We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel with good airport connection”
Review of Hotel Chesscom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chesscom
Ranked #97 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Average Hotel with good airport connection”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Free WIFI hes to be mentioned positively.
Main bus station directly in opposite. Every 15 minutes or so there's a bus to Ferihegy 1 and 2 usable with a normal 300Ft ticket. If you've got spare time while waiting for your connection flight you can spend it in the shopping mall at the bus station. Free WIFI available there also.
Room, bathroom and bed were clean.
Room was a bit smelly, because draining device in the shower didn't keep the water. Filling it with water solved this problem for a while.
TV had no signal which possibly was just a temporary problem and didn't really affect me.
Breakfast was nothing to die for but it was ok to fill you up. Orange juice was lousy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joksch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    162
    74
    14
    2
See reviews for
66
123
52
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucuresti
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

A hotel? 2 stars? On a street close to Budapest entrance from M5?
Ha! Don’t worry! Is a very good hotel, a real surprise. We parked in the backyard, we took our room and went on foot to the subway station (5 minutes from the hotel). Then in 10 minutes we were in the center.
The room is not great and not also the bathroom (here I saw the smolest sink of my life :) It was like washing over a plate) but everything is clean, cozy, air conditioning is provided free of charge, and the bed is comfortable. Breakfast was very good and sufficient.
If you are going to Budapest and looking for some small, stylish and at a good price place to stay: Hotel Chesscom should be your choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilviuAgoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
419 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I guess that there's many good budget options in Budapest, but this place is especially handy if you'te travelling by car as they've got free parking. The place is far from the city center, halfway between the airport and downtown. The metro runs nearby so it's easy to get into town, but more difficult getting back after spending a late night out. The rooms are clean, but boring. A simple breakfast buffet is included in the price and they have free wifi. The resteurant is no gourmet place, but they serve cheap chinese food and drinks. Stayed there twice. The first booking I made through booking.com and it worked well, but the second booking I made through their own system. It didn't give me the option to book the family room for 5 I had the first time, so I wrote an extra note that I need a fifth bed. I was given one price, but when we arrived there was only place for four and they wanted extra money for the fold-up bed.. The service was OK, but I wouldn't call it friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MosseTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I was looking for clean room with basic furniture. No special service needs. Quite important was good location to reach hungaroring circuit.
All my expectations was fulfilled and additional there was nice staff and good, ample breakfast.

Room Tip: rooms at side of street are a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacekJe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Location was at the end of the metro line so it was hard to reach later at night although the metro is just 3 mins walk which is good - a cab was about 14 euros. Rooms very nice and spacious, beds comfortable. Room had not been cleaned when we arrived although they let us in - so they called us and told us the maid would come and clean it when we were in there which was a bit awkward and annoying. Would stay here again though.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coraliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Apart from getting in our room then receiving a call from the receptionist saying our room hadn't been cleaned and new sheets sorted out the hotel was good. I'm glad we hadn't got in the bed before the new sheets arrived though! The staff were really good though, they told us where some nice restaurants were and how to get there on the metro (which is only round the corner from the hotel). The room was also a decent size and the shower was good. Internet was usually fast too and I appreciated the non stop football on eurosport.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tombeckwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

All other airport hotels with good comments where booked so we went to chesscom to catch a morning flight.
Very basic but big rooms, 70`s bathroom but everything clean.

The reception staff speaks good english and the breakfast they made for us to take to the airport was simple but enough.
The airco is a must and costs 4 euro a night.

Tip . the Hungarian restaurant around the corner is the perfect place if you really want the traditional surroundings, music and food :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Pension Helios
#98 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#121 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#102 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Ibis Budapest Aero
#111 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Hotel Oswaldo
#196 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chesscom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chesscom

Property: Hotel Chesscom
Address: Bartok Bela utca 5, Budapest 1191, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chesscom 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chesscom is a modern hotel offering simple comfort and great value. It is located at the Kobanya-Kispest station of the main blue-line Metro. The city-centre is easily reachable by Metro, the Airport is only 15 minutes away. Our air-conditioned rooms are fully equipped. We offer free parking on site and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Chesscom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing