We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budapest Panorama Central
Ranked #90 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

I would recommend this hotel to everybody. Great position and price. Room was really clean, nice jacuzzi and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karoldost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    167
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
43
201
67
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

For 2 nights we paid $78. The units are perfect. We got two twins, each room came with a small TV, an extendable table/desk. Bathrooms are immaculate and new. Plenty of hot water. We had the courtyard view so no much to see, but we weren't there to stay at the hotel. Beds are a bit too soft for me, but this is preference. Heaters worked great. It includes a breakfast each morning (free of charge) which will get you going (bread, cold cuts, coffee, juice, yogurt, etc). Front desk is very helpful, and they will arrange for a shuttle to come pick you up for the airport. I highly recommend and would come back here in the future!

Getting to the 3rd floor is really in American terms the 4th floor. The elevator is a bit old and sketchy, but it works. Great place for low budget, but great accommodation! Oh yea, and internet/wifi is fast!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJWang24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

Upon arriving at the building this hotel is housed within, my husband claimed he "wasn't cool with this." The entrance of the hotel is in a sketchy building, decorated with graffiti and poorly lit. I insisted we at least check out the actual hotel and we are both very pleased we did. The hotel is on the 3rd floor and looks nicer than the ground floor. The hotel itself is very clean and the front desk staff was always friendly and helpful. The room was large, with a small fridge and microwave, TV and a great bathroom with a jacuzzi tub for two that we made great use of. My only complaint of the room was the bed. The bed was two single beds that when we pushed together kept slipping apart so one of us was constantly falling into the crack. We finally just had to sleep on our separate beds. The bedding itself also left a lot to be desired. The sheets and pillows were very poor quality.
The location, however, is great. Very easy walking distance to the river, so easy access to the Buda side to see the castle and hill district. In the other direction is the Old Jewish District which has been revamped into a trendy neighborhood with good, reasonable restaurants and cool bars. Overall, I think this hotel is great, especially for the price. If only they could light up the stairwell and get some decent sheets, I would have been raving about the place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allisonfclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montmorillon, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in early October 2010 and found it a most pleasant location. The staff was helpful with suggestions on places to visit, and they responded to our needs quickly. The location is good if you wish to walk to many places on the Pest side of the river, and public transportation is close at hand.

The hotel is in a multi-use building so one gets the feeling of being a part of the community. Each morning a breakfast was brought to our room based on our requests of the day before. The rooms were of ample size and well appointed. You enter the hotel by way of an elevator that brings you to the hotel's floor. From there you go to the entrance to the hotel lobby (about five or six meters) where you are quickly directed to your room. In the lobby are facilities to make a cup of tea if you wish.

Overall, it is a very nice place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy0322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed at Panorama Central for three nights in October 2010. It was the last city on a train journey through central Europe, when we also visited Berlin, Prague and Vienna.

We arrived at Keleti railway station, and took the Metro line 2 two stops to Astoria, which is closest to Panorama Central. The ticket office accepted my credit card. If you are coming to Budapest through Ferihegy airport, you may consider going to Ferenciek Tere metro station on Metro line 3. This is 400 metres further away along Kossuth Lajos Utca, but may be simpler if you are carrying luggage and want to avoid the complications of changing lines - this is the way we left the city. Metro stations often have multiple entrances and are poorly signed (for foreigners), so unless you are very observant you should resign yourself to ending up on the wrong side of the road.

The entrance to Panorama Central is 70 metres north of Astoria on Karoly Korut, a busy main street. If you remember the number of the building (10) you should have no difficulty in finding it. Despite earlier claims on this site, the entrance hall is not scary (perhaps a little dark) and the antique lift worked well throughout our stay.

The third floor is a dramatic change from the lobby. The hotel reception is light and bright, with welcoming and friendly staff and tea and coffee-making facilities. A number of the rooms including ours was accessed directly from the reception area but, despite this, noise was not an issue during our stay. Panorama policies actively discourage stag / hen parties and boorish behaviour, and promote the hotel as a quiet and relaxing location.

We chose a superior room - as there is generally little difference in the price between this and a standard room, I suggest you do so as well. For the extra, you get a jacuzzi and, I suspect, a little more acreage. Our room was adequately sized, clean and comfortable, with imaginative light fittings. Its large windows overlooked Karoly Korut and gave a view of an art deco building opposite. The quality of the bedding was a little disappointing: we found the matresses somewhat thin and uncomfortable. The room came equipped with a kitchenette, featuring an electric hob, sink, microwave, cupboards, pots and pans and other accoutrements. The jacuzzi dominated the spacious tiled en suite and it was sparkling, with high quality fittings, heated rails and a plentiful supply of towels.

There are no common rooms. You complete a form each evening to choose the timing and content of your breakfasts, which was plentiful and delivered accurately and punctually each time.

A recent addition to Budapest’s hotels, Panorama Central is perfectly positioned in the middle of the city, and we had no need of public transport. To the east is Erzsebetvaros, containing much of Pest’s remaining old town, and it is perfectly feasible to walk through here and via the Andrassy Ut main drag to Varosliget. Immediately to the west are the touristy Belvaros shopping precincts. Beyond these, and more interestingly, to the north is the Parliament area (Lipotvaros); to the west across Lanchid, the famous chain bridge, is access via the Siklo to Varhegy (Castle Hill) and other parts of Buda.

We ate at locally: first at the Gerlozy, which is charming, but expensive by Budapest standards and with smallish portions. An entertaining harpist provided a medley of western popular music standards. There was also decent food at the Bali, where a discount was available for Panorama residents with a card from reception. The smoky atmosphere though may be off-putting, and they do not go out of their way to point out that service is included in the bill.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

Comfortable, clean, quiet, large room with friendly efficient staff. Good generous breakfast and I particularly appreciated the instant hot water and earl grey teabags (and coffee) available for guest use in the lobby. Very close to metro, and only a short walk to buses,trams and centre of city.The Wizz Air shuttle drop off was close, which was a pleasant surprise, as I had chosen the hotel based on postion, and other reviews on Trip Advisor. It was easy to find, with a clear street sign, but the entrance was a bit intimidating. Fortunately I had read about this in other reviews and knew that all was going to be well. Very good value. Diane, mature couple from New Zealand

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews here. The greatest advantage is the location. Bang in the centre of the tourist attractions with the tram stop and underground just minutes away. A budget accomodation with reasonable pricing.
However the room alloted to us was terrible. It was small, just beside the reception and was extremely noisy. It was an effort to get in and out of the bed which was tightly fitted inside an alcove like place in the room. A request for a change did not yield any result since they were overbooked., courtesy some travel agent, and were putting in extra beds. One felt really peeved when managing to have a sneak preview through the open doors of one of the regular rooms which was being made ready for new arrivals next morning. But Alas!
The breakfast was adequate but the quality could have been better. not to mention struggling with cups and plates on a small writing desk in the small room.
But all these shortcomings were overcome by the very freindly and helpful staff who are ready to go all out to try and take care of your needs.And ofcourse the very nice gesture of having a bottle of complimentary wine from the owners placed in your room.
Overall an experience befitting a budget hotel with a personal touch but definitely can't rate it as one of the best hotels in Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Museum Central
Budapest Museum Central
#109 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#60 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#55 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Panorama Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Panorama Central

Property: Budapest Panorama Central
Address: Karoly koerut 10 | III. floor, doorbell: 10, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#37 Family Hotel in Budapest
#53 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest Panorama Central 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Panorama Central is located directly in the historical center of Budapest, less than a 5 minute walk from famous Vaci street, Andrassy Avenue, the Hungarian National Museum, St. Stephen’s Basilica and the Dohany Synagogue (Europe’s largest). Located in a 19th century building, the space is brand new, having opened in the summer of 2009, and today delivers the height of comfort in classical surroundings.Visitors cannot find a more central location with all major transportation hubs only a few minutes walk away. The accommodation is situated only a 1 minute walk from the Astoria metro station on the M2 Redline. It is also only a 5 minute walk from both the Deák tér and Kálvin tér stations, both on the M3 Blueline.Our rooms combine famous Hungarian hospitality, modern, elegant facilities, a central location and affordable prices making it the perfect choice for both tourists and business travelers coming to Budapest.Every room has satellite television, telephone and high speed Internet access and work area. Every room also comes with air conditioning making it comfortable during any season. The ceilings are high and the colors of the rooms are light giving our guests a feeling of space and calm which is always good after a long day of sightseeing or work. The windows and rooms are also sound proof making the rooms quiet and relaxing. Our deluxe rooms come with Jacuzzi baths with hydro massage – perfect after a long day in the city.Because of its fantastic location, friendly English speaking staff and amenities, the Panorama Central is the perfect place to stay to experience Budapest’s rich history and cultural heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budapest Panorama Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Panorama Central Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing