We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Bell Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bell Apartments
Ranked #18 of 191 Budapest B&B and Inns
dsa
1 review
“OK”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Its a well located hostel located on a 4th floor of a building in the st.istvan körut, one of budapests mainstreets. Staff was effective and friendly. Rooms are spacious,clean and well decorated. But as you have to keep the windows closed it gets very hot during the day, and air conditioning costs extra. My room (the green one) headed to the street, which meant a lot of noise during the night, so i had to keep the windows closed also at night. Be careful as there might be some weird drunk or crazy people around late at night.
Price is a bit high for budapest, but after all it was ok!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fasfsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Bell Hostel is conveniently located near the Nyugati pályaudvar train station on the eastern "Pest" side of Budapest. From Budapest airport, trains run consistently to Nyugati station. For the equivalent of a couple of dollars per person, you should be able to reach your room from the airport in less than an hour.

The hostel is located on the 4th floor of a mixed-use building which houses some businesses, the hostel, and residential apartments. The hostel itself is two different levels and the 5 or 6 rooms overlook both the inner courtyard of the building, and the main street along which you enter the property. There is a small elevator which runs adjacent to the staircase for those with heavy luggage.

As others have described the hostel office is open only limited hours each day, but the owners or employees are very responsive if you call or email at any point during your stay. The property offers simple ammenities - two kitchens with everything you need to store or prepare food, two shared bathrooms, five or six bedrooms, a main lounge, and an outdoor balcony. During our stay the hostel was not very full, so there was no competition for bathrooms and the overall property was immaculately clean. The beds were foam mattresses, and pillows and towels were provided. Free wi-fi was available more or less throughout the whole property although some of the corners in our room had relatively poor reception. One small drawback was that the property still doesn't seem to offer hair dryers - there was one our first day, but it appears to have belonged to another guest because it disappeared after that first day.

The staff will give you a good overview of Budapest, and can get you set up with Hop-on-Hop-off bus tickets, or a Budapest pass. We didn't use either of these services because we found walking around the city to be a generally pleasant experience. The staff recommended excellent restaurants for breakfast and dinner at very reasonable prices.

If you're looking for luxury you're probably better off in a hotel than staying at Bell Hostel, but for a clean, well-located room in Budapest you can't go wrong with this property.

Room Tip: With temperatures in the 70's or 80's (F), we found that our courtyard facing room stayed ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just back form six night in Budapest. We stayed in the" little apartment" at the bell hostel. The apartment is small but would be great for a couple. Perfect location for visit.Very clean and great base. Very close to train, metro, tram and bus. Loved the 2 tram along the Danube to the city centre. The owner is full of information and very helpful. Fantastic City.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed there for a week and liked the accomodations. I liked that the guesthouse is small only a four rooms upstairs, so there is not much traffic. I stayed in a room overlooking the inside court on the second floor. Our room was clean, the bathroom was ok. The size of the room with double bed was perfect. The room was also quiet. However there is no A/C so the room got hot during the day. There is a pretty well equipped kitchen downstairs and a computer with internet connection. We speak the language so we did not really care for the lack of reception. The only problem we fiding the place inside this huge building, and the difficulty of carrying our luggage up (the elevator is small). The best part of the guesthouse is its location. We would stay there again. The owner also let us keep our lugagge all day at the guesthouse since our departure was 11 pm and had no place to keep our luggage.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0sm0p0litana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Friendly, clean, spacious guesthouse with great location, minutes from Nyugati Train Station (which is a 20 minute journey from the airport) and close to many attractions.

It's worth noting that there is no actual reception so the time of arrival that you state is quite important. We arrived to the hostel/guesthouse an hour (or so) earlier than we had said and there was no answer when we rang the bell. We phoned the hostel's number though (it was clearly labelled at the door) and the owner rushed out to meet us from his office in minutes.

We were then shown round the guesthouse - Our bedroom was really spacious with a double and single bed and plenty of storage. Air con was greatly appreciated. Our room was on the main road and traffic was quite noisy at times although it didn't disturb our great sleep. There were three bathrooms for (I think) five rooms and there was no problem at all with sharing these. A big, comfy lounge area with tv (not that we used that) and travel guides with a sociable atmosphere from other guests. There was an equipped kitchen with dining room and a second kitchen with balcony. Great wi-fi connection and computer free for use.

The owner sat us down and gave us amazing information about places to eat (Lugas and Menza), things to eat (langos), bars to visit... Each recommendation that we tried was amazing - we were really blown away with the help and would urge you to listen to the suggestions!

The only improvement that I mentioned on the feedback form at the end of our stay was that there was no hairdrier - a fairly minor point although they may decide to do something about that, you never know!!

Room Tip: Request a room away from main road if noise is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed here on a recommendation of a friend.

I thought it would be a hostel in the usual sense, it was more of a room rental for short stays and it was only a single duplex apartment. The owner, I cannot remember her name, spoke good English and was really helpful. The terms of rental were cash only and she was not available all the time. She only came when she needed to which was fine, we felt like we had more privacy.

The place is a duplex apartment and both floors had kitchens and bathrooms. The room and bathrooms were really clean. I slept well. The Wifi was good and there is a computer available for use.

We asked fora two bed room and got a single and a double bed, enough space for three. I am not sure about the other rooms though. The room was spacious and had air conditioning for the hot nights we were there.

The location is excellent. 5 minutes to the main train station and a walkable distance to most places. Surrounding the area are cafes so food was never a problem as we did not cook.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silwen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The hostel is very close to Nyugati train/metro station, making the orientation very easy. We arrived at 10AM and the check-in procedure was very pleasant.

The room is very large, clean and comfortable for a couple. The apartment is at 4th floor, with an elevator - inside a very nice building. Since we were visiting Budapest off-season, we actually had the whole apartment for ourselves :)
The facilities (bed, shower, kitchen, WiFi) were fantastic.

Since our apartment was facing the street, we heard some traffic on the morning, but it was not enough to awake us from the really good sleep we had. We have prepared our own breakfasts from products we bought in nearby grocery store, which were great.

In conclusion, we would recommend this hostel to anybody coming to visit Budapest!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tr1pAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
City Hotel Ring
#124 of 334 in Budapest
396 reviews
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#101 of 334 in Budapest
1,358 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 334 in Budapest
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Budapest City
#74 of 334 in Budapest
1,415 reviews
District V / Inner City
Parliament Penthouse Budapest B&B
Kapital Inn
#1 of 191 in Budapest
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Apartments

Property: Bell Apartments
Address: Szent Istvan korut 24., Budapest 1137, Hungary (Formerly Bell Hostel & Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bell Apartments 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell Apartments Budapest is a family-run business. We offer what we would also expect during our holiday: good located, clean, comfortable, quality accommodation and reliable advices from locals. Our mission is simple: have satisfied and returning guests. Bell Apartments' portfolio include selected properties in different parts of the city. Whether you are looking for a budget apartment, a romantic place, a spacious flat for family or groups, we believe you will find the suitable accommodation here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bell Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing