We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good experience”
Review of Restaurant Janos

Restaurant Janos
Ranked #178 of 3,108 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“a good experience”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

really good food, Outstanding service, good size portions, beautiful presentation of meals, very tasty! A reasonable price! Еlegant desserts.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VavilovaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    61
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enschede, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Very nice dinners”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We did have dinner for 3 times during our stay at the Charles Hotel in the same building.
Very nice staff; correct, polite, very friendly and helpfull.
Nice ambiance with privacy for the tables, airco and a terras.
The diner was tastefull and so is the Hungarian (house)wine.
( why can't we buy Hungarian wine in the Netherlands..?)

Very good price quality ratio

We hope to come back soon in the Janos Restaurant!

Family ten Boske,

Holland

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bert tB t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanko, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As good as the hotel”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our hotel restaurant during the stay. We enjoyed it very much. Both ate there and drank there during the evenings. All good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could Go Back and Eat Again & Again”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The wait staff are friendly, courteous and knowledgeable - the food is absolutely delicious. Our daughter said the goulash was the best she had during our stay in Budapest, and my taste buds developed an immediate love for the creamy white bean soup with smoked ham and ravioli. During our first, second and third visit, I also enjoyed the veal paprikas with what the restaurant calls egg gnocchi, but in fact are actually Hungarian homemade noodles - so, so yummy! In addition, the prices were extremely reasonable; a definite bonus!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NagyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wanted to take the chef home”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We ate dinner at Janus four nights while we stayed at Hotel Charles, because the menu, the food and the service were outstanding and the price was very good! After the first night we decided there was no point going anywhere else as we were so impressed with the variety of the menu, the quality of the ingredients and the brilliant cooking and service! We have been travelling for 3 months, we are on a budget and the food here is 5 star food at a 2 star price

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Janos also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Restaurant Janos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing