We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - amazing view from roof terrace”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #92 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice hotel located 5min from St. Stephan cathedral.

Clean rooms, good service, fair pricing (booked via Hrs).
The single room is a litte small but for a business trip more than enough.

Breakfast could have more variety for a hotel in that price range and the food and drinks on the roof terrace are overpriced although the quality is good and the view is amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
There are newer reviews for Hotel President
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 990 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice hotel. Clean. Quiet. Great Service. Good location on a subway and fairly central. Good A/C. Very nice breakfast. Beautiful view from the rooftop lounge.

BUT

-Pool is listed on website but it costs 11 euro per person per day to use as part of her spa
-Airport shuttle is listed but all they do is call you the Hungarian equivalent of SuperShuttle for $12
-smelliest, cheapest soap and shampoo provided (we had to buy our own because it nearly made me ill)
-Thin mattresses weren't very comfortable

I would call it a 3 star hotel, not the 4 stars they claim.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avis67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stay all over the world and quite often in Budapest. as I have been here before (not at this hotel) I know that the hotel taxis are very expensive and you should ask the concierge to order a regular city taxi for you. when i asked them to order one for me they said "it is against hotel policy and they might get fired for ordering a city taxi for me". while I was busy arguing another person came in complaining that the taxi they booked for him turned out to be a limo (although he didnt want a limo) and that when he asked if it would cost more he was told not, yet he ended up paying 4 times (!!!) more for his outbound taxi than his return which was with a regular city taxi.

in the end, and after I threatened to complain to the police it was "suddenly" OK to call a city taxi for me...

there were many other reasons not to like the hotel such as broken air conditioning and ridiculously small beds and so on however being cheated by a hotel on taxis is where I draw the line.

I have since stayed in several nice 4 start hotels in town and loved them without having to fight hotel scams, I recommend you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank in_the_know044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and the room was very nice and comfortable .Must say the staff should improve with their hospitality skills . The roof terrace has an amazing view But the restaurant is too pricy . The location is great and quite central with alot of restaurants and bars around .The breakfast was very good and very good variety and the staff at the basement restaurant pleasant

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casagoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as a family with 3 rooms.
Breakfast is in the dark basement and poor. The scramble eggs was the best of the breakfast though.
You have to pay separatly to use the pool area, which was a bit small.

The hotel all in all is ok and clean rooms, but as they praise themselves for 5 star, thats not worth it. The roof terrace is nice with a view of Budapest, but the prices for eating here is 3 times more than if you choose the restaurant in the ground floor.

The location was the best of the hotel. Just next to October street where a lot of bars and small restaurants are located.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rikke h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The foyer of this hotel was really grand & stylish ! We found the Staff to be very friendly &, when we wanted to change our room, they were very accommodating.
You are also invited for a glass of Champagne on the roof terrace (which was difficult to find on account of the need to use a different lift). Unfortunately, on that evening, the weather was very windy, but they still honoured the Champagne, which we had in the bar instead.
Very nice hotel. Cannot fault it. Great location. Fantastic value !! Would definitely recommend it,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muswell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are looking for a mirrored ceiling, this is the place to go. But I felt quite uncomfortable staring at a guy in a bed above me. Optical illusions (apart from the mirrors there was a huge wall painting of Saint Steven's cathedral) cannot hide that you are sleeping in a closet: stuffy, hot, no space to move and no view at all. The breakfast is taken in a dark grim cellar. I was not particularly impressed by the front desk personnel either (not very helpful or friendly). The best thing? I only stayed 2 nights in this hotel. I would come back to the are though, fairly quiet and central and many examples of Jungendstil / Art Nouveau architecture.

Room Tip: some of the rooms have a mirrored ceiling.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RTM_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 333 in Budapest
4,379 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
2,240 reviews
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#127 of 333 in Budapest
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#37 of 333 in Budapest
1,216 reviews
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#106 of 333 in Budapest
1,380 reviews
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#34 of 333 in Budapest
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Hold utca 3-5., Budapest 1054, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $77 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel President is a brand new luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Budapest, in the vicinity of the fabulous building of the Magyar Nemzeti Bank (National Bank of Hungary). Budapest's other major attractions, such as Szent István Bazilika (St. Stephen Basilica) or Váci utca (Váci street) are within walking distance from Hotel President. Hotel President was designed to offer quality and style, and a unique experience for all guests: businessmen, delegations, groups and families as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing