We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, good value, but some issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Ranked #63 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, good value, but some issues.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

My girlfriend and I (we're both in our mid-twenties) stayed at this hotel at the beginning of August 2011.

HOTEL & ROOMS
The hotel's location is not as great as that of much more expensive hotels at the Danube promenade, but you can reach the river in 10 minutes.

The hotel is quite beautiful, with a very stylish lobby and modern rooms. The bed was huge (albeit a bit short for me, because I'm relatively tall) and very comfortable. A bit disappointing were the (two per person) pillows, because they were relatively small. In the room was a little flyer advertising the hotel's special service: 4 different styles (hardness, etc.) of pillows with Hollywood actors' names. I ordered one Audrey Hepburn and one Marilyn Monroe. In the evening, they were still not there. In the morning I called again, and they said they would get me those pillows. However, in the late afternoon, still no pillows. I called again and they finally told me they had a full house and therefore could not provide anymore pillows, not even standard ones. A bit disappointing.

We sadly had no view but some kind of atrium (the lobby's windowed roof) and other hotel windows.

The bathroom was good except for the floor heating which you apparently can't turn off when the lights are on, very annoying in August.

The A/C was a joke, sadly. Even on maximum (out of 3 settings), the room still was 23°C. Maybe it was broken, though it seemed to be working.

Free wireless Internet, but the connection speed was ridiculously slow (very low signal quality on iPhone 3Gs and iPad 1).

FOOD AND SERVICE
Breakfast was very good, even though the breakfast room was a bit cramped. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but serves tapas in the bar and offers room service. On our third night, we ordered two steaks and Greek yoghurt for dessert. The barkeeper told us it would take 30 minutes. After waiting for about 75 minutes, I called downstairs and they assured me it would take only a few more minutes. 20 minutes later, I went downstairs and the the female barkeeper told me her colleague had just went up. On return in the room, the food was indeed there, but it was really, really cold (not a bit cooled down, but as if it had been standing in the kitchen for an hours, which it probably had). I called them again, and they said they would send someone up. I again waited almost ten minutes, then walked down with one plate to give it to the barkeeper (at this point, we had been waiting for about 2 hours). He looked kind of annoyed, as if not to be embarrassed in front of the other customers (who were eating their tacos, so there must have been some activity in the kitchen), which, in turn, I found quite annoying, because I was the one who had been waiting for a long time and then got cold food. I then went back to the room and a waiter brought ONE new plate (because I had only brought down ONE ...). I again called downstairs, and finally some manager guy (Enrico, I think, who was EXTREMELY friendly) brought us a new (second) plate and also the brownie dessert, as well as a bottle of Hungarian sparkling wine (which actually was one of the best I have ever drunk). He then assured us everything would be free of charge. Great, or so we thought, because I tried the food, and while the steak (also my girlfriend's) was perfect, my (not hers) potatoes were LITERALLY still frozen inside (I'm guessing they pre-cooked them earlier and then just reheated them in the microwave, but not long enough). I called room service again, but no one answered, so I called the reception and asked for Enrico, but the woman told me he was not there, which annoyed me quite a bit because he had been in our room about 2 minutes earlier. I told her that and she reluctantly gave me the manager. He apologized a thousand times and I simply asked for some bread, not trusting the chef's skills anymore. He personally brought it up and apologized again. Again, he was super-friendly, unlike the barkeeper who seemed embarrassed by my presence or the receptionist. On check-out, everything was indeed free of charge.

More generally, staff was not very friendly, except for Enrico and one male and one female receptionist. Staff was slow to set tables at breakfast and seemingly didn't mind huge and sticky marmalade stains, so we had to tell them twice to please change the table cloth.

CONCLUSION
Great hotel at a great value (the prices we got, at least) if you don't mind sleeping in rooms that are too warm (likely not a problem when it's not summer) or like to order food to your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a streetview if you want to see more than a glassy atrium (not sure about the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kktriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    947
    174
    41
    34
See reviews for
338
1,089
90
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

There is not many to say that's a real four stars hotel...
All is very fine the breakfast is really good, the room too and the staff is really helpfull.
A really good place.
The only thing I regret but not so much is maybe that all it's a little cold, clinical.
We do not feel as we are in Budapest a central european country

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustAude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

A straightforward hotel that, while not especially inspiring, ticks all the boxes and was decent value. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was well appointed and comfortable. Our only real gripe was the standard of the housekeeping, which was a bit slapdash.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Just perfect!!!
Very well located, you can walk to most of the sites. Very close to the tube, one minute walking.
The room was big, the bathroom was very elegant. The breakfast, one of the most important things for me in a hotel, was very complete. The staff was very kind.
Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profsandra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

This was a very nice hotel, walking distance to 2 of the bridges to the Buda side. We walked to the Gellart spa from the hotel, as well as other famous sites. The rooms were fairly small but very nicely furnished with wood floors and modern decor. Nice clean bathroom. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The room had strong A/C and HD flatscreen television. The price was affordable. It was also walking distance to good restaurants. Highly recommended. Free wifi as well.

This is the hotel area of Budapest so watch out for scammers! Do NOT exchange money in the street, show your wallet to alleged "plain clothes police officers investigating counterfeit money", or go for drinks with pretty girls that look like borderline prostitutes - this is an overcharging drinks scam - always check prices on menus before ordering.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlshamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

This hotel was situated perfectly - only about 50 metres from Vaci Utca and close to the gorgeous surroundings of the Danube (quite far away from andrassy - but I wouldn't consider that a loss).
The room didn't really deserve four stars since I consider it extremely basic - however, I am judging from a scandinavian standard.
The breakfast was OK. The fruit sortiment was poor.
I would recommend it due to the location and the value you get for your money! (We only paid 250 euros for 3 nights!)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

The positive aspects are that
- the hotel looks very modern
- the breakfast is good
- it is in the city center
- there is free wifi

What I did not like at all was that
- my bed sheets had big stains on them and a couple of long black hairs
- the room smelled really bad which did not go away even when opening the windows
- the bathtub plug did not work
- the room service did not answer even after a couple of trials
- the TV went quiet every couple of minutes
- they came in when I had the no disturb sign on the door
- they did not give me a map when I asked for a restaurant to have lunch

I told this at the reception and they
- said 'thank you for telling us'
- did not apologize
- did not assure me that someone will take care of it
- did not offer another room

After 4 hours the room still was the same, in the evening when returning they had changed the sheets the bathtub still didn't work.

I think that things like that can happen. I would have given more points if they had gotten it right after I had pointed it out at the reception.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hunbun80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#52 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#37 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,041 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel

Property: Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 7-9., Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#45 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#46 Family Hotel in Budapest
#57 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Eurostars Budapest Center is situated within a 3-minute stroll of the National Museum, the Great Synagogue and the Astoria Metro Station. Each room is equipped with luxurious furniture and modern amenities that include a safe box, free Wi-Fi and spacious bathrooms with a bath tub or shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Budapest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing