We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #95 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The foyer of this hotel was really grand & stylish ! We found the Staff to be very friendly &, when we wanted to change our room, they were very accommodating.
You are also invited for a glass of Champagne on the roof terrace (which was difficult to find on account of the need to use a different lift). Unfortunately, on that evening, the weather was very windy, but they still honoured the Champagne, which we had in the bar instead.
Very nice hotel. Cannot fault it. Great location. Fantastic value !! Would definitely recommend it,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muswell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    366
    186
    83
    47
See reviews for
95
429
46
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are looking for a mirrored ceiling, this is the place to go. But I felt quite uncomfortable staring at a guy in a bed above me. Optical illusions (apart from the mirrors there was a huge wall painting of Saint Steven's cathedral) cannot hide that you are sleeping in a closet: stuffy, hot, no space to move and no view at all. The breakfast is taken in a dark grim cellar. I was not particularly impressed by the front desk personnel either (not very helpful or friendly). The best thing? I only stayed 2 nights in this hotel. I would come back to the are though, fairly quiet and central and many examples of Jungendstil / Art Nouveau architecture.

Room Tip: some of the rooms have a mirrored ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTM_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed at President Hotel in May for 3 nights. Man at reception very helpful after arriving early hours of morning. Hotel clean and in pleasant location and wonderful atmosphere whilst having. drink on rooftop terrace. People moan but we never experienced their complaints. Got what we paid for, a nice comfortable hotel. Reception helpful in ordering us a shuttle bus back to airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel pretends to be 4 star but at best it might be 3
Hotel advertises pool, steam room, work out area but it's all at extra cost.
They also advertise roof top garden restaurant, which was close during the entire stay.
Also you get a welcome cocktail coupon redeemable in the rooftop restaurant, however you can not redeem it as the rooftop is never open. When inquiring about this at the front desk, the clerk suggested to keep the coupon till the next stay.
Towels in the hotel room are probably 10 years old, very thin and very hard...more like something you get in a 2 star motel...
The location is walking distance to the center and to the river front...
Certainly would not rush back...

Room Tip: Suggest to look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel that claims to be a 5-Star hotel. Far from it. This is a 3-Star hotel with serious problems;

1. Serious structural cracks & roof leaks
2. Requiring total renovation
3. Small beds provided like a hostel
4. No security at all
5. GM of hotel is unprofessional, rude and arrogant

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel with comfortable beds. I paid EUR 85 for a night in a Penthouse Superior Room. Fresh bathroom/shower. Mini-bar. Super-breakfast - all I missed was boiled eggs. Nice personnel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joli6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Some sites rate this as a 5 star, others a 4 star. I would say it would be lucky to be a 3 star.
Upon arrival into our small double room (the bed was wedged against the wall so only accessible from one side) I discovered the toilet seat was cracked (they did come and change it) the bath towel was ripped with wear and smelt of chlorine (I suspect they don't differentiate between room towels and pool towels) the bed sheet had a hole in it, the bed was very uncomfortable and I was told all the mattresses are the same. I then requested extra pillows (the room only came with one normal pillow and one half pillow) these were incredibly lumpy and weren't in their slips properly. On our second day the bathroom wasn't cleaned properly. The breakfast food was pretty hit and miss. Big gristly bits in the sausages, yoghurt that was out so long it was runny, grey scrambled eggs etc etc. I asked for a bottle opener and was made to take my bottle of wine into the restaurant to be opened. The rooms aren't sound proof and you can hear everyone walking in the hall. It's lucky Budapest is so beautiful otherwise this hotel would have ruined our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philedria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,231 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
2,166 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#124 of 333 in Budapest
340 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 333 in Budapest
1,240 reviews
District V / Inner City
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Hold utca 3-5., Budapest 1054, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel President is a brand new luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Budapest, in the vicinity of the fabulous building of the Magyar Nemzeti Bank (National Bank of Hungary). Budapest's other major attractions, such as Szent István Bazilika (St. Stephen Basilica) or Váci utca (Váci street) are within walking distance from Hotel President. Hotel President was designed to offer quality and style, and a unique experience for all guests: businessmen, delegations, groups and families as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing