We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad luck I guess?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budapest Panorama Central
Ranked #90 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Kaarina, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad luck I guess?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked this hotel due to price and location. They did not know this hotel in the Airport taxi and when we got there, we thought we were in the wrong place. I knew from the reviews that the entrance is a bit run down and boy they weren´t wrong. You will not know that there is a hotel here. The staff were helpful and there were a bottle of white wine wating for us. The room is very average with an iPad-size TV and a basic bed. Free Wi-Fi worked fine. Our bathroom sink were cracked and the bathroom was really small and because the floor in the shower is flat, the water stays there for a long time. The main issue here is that the walls are made from paper I guess? You can hear everything, I mean everything from the whole floor! We had really loud idiots living in the same floor and did not get any decent sleep for three nights. You also need to go somewhere else for breakfast but there is a legendary Cafe Central about 500 meters away. Service is good, rooms and location are average but don´t expect to get any sleep here unless you are very lucky. This is cheap hotel but there should be better ones for just a little bit more money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CallMeCaspian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudapestPanorama, Manager at Budapest Panorama Central, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to provide a review regarding your stay in the Budapest Panorama Central. We are really sorry that the circumstances did not meet your expectations.
As you know our property operates in a 19th century local building in the center of Budapest, unfortunately we can not influence everything.

We all try to do our best to provide high quality services for all of our guests and always make efforts to improve our services according to our guests’ needs. Pity you did not mention anything during your stay, because we could have solved the drainage problem immediately or we could have given you a quieter room.

We encourage all our Guests-to-be to take the advantage of the 24-hour reception service and please share your problems with us immediately in order to be able to help you and solve all the problems the best and the fastest we can.

I honestly hope that (apart from these) you enjoyed your stay in Budapest. We appreciate your time, your opinion is important to us!
Wishing you all the best!

The Management of the Budapest Panorama Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    167
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
43
201
67
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We booked this hotel partly due to price, but mainly due to the good reviews on Trip Advisor so we were quite excited. On arrival, we knew to head to the third floor, and that the entrance was a bit run down, but had I not read any reviews I would have been a bit put off. We braved the stairs as the lift looked a bit daunting and made some odd clunking noises!
Once in the hotel however, the receptionist was lovely, very helpful and gave us a mini tour. Our room was directly off reception, room number 1. First impression of the room was great, a huge room and a lovely bathroom with a jacuzzi.
However... the room was right off reception and due to incredibly thin walls and doors, you could hear the phone ringing, people coming and going and the receptionists conversations. This was not great at night when people came in late and chatted to the receptionist, or really early in the morning when the phone rang and peoples alarms went off. It was also on the road so on weekdays you hear the bin men and traffic noises below. For such huge rooms, I did think the beds would be larger, especially as we booked a double and we were given two very small singles with 2 thin pillows and duvets.
On a plus, the value of the hotel was great, and the location was so central it really didn't take us long to get anywhere.
Unfortunately, I doubt I would stay here again when visiting Budapest.

Room Tip: Make sure you aren't put in rooms 1 or 2 on the main road and right off reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1helsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is on the third floor. The entrance is unprepossessing. After the front door, the outlook to the "courtyard" is gloomy and the lift is a throwback to black and white films. The hotel is on the third floor.( the repeat is intentional)
Reception is illuminated by the Receptionist( all3 were good and made us feel they were there for us- which, obviously, they were).
Our room(3)was HUGE.....with jacuzzi. We visited in December and no expense was spared on the heating.
Breakfast was in a nearby restaurant(great value-we ate there often, to our mutual advantage
A minor criticism- no shampoo( but a major name costs less than £1 in the market)
Overall... RESULT!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaketjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This excellent hotel is a small gem (12 rooms) in an old building in the heart of Budapest. Prices are most reasonable, beds are comfortable, and the rooms are spacious, clean, and nicely furnished. The staff is most helpful and gracious, and speaks English well. Cookies, tea and coffee are always available at the front desk.

It is ideally located to see the sights in Budapest, only a minute or so away from the beautiful Dohnanyi St. Synagogue, the second largest in the world. It's also very close to a major metro station, Astoria, and two other metro stops. Going to the Danube and even walking across to Pest did not take long.

The hotel entrance is not nearly as intimidating as others here say, to me. Get a room on the inner courtyard for a quieter sleep as the front rooms are on a busy street. My friend and I had two rooms on the inner courtyard and we both slept very well. As the hotel is small, breakfast is at a restaurant, Bali, just down the block and is good. The hotel even has a reasonably priced laundry service; clothes were ready the next day. There is Wifi and cable TV has hundreds of channels, too. There is currently no safe as of November 2012, but the hotel said they are working on it and hope to have this soon.

Numerous restaurants and bars are near the hotel. Don't miss the Szamos Gourmet Palace, about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. They have fabulous cakes and chocolates, of which I brought back plenty to the U.S.

Budapest is a delightful city and this hotel is an excellent place from which to explore the city. I would definitely stay at this cosy and inviting hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

7th-Dec-2012. Stayed in this hotel because of favorable reviews on here. Was not disappointed. Once over the initial impression of the entrance on ground floor, its a different world when you get to the 3rd floor. Room was good,clinically clean and quiet. Wi-Fi worked a treat. Staff spoke excellent English and couldn't have been more helpful. But best of all was the location......so central and convenient !!! Being an emphysema sufferer walking is a problem for me, but the metro is only 2 mins walk away, the trams stop more or less opposite the hotel....and even if they didn't most of the tourist stuff is within easy walking distance.... A really GREAT PLACE to see Budapest from. Will definitely stay here again!!! Thanks a million to the really friendly and helpful girl on reception :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
504 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I actually liked this place! Sure, at the begining it was a bit scary as I had to go through pretty dark hall on the 1st floor and take suspicious...far from being new elevator, but inside of the hotel itself I felt relieve - everything is new and looks same as pictures on Internet.
My room #12 was spacious and very comfy! With two large windows and bathroom with shower. The furniture, the curtains, floor rag make a combination of simple but charming interior.
Wireless was free of charge and had good signal!
Girls on the Reception helped with arranging taxi and were helpful everytime it was needed!

Breakfast was served outside...in the caffe on the corner of the block. But morning promenade worth it! breakfast is good and the place is nice!

The only complain is noise... My room was the first one next to the entrance and I heard every move of the main door! Did not have a chance to sleep long)) Well, even better - have seen more of Budapest!

I wish Good Luck to the guys who ran this hotel! Hope to come back one day when they will make the whole building the hotel!

Room Tip: Room 12... this one is only for these who has plans for early morning =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VasilyMalygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Panorama Central is a small hotel located on an upper floor in a multi-purpose residential and commercial building in Budapest. The location of the hotel is convenient to several transit lines, and there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance of the hotel.

Other reviewers have noted that the hotel is located in a dark building with a dilapidated elevator, and this is true. Access to the building is controlled and guests are given a key to the building door. (When checking in, you must call the hotel with the intercom outside, which has buttons in Hungarian and is somewhat confusing.) The lobby area is extremely dark with some graffiti. You can go upstairs on an old, Soviet-style elevator (completely with a manual push door) or climb the stairs. (Pushing the light switches around the lobby will turn on a few lights, but not enough.)

I did not feel that the lobby was dangerous, and I enjoyed the opportunity to see inside a genuine Soviet apartment. However, those who have less tolerance for unusual situations may think again.

The room was large and perfectly acceptable, although not luxury. The staff was helpful and the hotel was quite (although the noise policies seemed weirdly draconian -- hundreds of Euros in fines with no warnings just for noise?)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Museum Central
Budapest Museum Central
#109 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#60 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#55 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Panorama Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Panorama Central

Property: Budapest Panorama Central
Address: Karoly koerut 10 | III. floor, doorbell: 10, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#37 Family Hotel in Budapest
#53 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest Panorama Central 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Panorama Central is located directly in the historical center of Budapest, less than a 5 minute walk from famous Vaci street, Andrassy Avenue, the Hungarian National Museum, St. Stephen’s Basilica and the Dohany Synagogue (Europe’s largest). Located in a 19th century building, the space is brand new, having opened in the summer of 2009, and today delivers the height of comfort in classical surroundings.Visitors cannot find a more central location with all major transportation hubs only a few minutes walk away. The accommodation is situated only a 1 minute walk from the Astoria metro station on the M2 Redline. It is also only a 5 minute walk from both the Deák tér and Kálvin tér stations, both on the M3 Blueline.Our rooms combine famous Hungarian hospitality, modern, elegant facilities, a central location and affordable prices making it the perfect choice for both tourists and business travelers coming to Budapest.Every room has satellite television, telephone and high speed Internet access and work area. Every room also comes with air conditioning making it comfortable during any season. The ceilings are high and the colors of the rooms are light giving our guests a feeling of space and calm which is always good after a long day of sightseeing or work. The windows and rooms are also sound proof making the rooms quiet and relaxing. Our deluxe rooms come with Jacuzzi baths with hydro massage – perfect after a long day in the city.Because of its fantastic location, friendly English speaking staff and amenities, the Panorama Central is the perfect place to stay to experience Budapest’s rich history and cultural heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budapest Panorama Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Panorama Central Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing