We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must try!”
Review of Borsso Bistro

Borsso Bistro
Ranked #38 of 3,205 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $53
Cuisines: French, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: A cozy and charming bistro in the heart of Budapest. French-hungarian cuisine, excellent reviews about the kitchen and the presence of the owners all the time. Live jazz music every weekend!
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You must try!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were recommended this place by our Hotel (Brody House) and it didn't disappoint! The food was fantastic and the service superb. The waiter was knowledgable, funny, helpful and charming without making the night about him (like some!). When the pinot noir we ordered was sold out, he recommended a cheaper red which was superb, rather than trying to push a more expensive bottle on us.
We had the fish soup and goose liver as starters which were both superb and then chicken with pumpkin rissotto and the rib eye for mains; both were cooked to perfection and tasty!
Worked out about £60 for 2 starters, 2 mains, a bottle of red and 2 coffees which is fantastic given the quality of food and overall experience. I would definitely recommened this place and wouldn't hesitate to visit again given the chance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_A1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,127
    370
    107
    29
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I ate at this restaurant two days in a row. The food is amazing. The wine selection is also very good. Try the five course chef's special which was a goose special when I visited. The food is modern Hungarian with French influence. Definately one of the best restaurants in the city.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandriaGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere and live music on a Saturday”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Because Costes was completely full on a Saturday evening, the people of Costes recommended us the Borsso Bistro. Food was good and far above avarage, but what we liked most was the atmosphere in the restaurant. Live music and friendly service. The wine ( Chardonnay) we drunk came from nearby Buda. At the time they had an excellent offer of the new wines and all kinds of recipes with Goose. 5 course menu incl. wines was 11000 forint is ca. 55.00 USD. We paid 44.000 for four persons and can really recommend it when you visit Budapest.The Zichy hotel is a 10 minute walk.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WILENLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of our best dining experiences!!!!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visited this restaurant during our first night in Budapest, after a really long train journey from Prague. We were really tired but this dining experience was really rewarding.
The menu doesn't offer a wide selection of dishes but the ones provided are delicious!!!
When we ordered, they offered us an amuse bouche for a starter which was fantastic (duck rissotto), and so were the other plates that followed, but the soup with Jerusalem artichokes and porcini mushrooms was an apocalypse!!!
As for the service, it was beyond excellence!!!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank maria_85_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wide World
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice little bistro. Good food, friendly service, but be prepared to wait...”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Borsso is a bohemian-style bistro, with live jazz musician, nice decor and great atmosphere and seating. Food is modern European/Hungarian, flavoursome, well cooked and presented, if a little expensive. The special starter of porcini soup was delightful and packed with flavour, like the added surprise of a poached egg hidden in it. Mains were good: my steak was tender and well cooked, however the red pine mushroom a little of an acquired taste (kind of tasted like mussels at times, not exactly what you want a mushroom to taste like). Again, desserts were well above average. Our waiter was very friendly and eventually even offered us a nice, large glass of good Tokay. This said, service was pretty slow: a three course meal took us nearly three hours which, as enjoyable as the time was, it is a little too long.

Nonetheless, a visit is definitely recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Locondro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borsso Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Borsso Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing