We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Chesscom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chesscom
Ranked #99 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
1 review
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

It is a very nice hotel, the location is excellent , the only two things that were not good was that the airconditioning didn't work and the beds are to low.

The staff is very friendly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Vilma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    162
    75
    14
    2
See reviews for
66
124
52
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

we spent only one night in hotel. Everything was ok. Clean and large room, cosy bad, wf, tv, large bathroom. we payed 5 € breakfast and it was very good. next to the hotel is shoping center and there is bus to the airport

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra21000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

A very good budget little hotel, very basic but clean and comfy.
Good location, just a few steps away from the bus / metro station. In only 15/20 mins you reach the city center, there is a night bus that will get you to the hotel if you plan to stay out late. Just keep in mind that this will take you up to 1 hr.
I booked a room with a shared bathroom and we got a private bathroom! The room we had for 4 persons was big enough, clean towels and sheets. Free wifi , safe and even a fridge! I could not expect any more for what we paid. Definitely a place to recommend if you travel in a low bodget and want the best for your money. The staff also very helpful despite all the comments about not speaking good english i think was good enough to help you out on anything you might need.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karentraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Low WiFi signal strength in the room.
The locaton of the hotel is very close to the metro station.
But to reach the center of Butapest 20 minutes are necessary.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Enrico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

A very basic hotel in a great location. Easy for train, bus and tube into city centre. Very basic facilities but excellent rooms. We had one with an ensuite so had an easy time. The breakfast was included and was good, not the best selection but certainly good enough to set you up for the day. The reception staff were good and spoke a selection of languages. I would definitely stay in this hotel again as it was a great price (approximately £9.00 per night including breakfast). About 2 minutes walk from the hotel is one of the largest shopping malls in Budapest with a large variety of shops, restaurants and coffee shops. Under this mall is the tube and bus station. I would definitely say that this hotel is worth staying in.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Cant complain one bit! Decent hotel right by metro. Free wifi & free safe, bonus. Good breakfast and comfy beds. Enjoyed my 3 night stay very much. City centre 20 mins away by metro. Male receptionist seems moody but he was ok I guess and didn't do us any harm but didn't go out of his way either. Got to admit, fed up writing now, hope I've reached 200 characters!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Craig1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

the room is small but basic. It is close to the metro station,. A variety of breakfast choices. And the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ShiangruHwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#98 of 333 in Budapest
190 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#108 of 333 in Budapest
335 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#129 of 333 in Budapest
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Oswaldo
#195 of 333 in Budapest
25 reviews
Villa Korall
#142 of 333 in Budapest
125 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chesscom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chesscom

Property: Hotel Chesscom
Address: Bartok Bela utca 5, Budapest 1191, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chesscom 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chesscom is a modern hotel offering simple comfort and great value. It is located at the Kobanya-Kispest station of the main blue-line Metro. The city-centre is easily reachable by Metro, the Airport is only 15 minutes away. Our air-conditioned rooms are fully equipped. We offer free parking on site and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chesscom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing