We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place with good Italian cuisine”
Review of Trattoria Mamma

Trattoria Mamma
Ranked #308 of 3,278 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It is located in the very heart of the town and that is reflected by prices.
Nevertheless, they prepare pretty good pizzas and excellent pasta dishes, waiters are polite.
It is a highly reasonable choice for Italian plates.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank msz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for Trattoria Mamma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 251 of 549 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I came in... with no reservations ... on a Friday evening. No problemo! The staff in place took care of us immediately. We were served with our favorite pizzas - quattro formaggi and ham with ruccola. Along with Chianti red wine. All at a reasonable price. We can only but recommend this restaurant for an easy-going meal on a Friday evening! Jacques & Andrée.

Thank EasyridersGoldWing
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kerek, Owner at Trattoria Mamma, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you. You got it right. This is what a trattoria is about. welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Good restaurant, as to italian, if you are from italy this will not be at the mark, if you are from elsewhere it will rate as good. strange that tripadvisor only have average and then very good, it seems that good does not exist? This restaurant is in the good category to be very good requires some thing which is remarkable or to be noticed, this is not the case here.
Service attentive and quick, environment nice, food well presented and cooked correctly, wine menu sufficient but not extensive. Prices OK and in line with the standard of the restaurant.

So in summary if you are looking for something "special" then probably not the place if you are looking for a decent good meal then this is good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Josepherely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerek, Owner at Trattoria Mamma, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for the review. Majority of our guests are from Italy. Please do not take it as an offence, but my restaurant is special for me and for my guests. Give it another chance, you will see it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the best meals we have had in Budapest. The service was first class and the food was fantastic. You will not leave hungry because they do not skimp on the portions.
The restaurant is used by the locals and that is a good indicator it is good value.
Most likely go back tomorrow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Martin55N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerek, Owner at Trattoria Mamma, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review. Your opinion is quite a compliment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We visited this restaurant twice as we were struggling with the convoluted rich and unnecessary combinations in the typical Hungarian restaurants. Whilst the main courses were not strictly Italian we enjoyed the pizza, bruschetta and pasta dishes that we tried. Prices were reasonable and the ambience pleasant. Staff were a little rushed. Conveniently situated close to St. Stephen's Church. To be recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jcguido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerek, Owner at Trattoria Mamma, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Mamma also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Trattoria Mamma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing