We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great architecture...the rest is average”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #93 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Perfectly located in the city center! Amazing architecture and the rest stops here!
Room very small with the bed pushed against the wall.
Accessing the room I had to walk a lot, cross some internal staircase and then walk some more
Very clean though!
Helpful staff.
Rich breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a proper sized room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
There are newer reviews for Hotel President
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 987 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

I recently stayed here and admit the building is spectacular the crystal amazing and the room was up todate. That I'm afraid is not enough for comfort. The room we were given for one of the highest prices in Budapest was very small the bed was a double and pushed against the wall we were 2 women I called for a different room none available. We called and rquested sheets for the pull out couch they brougt them with no request to make up the bed for us. With this pulled out even less room. I had a sore neck the next day because the pillows were so thin and hard. I called next day and asked if we could have some soft pillows 2 equally hard pillows delivered. We picked this hotle because it had a hot tub and pool but declined its use as it was 11euro each to use it. RIP OFF... The breakfast was nice. The parking is on the street and they will ticket you in a heartbeat. The location is good and it is easy to find your way back after an outing. We attempted to find the rooftop resturant but gave up after 1/2hour roaming the hall. I would not stay here again. Way too pricey for what you get even in Europe. There are many more choices in this price range you can't swing your cat in these rooms. Oh and did I mention the window is on the inside of building not even able to get fresh air.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shescot43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I’m quite surprised about some of the negative reviews for this hotel. I recently stayed here on a business trip. I have stayed in Budapest before in a hotel next to the Basilica, and while both hotels are good, Hotel President has that something extra.

The public areas are extremely luxurious, and the hotel has a gorgeous pool and Jacuzzi. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the shower cubicle is nice and big. Rooms have free Wifi. Breakfast was a much better buffet than others I have had in Europe and better than the other hotel I stayed at in Budapest. I didn’t eat at the restaurant so can’t comment on that.

The location is excellent – a minute or so walk away from the Basilica and the lovely bars and restaurants in that area, and a short walk to the River Danube.

My only disappointment was that the roof terrace bar is only open from May until September so I just missed out on this experience. I hope to visit this hotel again next year and hopefully get to sample the panoramic views of the roof terrace.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel President is very well located, in city center. The common area of hotel is nice and luxurious, it has nice rooftop restaurant, bu unfortunately it was closed (because of the weather) during our visit. Breakfast was average and restaurant is overpriced for the quality of the food offered. If you wanna enjoy small wellness center, you should pay extra cost.
Rooms are very small, not one double bed, but two separated and bad quality of sheets, towels and cosmetic products. As example I can mention holes in towel and on my pillow.
Above the bed, on the wall is mirror, what was little disturbing for me.
The staff is okay, they recommend us some restaurants and places to see... overall okay, but definitely not 5 star, nor 4 star... I would say average 3 star hotel, regarding to rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

For tourists and business people this hotel offers very good location.
The view from the roof of the hotel is very nice, especially during the night.
Rooms are not something special and in the single rooms the beds are quite small, but cover the requirements for 4* hotel
The staff in general is friendly and helpful, except the night auditor at the reception.
During our visit the expectations were met, but there was nothing which could make the "wow" effect except the view from the roof of the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors have better view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panayot V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel is clean and rooms are comfortable.
Wi fi is in rooms for no additional fee.
Staff are not particularly friendly.
Breakfast is excellent but again staff are somewhat rude.
Excellent swimming pool but it its pricey at €11 extra per day!
I got a good deal price wise when booking so cant complain but it falls short of a 4 star standard in terms of customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREWD1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel is really very well located, prices are really low and everything is clean. Rooms / bathroom / cleaning are more than ok for the price. The place should be a real great one, but something is missing : no service (no atm or exchange at the hotel for exemple), the restaurant / bar is so so and the place is not friendly at all. Parking is expensive but cross the street and pay the public parking (perfect for overnight stay). If they improved the service / bar / restaurant this place should be a real hit, competitive even if price was double. Minus : beds are so-so... Ps : please, remove the flowers close to the lift, they are almost dead...

Room Tip: Rooms with street view are amazing as the building in front is a real gem.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbles_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 332 in Budapest
4,373 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 332 in Budapest
2,238 reviews
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#126 of 332 in Budapest
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#37 of 332 in Budapest
1,209 reviews
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#102 of 332 in Budapest
1,378 reviews
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#33 of 332 in Budapest
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Hold utca 3-5., Budapest 1054, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $78 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel President is a brand new luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Budapest, in the vicinity of the fabulous building of the Magyar Nemzeti Bank (National Bank of Hungary). Budapest's other major attractions, such as Szent István Bazilika (St. Stephen Basilica) or Váci utca (Váci street) are within walking distance from Hotel President. Hotel President was designed to offer quality and style, and a unique experience for all guests: businessmen, delegations, groups and families as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing