We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little apt”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bell Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bell Apartments
Ranked #17 of 188 Budapest B&B and Inns
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The little apt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just back form six night in Budapest. We stayed in the" little apartment" at the bell hostel. The apartment is small but would be great for a couple. Perfect location for visit.Very clean and great base. Very close to train, metro, tram and bus. Loved the 2 tram along the Danube to the city centre. The owner is full of information and very helpful. Fantastic City.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed there for a week and liked the accomodations. I liked that the guesthouse is small only a four rooms upstairs, so there is not much traffic. I stayed in a room overlooking the inside court on the second floor. Our room was clean, the bathroom was ok. The size of the room with double bed was perfect. The room was also quiet. However there is no A/C so the room got hot during the day. There is a pretty well equipped kitchen downstairs and a computer with internet connection. We speak the language so we did not really care for the lack of reception. The only problem we fiding the place inside this huge building, and the difficulty of carrying our luggage up (the elevator is small). The best part of the guesthouse is its location. We would stay there again. The owner also let us keep our lugagge all day at the guesthouse since our departure was 11 pm and had no place to keep our luggage.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0sm0p0litana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Friendly, clean, spacious guesthouse with great location, minutes from Nyugati Train Station (which is a 20 minute journey from the airport) and close to many attractions.

It's worth noting that there is no actual reception so the time of arrival that you state is quite important. We arrived to the hostel/guesthouse an hour (or so) earlier than we had said and there was no answer when we rang the bell. We phoned the hostel's number though (it was clearly labelled at the door) and the owner rushed out to meet us from his office in minutes.

We were then shown round the guesthouse - Our bedroom was really spacious with a double and single bed and plenty of storage. Air con was greatly appreciated. Our room was on the main road and traffic was quite noisy at times although it didn't disturb our great sleep. There were three bathrooms for (I think) five rooms and there was no problem at all with sharing these. A big, comfy lounge area with tv (not that we used that) and travel guides with a sociable atmosphere from other guests. There was an equipped kitchen with dining room and a second kitchen with balcony. Great wi-fi connection and computer free for use.

The owner sat us down and gave us amazing information about places to eat (Lugas and Menza), things to eat (langos), bars to visit... Each recommendation that we tried was amazing - we were really blown away with the help and would urge you to listen to the suggestions!

The only improvement that I mentioned on the feedback form at the end of our stay was that there was no hairdrier - a fairly minor point although they may decide to do something about that, you never know!!

Room Tip: Request a room away from main road if noise is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed here on a recommendation of a friend.

I thought it would be a hostel in the usual sense, it was more of a room rental for short stays and it was only a single duplex apartment. The owner, I cannot remember her name, spoke good English and was really helpful. The terms of rental were cash only and she was not available all the time. She only came when she needed to which was fine, we felt like we had more privacy.

The place is a duplex apartment and both floors had kitchens and bathrooms. The room and bathrooms were really clean. I slept well. The Wifi was good and there is a computer available for use.

We asked fora two bed room and got a single and a double bed, enough space for three. I am not sure about the other rooms though. The room was spacious and had air conditioning for the hot nights we were there.

The location is excellent. 5 minutes to the main train station and a walkable distance to most places. Surrounding the area are cafes so food was never a problem as we did not cook.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silwen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

The hostel is very close to Nyugati train/metro station, making the orientation very easy. We arrived at 10AM and the check-in procedure was very pleasant.

The room is very large, clean and comfortable for a couple. The apartment is at 4th floor, with an elevator - inside a very nice building. Since we were visiting Budapest off-season, we actually had the whole apartment for ourselves :)
The facilities (bed, shower, kitchen, WiFi) were fantastic.

Since our apartment was facing the street, we heard some traffic on the morning, but it was not enough to awake us from the really good sleep we had. We have prepared our own breakfasts from products we bought in nearby grocery store, which were great.

In conclusion, we would recommend this hostel to anybody coming to visit Budapest!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tr1pAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

The room we stayed in was very clean & tidy, but at night it was REALLY noisy as there were trams and sirens going fairly constantly (we were there over a weekend).

However the real problem was a lack of reception. It didn't help that we missed a train so arrived later than expected, but check-in was rushed and then we were by ourselves for the rest of the time. This might sound great except it meant there was no-one to help book tickets, or give us advice about place to eat in the area etc. so I felt like we had to spend too long working stuff out and not enough time enjoying the city. Even getting hold of the controller for the A/C involved an email conversation and a very hot night before we could turn on the unit.

I didn't expect 24 hour reception as it is marked as not existing, but no reception was not expected and caused problems

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pronboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Exotic Orient
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

What I like about this hostel is :
(1) Location : only 5 minutes walk to the metro yet it is not noisy. Hostel is located in a pleasant and peaceful residential building with elevator and residents/neighbours keep the common area in the building very clean and tidy. Overall, an okay neighbourhood.
(2) Hostel Interior : Rooms are clean and furnished adequately. Only several rooms in the hostel (occupies 2 floors) so the place doesn't get overcrowded. Shared bathrooms are large (one on each floor, same for the kitchenette) and very clean. There's a computer with internet connection and a sitting area with TV on the lower floor (only a couple of channels in English though) and you can find lots of brochures on the city in the hostel.
(3) Hosts : Laura is friendly and responds to emails promptly. The owners are usually not in the hostel (except for cleaning or when new guests check in) so you're very much on your own (can be good or bad, depending on your needs).
(3) Price : Value for money, given that the location is great and the hostel is well-kept

The only grouse I have is perhaps there is no heater - it would have been great if the owners could turn on the heaters for the guests' use in the bedroom and most importantly, bathroom (it gets a little chilly in there....).

Other than this minor issue, the rest is just great. All in all, if you do not want a noisy, rowdy party atmostphere, this hostel is definitely recommended! : )

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#116 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#106 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Budapest City
#73 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Mango Aparthotel and Spa
Mango Aparthotel and Spa
#7 of 188 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Kapital Inn
#1 of 188 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Apartments

Property: Bell Apartments
Address: Szent Istvan korut 24., Budapest 1137, Hungary (Formerly Bell Hostel & Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bell Apartments 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell Apartments Budapest is a family-run business. We offer what we would also expect during our holiday: good located, clean, comfortable, quality accommodation and reliable advices from locals. Our mission is simple: have satisfied and returning guests. Bell Apartments' portfolio include selected properties in different parts of the city. Whether you are looking for a budget apartment, a romantic place, a spacious flat for family or groups, we believe you will find the suitable accommodation here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bell Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing