We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“its no way for this to be a 5*” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel President Budapest

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel President Budapest
Ranked #96 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“its no way for this to be a 5*”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

on some website it is a 5* hotel, and obviously thats not true. I specifically requested a twin bed room rather than double and obviously I had been ignored. Only shower was available not bath, i was a bit annoyed by that. The room was quite small actually. good location and the breakfast was good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    341
    171
    78
    45
See reviews for
87
398
45
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Absolutely LOVE this city. My friend & I spent 5 days in Budapest (pest side), the hotel was very nice however the twin room was on the small side but clean, facing the street so a bit noisy if you leave the window open, good shower & staff very accommodating/helpful. Location of the Hotel was perfect (few minutes walk to the Opera House, another few minutes walk to the buda side across the bridge & also near a square with a beautiful church & many bars & restaurants. Did not have breakfast at the hotel but if you turn left at the hotel & keep to the left you will find a french bistrot (sorry forgot the name) where you can enjoy a cheap & very filling breakfast (great staff with very good english). Ask the hotel to organise a taxi transfer from/to the airport, it's around 7000 forints (roughly £20). Also get a 48 hrs tour bus which includes a boat trip on the Danube (stunning at night)....great value & perfect way to visit the city (pest & buda side). So much to see in Budapest & everywhere you go you are just amazed by the architecture. We had a day at the outdoor spa (széchenyi), few stops on the metro, very busy place & a bit smelly but the old building surrounding it is nice. Overall a fantastic holiday & lots to see :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing anything else but the street. Once you are at the spa you cannot go in &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel was very nice. The rooms were very clean, a bit on the small side but however it is fine. Didnt care much for the mirrored ceilings in the bedrooms which were a little on the dark side. The staff were ok but not welcoming or friendly. The breakfast was just ok but quite expensive for the quality. It was however very central to everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

An old hotel in central Budapest. The rooms are very small and the bed was unbareably low but clean with a pretty good shower.

The staff are all quietly efficient but lacks certain natural friendliness.

Breakfast is in the basement and is just OK, nothing to really write about.

Value for money is there and i would stay here again on buiness.

The best part is the bullet prrof glass displayd in reception complete with 3 bullet holes, not something you see everyday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chui101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Spent five days in Budapest, that meant four nights at Hotel President. Location is very central, close to everything basically, if you can be bothered to walk a couple of minutes. Not at a big boulevard, but rather on a parallell street, it's very quiet no matter which floor you're on, and which way the room is facing.
Guest computers with internet available in the lobby, WiFi in the room.

The room:
Very clean and fresh. We got a room with "the mirrors". This may sound tacky, but is absolutely cool. Besides virtually adding to the size of the room, it's also nice for before-sleep-occasions. The wall poster with view of the basilica (100m from the hotel) is also smart and gives the room a personality and fits well with the design.
Bathroom is of adequate size, with a shower you actually can fit in. Towels, shampoo, etc. is available. If you're a bit bathroom-noise-shy, you will be happy. You can barely hear the flushing in the bedroom, everything else is mute.
The beds are firm, but excellent I thought. Pillows are pretty flat, one small and one big, so you can make a thicker combo if needed. This is just the way I prefer it, as I mostly sleep on my back. (Can't make a thin pillow from a thick one, can you?)

The staff:
Besides the reception and the restaurant, we needed their help a couple of times. Regardless of when we needed a sewing kit, an ironing board, or when the shower drain was clogged, they responded very kindly, immediately, and we got all things taken care of swiftly.

The breakfast:
You have your variety of bread, cheese, etc. Müesli and youghurt. Tea, milk, coffe, and juices. Good to get you going in the morning, before you head out in the city.


Don't miss their terrace on the rooftop. The 360° view is absolutely wonderful. We had a glass of wine there the last evening, enjoying the view and the sunset. Once again, the hostess was very friendly and service minded.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Z C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

First I was given "penthouse room" which is a euphemism for a tiny cell with a tilted ceiling and a window high above the head. Very depressing. When I asked to change the room the receptionist was very understanding and offerred me some free amenities promising to make the change tomorrow. I pressed on, and then she came with an offer for me to share a junior suite with my colleague. I a counter offerred to take the junior suite to myself (the rate for that suite was still very resonable), and we settled on that . And now I'm in that suite trying to get some sleep. And the reason is... The outdoor fans for the hotel ventilation system are located just above my head giving out continual noise. I'm feeling like living near a factory or an airport... Not sure I'm prepared to spend another night here... I feel this as a bad luck as the hotel looks nice and clean, and the staff is friendly and helpfull

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vop63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Lauder Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, the room was fine and very comfortable. There was a 3 in 1 sachet of coffee, cups and a kettle but if you don't take milk or sugar in your coffee then there was no hot drink. Food and drink were expensive. Location was excellent.

A special thank you to the lovely girl in the Spa who was so friendly and helpfull and also to the blonde girl at reception for all your help.
All the facilities at the spa were great including the massage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenlauderscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#37 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,110 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#120 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Budapest

Property: Hotel President Budapest
Address: Hold utca 3 - 5, Budapest 1054, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel President is a brand new luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Budapest, in the vicinity of the fabulous building of the Magyar Nemzeti Bank (National Bank of Hungary). Budapest's other major attractions, such as Szent István Bazilika (St. Stephen Basilica) or Váci utca (Váci street) are within walking distance from Hotel President. Hotel President was designed to offer quality and style, and a unique experience for all guests: businessmen, delegations, groups and families as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel President Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing