We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break in Budapest”
Review of Actor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Actor Hotel
Ranked #257 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel from the 6-9 September. Room was good, no tea/coffee facilities available, no iron or ironing board, hairdryer available, but shower facilities were poor, only a bracket on the wall that would take the shower head and did not spray on yourself only into the shower curtain. There was no information in the room as to how to travel around the City, apparently there were too many languages to cater for, we believe they only had to cater for German, Engligh and Hungarian. On the internet information before we travelled it stated you were only five minutes away from the City which was why we chose this Hotel, unfortunately not from the Tourist Centre of the City Centre but to reaching the outer boundary of the City. To walk from the Hotel to the Central Market Hall which we believe was the City Centre took 30 minutes. From the Buda side there is a road tunnel with a stone monument which is the acutal centre point from which all measurement is taken as to accessing Budapest. We had a meal on the first night, which took nearly an hour to serve, unfortunately the potatoes were cold and Paul's veal shnitzel was overcooked. We obviously did not return to the Restaurant for the next two nights. We are not aware of health and safety rules in Budapest but there were not instructions on the rear of our hotel room door as to which way to exit if a fire occurred. Also there was no advice as to how to travel around the City, ie which was the nearest tram to take from the Hotel, how do we pay for travel, we went armed with a local map from the Hotel and found our own way around which meant plenty of wallking. We agree with another review that the toaster needs servicing, the squeal was still in existence. Breakfast was perfect with the usual continental cuisine. WiFi was freely available but I agree that it was not efficient, very slow. There were also too many homeless people around the area of the Hotel, begging from tourists, even whilst seated having a meal at a Restaurant. Eva, Receptionist, was very helpful, also the son of the Hotel Director, they both spoke excellent English, we pointed out our problems to Eva upon our departure and she apologised profusely. We would not wish to stay at this Hotel again due to the lack of tourist information, we appreciate the exercise to find our way about, but they did not have leaflets available in the room or reception area and shower facilities were abysmil as were there main meals, a very limited menu.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Public Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

First of all i would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in our beautiful city Budapest. Our aim is to make sure that every one of our guests leaves with a feeling of satisfaction and I am truly sorry that we were not able to fully deliver that in your case. Rest assured that i have taken good note of your remarks.

I am glad that you appreciated the great services provided by the staff, especially highlighting our employees at the Reception, I will be pleased to share your compliments with them.
I am extremely happy that you found the breakfast to be perfect.

Please allow me to respond for your negative remarks.

You are right we don't have iron or ironing board in the room and also not providing it upon request because it's not fire-safe. Nevertheless you could request ironing for a fee and you'll find that our chambermaids are always happy to assist with it.

Thank you for pointing out the tea & coffee making facilities, it's already on the list i hope in the near future all the Superior rooms will be equipped with it.

90 % of our rooms are equipped with normal rotatable swivel holder (due to a wrong maintenance your room got this "can not be moved" one). I apologize for any uncomfortability the holder may have caused. I'm glad to inform you that we've already replaced it in every room where we have found the same thanks to your note. It is amazing how such a small thing can make a huge difference in comfortability :).

Tourist information. I'm surprisingly read this one. At check-in you should always get immediate advice about the nearest metro and tram line with city map (+short cuts) by our receptionists, i will investigate why you didn't receive it. At reception desk we also provide free official english guide (maybe it sold out at the moment when you searched for it).

Well location. As a local i call (and usually everyone) city centre the area inside and around the Grand Boulevard (tram No. 4-6 line) which is a good 5 minutes walk from our hotel. Central Market Hall and the begining of the Vaci street that i would call main tourist area (district V., Belváros) is reachable from our hotel by tram No. 2 (stop is 5 minutes away from the hotel, total travelling time 10-15 minutes). I'm truly sorry that you had to walk 30 minutes to reach it.

Thank you for letting me know the problems with the restaurant, i forwarded it to the right persons and i will keep pushing for a solution indeed.

Last but not least WI-FI, we supposed to have one of the fastest one in Budapest with 100 M/bit) but in the last weeks it's clearly not working well. This service will be carefully examined to find out the problem (with the router).

Thank you again for your feedback and I sincerely hope that you will grant us another opportunity to welcome you back to Actor Hotel should you travel to Budapest any time in the future.

Sincerely,

Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 280 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

The main problem with this hotel is location. I think this is simply not a good place for tourists. Keeping in mind that Budapest is relatively small city the distance to the city center and other attractions is too big. You must go 10 minutes to metro station and go a few stations, usually you need also to change to bus, tram, other metro line. The hotel is located in a very strange area with many dangerous places. Going across this area during a day is quite frightening. During an evening or night - I did not tried. Too many strange people looking like criminals, too many homeless people.

Nevertheless the hotel offers quite fine rooms which are big. Room are not cozy because of lack of any carpets but, as I wrote, they are spacious. Personel is nice and helpful.

I was quite surprised by a lot of noise. They made some renovation or whatever. The worst thing is that they made a lot of noise starting from 7 o'clock!!! I was happy with WiFi but it worked very poor.

To sum up advantages and disadvantages:
(+) price
(+) good personnel
(+) big rooms
(+) WiFi in rooms (poor quality)

(-) location,
(-) dangerous places when you go from metro station to the hotel
(-) a lot of problems with WiFi
(-) noise

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grover_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your honest feedback. I am sorry though that you found the hotel average. Thank you for mentioning that you received outstanding service from our staff. It was great to see that you liked the room and it's size. While building our hotel we paid special attention to the needs of guests who suffer from allergies, therefore all our rooms are carpet free. You can request slippers at reception, especially if you feel uncomfortable.

Budapest is the seventh largest city in Europe and covers an area of 525 square kilometres (202.7 sq mi) within the city limits, therefore i wouldn't call it small, but it's really depends on personal perspective. From the main tourist area (district V., Váci street) our hotel located about 2 km far (a good 20-25 minutes by walking). However with public transport not more than 15 minutes (included walking to the metro station which takes about 5 minutes if you use a shortcut :). All the main sights of the city is reachable only with 1 vehicle change. I'm always ready to give advice on how to get to the chosen place.

We have never received any negative feedback from our guests about thievery or anything like that, therefore the area is totally safe and peaceful even after midnight.

I will look into it to find out what caused the noise starting from 7 o'clock. I would like to apologise any inconvenience caused.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Konstantin Kovats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I was in Budapest for a conference, and stayed here four nights. The room was large and clean, and the housekeeping staff did an excellent job. The hotel is on a quiet street, a half-block from a street with a tram line. The continental breakfast is quite decent, although the poorly lubricated conveyor-belt toaster emits a strange squealing sound like the giant ants in "Them!" (1954). The staff are helpful, and have good English. The two elevators are efficient and fully adequate. The air conditioner was generally adequate for some very warm days, and was not overly noisy; the digital thermostat was appreciated. This is a rather newish property, which could benefit from better maintenance: the phone (which I didn't need) was not working, and the drain plug in the sink would not open with its lever but could be removed manually. Would I stay there again? Yes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doctor_MSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We just came back from Budapest and because of friends' recommendations, this is the first time we stayed at the Actor Business Hotel but it won't be the last. We traveled to Budapest several times over the past 12 years and found our "permanent hotel" from now on.

The hotel is clean, room and bathroom spacious, the most friendly staff available 24/7 ,free Wi-Fi . It's close to public transportation and only a 10 minute ride to the Center of the City . We found Eva at the front desk especially helpful as she was very knowledgeable about
"what was going on" in the city during our time in Budapest.

We would give this hotel and the staff our highest recommendations

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katalin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I don't even know how I stumbled across this hotels website, but I did, and am grateful for it. We stayed at this hotel for 9 nights, having met a friend there for our year trip to Hungary, to visit friends and family. Where to start...room was fantastic, clean and spacious. Staff, who actually understand what 'customer service' means...professional, helpful, friendly (especially Eva on the front desk)...all staff speak English. Breakfast (which was included with our room) was simply delicious, great presentation and selection. LOVED the free high speed Internet (which truly was fast) and hotel location. On a quite neighborhood, which was perfectly situated close to the Metro, buses etc....hop, skip and a jump away from Buda. This has become 'my hotel of choice' when in Hungary. Reasonable rates, clean, friendly staff, great restaurant, perfect location...what more can one ask for??

Room Tip: Try and get a courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gottaask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I liked the hotel so much that I've been there 3 times. Last time I was there with my friends and it was great.The hotel is very clean with very comfortable beds and heating floor :) There's free WI-FI and TV but only few channels in English. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood but it's easily accessible with major transportation. The staff is very helpful and friendly. I find it very good for business trip or big groups because the restaurant is big and can also be used as a conference room with projector. The food quality is great but maybe a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vasilis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. Modern rooms with big bathroom and comfortable beds. Staff was friendly and helpfull and 24/24 hours in our services. Lunche and dinner was delicious. Hotel's location is about ten minutes from Budapest's center, with a metro or bus stop nearby the hotel. An excellent choice for someone who will visit Budapest!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stelios_Kavou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#106 of 335 in Budapest
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#236 of 335 in Budapest
683 reviews
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#45 of 335 in Budapest
340 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 335 in Budapest
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actor Hotel

Address: Viola utca 10-14., Budapest 1094, Hungary (Formerly Actor Business Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $56 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actor Hotel Budapest enjoys a peaceful location close to the Danube river and Petőfi bridge, just blocks away from the Grand Boulevard. Klinikák metro station (M3 line) and the main tram line (No. 4-6) are only 500 m away.We ensure free transfer from and to the airport on prior request in case of minimum 3 nights continuous stay. This service is available between: 7:00-22:00 everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing