We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay! Unforgettable weekend”
Review of Actor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Actor Hotel
Ranked #254 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spend a worderful weekend! The hotel is located close to the city centre. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is friendly and cooperative, willing to help us at any time. In my next visit to Budapest I will certainly stay again there!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichalPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear MichalPa,

We are honoured to be your first reviewed hotel and we do love your comments about our location, rooms, staff and of course the 5 star rating. Thank you.
I'm delighted to read your promise to stay with us again, whenever visiting Budapest and i certainly hope you do!

Kind Regards,
Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Actor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 273 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great hotel, Mr and Mrs Kovats are the best... great breakfast, clean rooms... the balkony we had was also amazing... very friendly people. No noises from other rooms, great matress to sleep. The location was also very good. There was a mini market at the corner of the street that was open till late, a nice pub and a great burger place all within 50 m from the hotel. Overall a great choice for us, a bunch of 18 people that we all had the same opinion about the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Naso,

Thank you very much for this outstanding review! I'm glad to know that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us. I'm happy to read that you were able to appreciate the convenience of our location. Please kindly allow me to share the pub's name: Maestro Café & Pub and the burger's name: The Black Cab Burger to help our future guests identify them.

I'm so glad your group found us and i can’t wait to have all of you back!

Kind Regards,
Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed in the Actor for three nights. Hosts were amazing and really looked after our every need. Great spot near some nice pubs and cafes and very clean inside. Facilities were good with nice sized rooms.Excellent rates too.

We thought the Front of House Manager ( Kovatz or Kosovo ) was especially attentive and he went out of his way to get taxis or to provide us with a recommendation for food and facilities in teh area. Highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure if there was a gym or a pool ( as i was out enjoying the city during my stay )
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceri H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Ceri,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share such kind words about your stay at Actor Hotel Budapest. It is our pleasure to satisfy our guests and even to surprise them. I am glad that you appreciated our services. I'm still trying to find out from where it came to you to give me the nickname of Kosovo, but if it's easier for you to call me like that, i will accept it :).

Thank you for the recommendation!

We would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel!

Kind Regards,
Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

A great two nights spent here . Ideal location! Rooms were very spacious, modern and clean. Staff were friendly and professional and could not do more to make us feel welcome. 100% recommend this hotel for your next visit!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank gemmac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear gemmac83,

I would like to thank you for your very kind words about our hotel. I'm extremely glad to read that you were fully satisfied with our services. Many thanks for 100 % recommending our hotel.

It is our delight to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you again at Actor Hotel Budapest!

Kind Regards,
Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived to find the hotel full of noisy foreign students. There was no restaurant service available unless we wanted the set meal being prepared for the students (some boring pasta dish)so we had to go out looking for supper as soon as we had checked in. Very little choice in nearby district. The room was NOT soundproof and the students didn't go to bed all night!
The second day we got back to find water coming through the ceiling in the shower room, (which they said they knew about) yet we were not offered a new room until the following morning when water had started coming into the bedroom too!
In both rooms the plug on the wash basin was not working. The twin beds were not fastened together, so they moved apart in the night. There were no facilities for making tea etc in the rooms and we didn't see the bar open all the time we were there. We didn't try the restaurant again, but there appeared to be a choice of 3 uninspired set menus only, not the charcoal grill etc advertised.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Mary,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay for the most part and we failed to provide you excellent service during your first Budapest visit.

I would also like to apologise for the issue with the restaurant on your arrival day. Usually we have 3 weekly set menus (Chef offers) as you wrote and a regular seasonal á la carte menu card which you can always find on our website. Anyway i've forwarded your criticism to our executive Chef to ensure that corrective actions are already in place.

We couldn't provide you immediately a new room as normally we do in such circumstances because we were fully booked on your 1st two nights without any other option left for us. As soon as one of our room released we offered you free upgrade to a Superior one as a small compensation for the inconvenience caused.

At least i'm glad to inform you that we have already fixed the plug on the wash basin. Thank you once again for calling our attention to it.

Please accept again my deepest apologies and hope you will give us an other chance to prove that our mission is to provide high quality service to our wonderful guests.

Warmest Regards,
Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We just got back from Actor hotel yesterday and had a really good experience.

The staff at the hotel was really helpful, all our questions got answered and wishes fulfilled. Before the trip, I was planning a surprise dinner to my boyfriend on the arrival - thank you, Konstantine, for a smooth and fast communication - the dinner was great!

The free shuttle to and from the airport is the best - no hassle whatsoever + it was a quick, 20min drive.

On the arrival, it was quite dark - most of the lights in the reception and around were not on (to save money?) and it didn't feel that welcoming. In the morning, it was much better and we could see it all.

Breakfast is nice with a good variety and one morning we ordered it to our room with no extra cost. Also, ironing was done on our request.

A great location - by metro, max 7min and you are in the center or by tram (which stop is even closer).

Eventhough we asked for a courtyard view which got confirmed by Konstantin, we did not get it, which was okay, as we weren't in the hotel that much anyway. Also, if you have a tablet, not a PC, then try to get a room closer to the router (so the connection is more stable).
A great spacious rooms with huge beds and big showers!

A lot of little shops and eating places around, on both right and left sides when leaving the hotel.

Thank you, Konstantin, and all the other staff - we had a great 5 nights stay and will definitely come back! :)

Room Tip: around the elevator where the router is
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greete01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Greete,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Actor Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience and your stay with us.

Please accept my deepest apologies for not receiving the requested room with courtyard view and let me provide you with an explanation of why. Accidentally the advance reserved room by me got a shower renovation early morning on your arrival day and unfortunately the ink drying time was much longer than it supposed to be and we expected, therefore my colleague had to reallocate you to an other room before half hour of your expected arrival. The remained free rooms with courtyard view were on the top floor (only rooftop rooms with small windows, which are not perfect for long stays like yours and for having a romantic candlelight dinner in it), therefore as a second option she gave you a Superior room (free upgrade) on the 5th floor away from all the other rooms to be as quiet as possible. I would like to apologize again for any inconvenience this may caused you. It certainly does not reflect the standards in which we pride ourselves here.

I am glad you will be back again, hopefully we will see you soon!

Warmest Regards,
Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in a triple room which was spacious and warm with a nice bathroom. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the reception staff helpful and friendly. Great location - about 5 mins walk from the nearest metro stop, less than a minute to a 24 hour supermarket and a really nice bar/coffee bar.

Room Tip: Our triple room was lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear family3,

I appreciate you taking the time to provide such a positive feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the service, the room, the location and you loved your stay with us.

We truly hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
0.4 mi away
City Inn
City Inn
#89 of 333 in Budapest
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Di Verdi Imperial Hotel
Di Verdi Imperial Hotel
#144 of 333 in Budapest
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#131 of 333 in Budapest
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rubin Wellness & Conference Hotel Budapest
0.5 mi away
Rila Hotel
Rila Hotel
#243 of 333 in Budapest
89 reviews
1.6 mi away
Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actor Hotel

Address: Viola utca 10-14., Budapest 1094, Hungary (Formerly Actor Business Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $55 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actor Hotel Budapest enjoys a peaceful location close to the Danube river and Petőfi bridge, just blocks away from the Grand Boulevard. Klinikák metro station (M3 line) and the main tram line (No. 4-6) are only 500 m away.We ensure free transfer from and to the airport on prior request in case of minimum 3 nights continuous stay. This service is available between: 7:00-22:00 everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing