We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - Highly Recommend”
Review of Actor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Actor Hotel
Ranked #256 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Fantastic hotel and friendly helpfull staff - all you need to is ask and they are more than happy to help.

Before we even arrived in the hotel the customer service provided by Konstantin was fantastic! I emailed to reconfirm my online booking and arrange an airport transfer and within an hour I had a friendly welcoming response. What a brilliant first impression.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were promply checked in and when we opened the door to our room it was immaculate and very spacious.

To walk to the city centre does take about half an hour so make sure the first thing you do is get a metro pass from the hotel reception. The nearest metro station is only a 10 min walk and you can zip around the city with ease. It might be an idea for reception staff upon check in to offer some advice on the metro and the passes available.

I must say a huge thank you to Eva who kindly called helped us figure out which McDonalds we had left our bag with brand new hats in (our own fault for grabbing a quick bite to eat before catching a tour bus!!). Eva called the McDonalds on our behalf and had the bag put to one side so we collect it.

All in all a fantastic hotel with friendly staff only too willing to help.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Gill,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we met your high expectations during your stay in our Actor Hotel Budapest.
It is truly an honor for me to read that you found my customer service to be fantastic, i highly appreciate it.

Regarding your idea about the metro and the passes available in Budapest i'm happily inform you that i've already set up a brochure with all the information that a tourist needs. It's available for everyone at the reception. I truly hope it will help for our future guests and also our reception staff to give advice.

I have passed on your thanks to Éva and shared your kind words with the rest of the team here in the hotel.

I wish you a Merry Christmas and I hope that you both return to us on your next trip to our beautiful city Budapest.

Sincerely,
Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 277 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

We've been in Budapest from November 16th - 18th for a city tour and booked online this hotel with a special rate, without reading any recommendation...as we planned to see the city and to go shopping we wanted cheapest but nice place for stay...and this was that place...modern hotel with very kind staff who fluently speaks English...Our room was spacious and clean, double bed with working table, make up table with big mirror, sofa and 2 armchairs, fully equipped bathroom and room climate control, big flat screen...though you can watch tv if you know Hungarian or Spanish, as all channels are in Hungarian except TVE...and there is a laptop sized safe...they have small underground parking...the hotel is on the Pest side and only few minutes away from metro blue line, 4 stations from center of the city..every recommendation for this hotel

Room Tip: Hotel is in urban and very quiet quarter, so every room is quiet and peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borisav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Borisav,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. Reviews such as yours without a doubt delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our services.

I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay at Actor Hotel Budapest.

I wish you a wonderful Christmas and hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Sincerely,
Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

6 female friends staying for the first time in Budapest for 3 nights.26-28 Oct. 12. We picked this hotel based on TA reviews and experienced exactly what was said previously by other visitors. Very clean, spacious rooms, hairdryers, Warm. Comfy beds etc. Very helpful at reception, great breakfast choice. The hotel offered an inclusive airport pickup from the airport if staying 3nights or more. (Advertised on the Hotels website) and for a very reasonable price they also took us back. Despite previous comments, as 6 women we felt safe in the area walking together to the metro or trams. both a short walk. Definitely recommend the Goulash soup at the hotel. We also found some good places to eat locally, particularly the Mester (turn right out of hotel, to main rd, turn right, cross over and some way up with wooden shack for further seating outside) and same but further on up to main junction cross over, walk ahead in same direction and its on your left a great italian trattoria Benicia. The shower heads as mentioned by others were an issue but everything else was great. We would stay at the Actor again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank hubs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post your review of Actor Hotel Budapest on Tripadvisor.
I'm extremely happy to read that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found your room to be very comfortable. Thank you also for your comment on our breakfast offering, it's great to see that we could improve it in the right way. It will be a great pleasure also to share your kind remarks of Goulash soup with our Chef.
It is also fabulous to read that you were satisfied with the location and found it safe, especially as a woman.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Actor Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Good very clean hotel reasonably approx 10 to 15 minutes walk to the metro and the trams.good spacious rooms shower and toilet in excellent condition.Continental breakfast good variety.Liked their bacon and sausages.Staff friendly,knowledgeable and helpful.
No complaints and enjoyed my stay there.
Would i recommend it absolutely.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to be of similar quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank douglasCountyArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for such a positive feedback about your recent stay with us! I'm happy to read you praising words of our hotel's facilities,services and staff! It will be a great pleasure to share your kind remarks with them. It is great that we managed to contribute to a memorable experience.

I hope that we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Actor Hotel Budapest very soon.

Sincerely,
Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

we had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Just 29 minutes walk from the centre of Budapest. There is a tram around the corner but we felt safe and enjoy walking. The staff are all friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was fabulous - our thanks to Actor for the birthday upgrade and champagne. I was given birthday greeting even when picked up at the airport - how good is that? I recommend this 'little gem' to anyone staying in Budapest.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gitamick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you so much for having taken the time to leave your generous feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Hotel Actor!

It was indeed a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and especially for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

I am extremely happy to note that we succeed to surprise you with the birthday greeting and the special in room amenity (many thanks to your husband who notified us before your arrival) and as a result had a memorable experience at the Hotel!

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

ACTOR HOTEL.
 
I completely disagree with the comments of ??????
We stayed at the Actor Hotel from the 12 to the15 September 2012.
We booked a standard double/twin room. It was a large modern room well equipped with settee, three comfortable chairs, coffee table, writing desk, and modern TV. The only English channel was Sky News. (But we do not go away to watch TV). There were no Tea/Coffee making facilities, but this is not unusual in Europe.
The bathroom was a good size, equipped with a hair drier and a large shower. The towels were changed every day.
It was a continental style breakfast with a good selection of the usual meats, cheese, fruit etc and fresh rolls or bread, there was also bacon, scrambled eggs. and sausages.
The staff were all very helpful and spoke good English.
The hotel is situated out of town, This is reflected in the price, but it is only a ten minute walk to nearest Metro station, and only three stops/five minutes on the train from the edge of town or four stops to the centre. No changes are necessary. The trains run every five minutes during the day and every ten minutes in the evening. The big bonus is that it is free to anyone over 65 years old. (Just show a UK driving license or any other official looking document!!). We used the Metro quite a lot, even late at night and felt quite safe, as we did walking to and from the hotel.
 
We would certainly recommend it to friends and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin room as usually the rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

I highly appreciated your generous feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Actor Hotel Budapest. I am glad that we managed to meet your expectations and that you were pleased with the services provided by our staff. There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like yours to continue providing services beyond our guest's expectations.

I appreciate your kind words regarding our room, bathroom and the quality of breakfast. Thank you for bringing up to our attention the missing Tea/Coffee making facilities, which we have taken good note and i truly hope that it will be one of the nearest development.

It was great to read your opinion about the location. As you mentioned the hotel situated about 500 m from the edge of city centre and 2 km far from the main tourist area (3-4 stops with metro depending where would you like to go). Anyone can find detailed information about the public transportation of Budapest with schedules on the official site: bkv.hu.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

We look forward to welcome you back whenever your travels take you to Budapest!

Sincerely,
Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel from the 6-9 September. Room was good, no tea/coffee facilities available, no iron or ironing board, hairdryer available, but shower facilities were poor, only a bracket on the wall that would take the shower head and did not spray on yourself only into the shower curtain. There was no information in the room as to how to travel around the City, apparently there were too many languages to cater for, we believe they only had to cater for German, Engligh and Hungarian. On the internet information before we travelled it stated you were only five minutes away from the City which was why we chose this Hotel, unfortunately not from the Tourist Centre of the City Centre but to reaching the outer boundary of the City. To walk from the Hotel to the Central Market Hall which we believe was the City Centre took 30 minutes. From the Buda side there is a road tunnel with a stone monument which is the acutal centre point from which all measurement is taken as to accessing Budapest. We had a meal on the first night, which took nearly an hour to serve, unfortunately the potatoes were cold and Paul's veal shnitzel was overcooked. We obviously did not return to the Restaurant for the next two nights. We are not aware of health and safety rules in Budapest but there were not instructions on the rear of our hotel room door as to which way to exit if a fire occurred. Also there was no advice as to how to travel around the City, ie which was the nearest tram to take from the Hotel, how do we pay for travel, we went armed with a local map from the Hotel and found our own way around which meant plenty of wallking. We agree with another review that the toaster needs servicing, the squeal was still in existence. Breakfast was perfect with the usual continental cuisine. WiFi was freely available but I agree that it was not efficient, very slow. There were also too many homeless people around the area of the Hotel, begging from tourists, even whilst seated having a meal at a Restaurant. Eva, Receptionist, was very helpful, also the son of the Hotel Director, they both spoke excellent English, we pointed out our problems to Eva upon our departure and she apologised profusely. We would not wish to stay at this Hotel again due to the lack of tourist information, we appreciate the exercise to find our way about, but they did not have leaflets available in the room or reception area and shower facilities were abysmil as were there main meals, a very limited menu.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Public Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

First of all i would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in our beautiful city Budapest. Our aim is to make sure that every one of our guests leaves with a feeling of satisfaction and I am truly sorry that we were not able to fully deliver that in your case. Rest assured that i have taken good note of your remarks.

I am glad that you appreciated the great services provided by the staff, especially highlighting our employees at the Reception, I will be pleased to share your compliments with them.
I am extremely happy that you found the breakfast to be perfect.

Please allow me to respond for your negative remarks.

You are right we don't have iron or ironing board in the room and also not providing it upon request because it's not fire-safe. Nevertheless you could request ironing for a fee and you'll find that our chambermaids are always happy to assist with it.

Thank you for pointing out the tea & coffee making facilities, it's already on the list i hope in the near future all the Superior rooms will be equipped with it.

90 % of our rooms are equipped with normal rotatable swivel holder (due to a wrong maintenance your room got this "can not be moved" one). I apologize for any uncomfortability the holder may have caused. I'm glad to inform you that we've already replaced it in every room where we have found the same thanks to your note. It is amazing how such a small thing can make a huge difference in comfortability :).

Tourist information. I'm surprisingly read this one. At check-in you should always get immediate advice about the nearest metro and tram line with city map (+short cuts) by our receptionists, i will investigate why you didn't receive it. At reception desk we also provide free official english guide (maybe it sold out at the moment when you searched for it).

Well location. As a local i call (and usually everyone) city centre the area inside and around the Grand Boulevard (tram No. 4-6 line) which is a good 5 minutes walk from our hotel. Central Market Hall and the begining of the Vaci street that i would call main tourist area (district V., Belváros) is reachable from our hotel by tram No. 2 (stop is 5 minutes away from the hotel, total travelling time 10-15 minutes). I'm truly sorry that you had to walk 30 minutes to reach it.

Thank you for letting me know the problems with the restaurant, i forwarded it to the right persons and i will keep pushing for a solution indeed.

Last but not least WI-FI, we supposed to have one of the fastest one in Budapest with 100 M/bit) but in the last weeks it's clearly not working well. This service will be carefully examined to find out the problem (with the router).

Thank you again for your feedback and I sincerely hope that you will grant us another opportunity to welcome you back to Actor Hotel should you travel to Budapest any time in the future.

Sincerely,

Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#221 of 334 in Budapest
676 reviews
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#107 of 334 in Budapest
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Inn
#90 of 334 in Budapest
508 reviews
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#43 of 334 in Budapest
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actor Hotel

Address: Viola utca 10-14., Budapest 1094, Hungary (Formerly Actor Business Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $53 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actor Hotel Budapest enjoys a peaceful location close to the Danube river and Petőfi bridge, just blocks away from the Grand Boulevard. Klinikák metro station (M3 line) and the main tram line (No. 4-6) are only 500 m away.We ensure free transfer from and to the airport on prior request in case of minimum 3 nights continuous stay. This service is available between: 7:00-22:00 everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Actor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing