We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant atmosphere, excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Borsso Bistro

Borsso Bistro
Ranked #39 of 3,088 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $53
Cuisines: French, European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: A cozy and charming bistro in the heart of Budapest. French-hungarian cuisine, excellent reviews about the kitchen and the presence of the owners all the time. Live jazz music every weekend!
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere, excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We enjoyed the Bistro very much. The decor was whimsical and comfortable. The food was superb, well prepared and presented. The wine was lovely and the waiter, a charmer!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,068
    357
    101
    28
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cozy place and tasty food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great place for lunch!
Very tasty rabbit and goose breast!
Gazpacho soup - great!
The prices are acceptable! The service is very good!
A good wine list!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 884888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We found Borsso Bistro on tripadvisor and went there on a sunday night with 4 persons and no reservation. When we arrived around 9.30 all tables where taken. We asked if we could wait but the waiter informed us some of the dishes we're sold out.

We decided to go to Borbirosag, a nice restaurant a few streets further, instead. Borbirosag was closed so we went back to Borsso Bistro.

When we got back there was a free table and we we're warmly welcomed.

In choosing the wines we got to taste tree wines before deciding on a lovely Hungarian wine.

Although it was late and some of the dishes we're sold out, everything we ordered was excellent. I chose the homemade vegetarian pasta which was really tasty.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen_Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD, QUIET NEIGHBORHOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a great bistro on a quiet street, and we ate outside, which made for fun people-watching as the neighborhood dog-walkers paraded by. Terrific a la carte menu, and a tasting menu that also looked great. Soups and salads were inventive and tasty, and the entrees were beautifully presented and tasted super. The goulash is a different meat each day. I had lamb, but there could just have easliy have been pork, beef, chicken, or duck, said our friendly waiter. Great cucumber salad and corn souffle as sides. Great place, and worth finding!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Papertec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hungary meets France”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had read some great things about Borsso Bistro, and were very happy when we got a reservation. We opted for the three-course menu, and was quite disappointed by the fish soup served as the first course. It simply tasted to "fishy", and this definitely impacted our view of the rest of the meal as as well. The main course and dessert were both delicious, the service impeccable, and the price level more than affordable for a restaurant of this magnitude. There are definitely better restaurants in Budapest, but for a fusion of Hungarian dishes and French cuisine, Borsso Bistro is definitely worth checking out. For us, the fish soup was too fishy...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frjohnsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borsso Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Borsso Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing