarian food. Which I found delightful at Janos Etterem (restaurant). I ate a delicious goulash soup and a paprika chicken both perfectly served and fast.
The prices are quite reasonable and even if the restaurant is not downtown, it's preferable to take a quick detour from Vaci Utca touristic places to enjoy real Hungarian (it's 5 minutes by bus from the Vaci utca bus station - lines 8E or 110).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clawback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeney A, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Restaurant Janos, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2018

Dear Clawback,

thank you for taking time to rate us! It's a pleasure to read your positive thoughts and your nice comment on the meal you had here.

We hope that we can welcome you soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Jeney
János Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Janos also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Restaurant Janos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing