We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad -- But Then Not Good Either”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Expo Congress Hotel
Ranked #112 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not Bad -- But Then Not Good Either”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights my son, daughter and I in a triple room.The room was a double really with three single beds put in so it felt a bit cramped.The room was however well decorated and the fittings were modern.
The corridor walls are painted but could do with some pictures or something to break the monotony - too much like hospital corridors.
When we arrived they couldn't find our booking -- that took about forty minutes to sort out --so not a good start.

The house cleaning leaves a lot to be desired -- on one day they completely forgot to service the room and on two or three occasions we had to ask for replenishment of the toiletries in the bathroom.Simply not good enough I'm afraid.

The breakfast was well served and there was a good choice of available food.

The hotel is about 4 miles from the centre and there are no shops around it -- you do feel quite cut off from the city.Taxis are cheap and we found this the most convenient way to come and go.

For the money I suppose the hotel represents reasonable value for money and with a little bit of care and attention would be a good option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahims111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    182
    89
    31
    30
See reviews for
70
166
25
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valby, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at the expo congress hotel for 12 dagys during our holidy in Budapest. The room is very clean and decorated beautifully. We got delicious breakfast everymornig. The service from the staff was marvelleous and they were very freindly.

The hotel is located out of the city centre. But, a public bus infront of the hotel can take you to the nearest metro station in 4-5 min. and with the Metro you are in the centre in 15-20 minutes. One should be aware of the fact that the bus doesn't run on Sundays. On everyweek day the last bus drives at 20.30 and on saturdays the last bus leaves at 14.30.

From the airport to the hotel you can book airport transfer taxi via internet which costs about 20 euro. The hotel has also a shuttle bus to the airport if you pay 2500 HUF per person.

I surly recommend everyone to stay at his hotel, for it is worthwhile.

Fisiha

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abraham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Enjoyed my 5 nights stay at this hotel. They have an airport shuttle service where they will pick you up and drop you off back at the airport for a tiny bit extra, a very helpful service. I opted for the shuttle service and it beats finding your own way to the hotel via public transport.

The hotel is very good value for money. They have free buffet style breakfast and I took full advantage of it. They have FREE wifi in all the rooms and this is rare for hotels to offer free wifi. Free wifi made the stay more entertaining because these days you just need to be connected to the net. They have free complimentary drink too. You can buy memoriabelia from the hotel too. They have a gym, bar and restaurant on the top floor too. You can also buy budapest cards from the hotel reception too, it costs slightly more but its just more convenient buying it from the hotel.

The rooms are very well furnished and the rooms look good. They have an air conditioning control panel in every room and you can set the settings, temperature of the aircon which is helpful. The room was very clean. The bathroom looks good, theres no tub, but there is a hair dryer and towels. Bathroom was very clean. The room also has a small flatscreen tv with cable channels. Only found 1 channel in English....

The hotel has car parking spaces too. The negative point is that the hotel is about 1.2km from the nearest metro station. But there is a bus stop outside the hotel and one of the bus services stops at the metro station. But I just opted for walking to and from the metro station because its a very pleasant walk with lots of trees around. It doesnt take long to get from the nearest metro station and into the city centre. There is also a Tescos supermarket near the metro station too. An advantage of having the hotel located outside the city centre is that its very quiet and peaceful around the hotel.

It would be better if the hotel had a shuttle service taking people too the city centre and then back again. Another hotel I stayed in was located very far from the city centre and they had hourly shuttle services taking guests too and from the city to the hotel. But despite not having this service, the hotel is highly recommended because its good value, you get free wifi and free buffet breakfast. I really enjoyed my stay here.... When I go back to Budapest in the future then I will definitely be checking into the same hotel again....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samobor
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have stay 2 nights in expo congres hotel, nice room on top floor with great view, jacuzzi and sauna are great, no near town, you have to walk 10 minutes from hotel to metro station, or take a bus (runs every half hour, but on sunday not)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d3NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Well, can't say much about the hotel apart from when we arrived at 11 p.m. (and being charged for the room) they said our room had a "technical issue" so they had to relocate us - that was a bit disappointing at the beginning. However the relocation was better then the hotel itself - they put us to Buda castle (in a center of Budapest) also providing a taxi lift there. So it worth it. However as a recomendation - would be nice to let us know before we made our way from airport to the hotel.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Breath777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

a new hotel, with a very good breakfast, in a quiet area

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corneliaflorea80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
ACHAT Premium Budapest
#148 of 333 in Budapest
269 reviews
Green Hotel
#234 of 333 in Budapest
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#124 of 333 in Budapest
814 reviews
Hotel Manzard Panzio
#136 of 333 in Budapest
55 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#130 of 333 in Budapest
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expo Congress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Congress Hotel

Property: Expo Congress Hotel
Address: Expo ter 2, Budapest 1101, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Expo Congress Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expo Congress Hotel looks over the Budapest Exhibition Centre, East of the centre of Budapest. The hotel offers a bar, sky bar and restaurant and 160 standard and superior guest rooms designed for the modern business traveler. For visitors wishing to see the sights of the city, the downtown area is easily accessible by bus or metro in less than 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Expo Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing